We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oxford House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Oxford House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oxford House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 397: English reviews
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 April 2016

The Oxford House is a great place to stay! Helpfull people and very clean rooms. Close to the Waterfront and the centre of the city. Also with supermarket and restaurants on walking distance. My stay was perfect!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annelies d
Natalie J, Manager at Oxford House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and your comments, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Oxford House. We hope to see you back here again. Kind regards Natalie

Ermelo, South Africa
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Very friendly staff. Spacious room and bathroom. Great location near shops, restaurants and Waterfront. Very ckean. Comfortable bed. Quiet area except for the building site nearby which made quite a noise early in the monrning. Would have liked more utensils in kitchenette.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 117margueritej
Natalie J, Manager at Oxford House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of sorting out the utensils to make sure there is enough in all the rooms. Kind regards Natalie

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Clean and spacious room, but that's where it ends. General lack of attention to detail... Kitchen poorly equipped. Lack of all manner of items. Not suitable for self catering. Linen OK, but no mattress protector, under sheet on up side down and not crisp linen. Lumpy pillows and synthetic duvet. Bathroom very minimalist, not sufficient rails for hanging towels. Towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barry259
Natalie J, Manager at Oxford House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your comments, I am sorry that you felt the room was not as advertised. We are in the process of re doing all rooms and i have done a full inventory on items in the rooms to ensure that everything is supplied in the rooms,We have also just...

Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 26 March 2016

location fine for central cpt. décor tired & detail missing - no dishcloth/handcloth for kitchenette, nice nespresso machine but no capsules, missing glass table top, tv channels not set as advertised, blocked bathroom sink

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 956allanb
Natalie J, Manager at Oxford House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and your comments, I appreciate all feedback from guests so that we can improve where necessary, We are busy with re doing all the rooms and ensuring that they are up to standards. We did have a big problem with our TV's however this issue has not been fixed, as well as the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We found Oxford House clean and we were provided with everything we needed, including free WiFi. It is conveniently located with a short walk to the local shops and the Waterfront, we also walked into the city centre, a strenuous walk but enjoyable with views of Table Mountain on the way. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephenhJ6343HO
Natalie J, Manager at Oxford House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and your comments, it was lovely to have you stay with us. We are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay at Oxford House - we hope to see you here again. Kind regards Natalie

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We (2 couples) have stayed here the last 4 years for the Cape Cycle Tour weekendI The hotel is ideally situated for the race, walking to the Waterfront, Waterkant and all the local restaurants, but their standards have slipped over the years. It is a self-catering hotel with fridge, toaster, microwave, crockery and cutlery,but NO dish cloth, tea towel or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davect2013
Joe_Bester, Owner at Oxford House, responded to this review

Dear Dave Firstly, thanking you for taking the time to review Oxford House. I apologise for the let-down that you experienced, having been a faithful supporter of Oxford House. We have very recently purchased Oxford House and have just started an entire improvement project. Our other properties are in the 4 and 5 star market and we certainly will be...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Very nice and clean accommodation with 24h reception. Very important for us because we arrived around 0.30 am (late flight arrival 10.30 pm). Nice restaurants in the surrounding and easy to walk to the waterfront. Parking in the street no problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank herma841
Natalie J, Manager at Oxford House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Oxford House, we like to ensure that there is always someone at the reception incase of late arrivals and to assist guests 24hrs. We hope that if you are in Cape Town again that Oxford House will be your...

Old Marikana/Rustenburg Road
Reviewed 8 March 2016

This is the 2nd year we stayed at Primi Oxford. We loved it the first year. That is the reason why we booked there again. Small things are important to us. The Channels on TV was a problem. There was lot of channels not working. Reported it 4 times and it was not fixed in the 5 days we stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guestg424
Joe_Bester, Owner at Oxford House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Oxford House. Firstly, my apologies for your experience. This certainly is not the level of service which we pride ourselves in and our staff have already been addressed on this matter. We very recently purchased Oxford House and we are now in a process of making many improvements to the...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016

After spending two weeks travelling South Africa, we spent 4 nights rejuvenating in sunny Cape Town. There were five of us (two couples and me), so we had 3 rooms all of which were very similar, clean and roomy. Accommodation comes with a kitchenette and balcony/veranda, tv and air con. Very pleasant rooms and comfy beds. Location is great, some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward P
Natalie J, Manager at Oxford House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely review and comments about Oxford House, we are so glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope that you will be back. Kind regards Natalie

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 March 2016

The accommodation was well located close to a variety of restaurants, the bus route, beautiful walks along the seaboard and not far from the Waterfront Centre. The room was spacious but needed some maintenance such as replacing the cracked toilet seat. We also had to ask for cutlery as the set was incomplete.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 669marionm
Natalie J, Manager at Oxford House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Oxford House, we are glad that you had a pleasant stay at Oxford House, regarding the maintenance we are doing some improvements to Oxford House to lift the standards. We hope that you will be back to experience the new improved Oxford House. Kind regards Natalie

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,799 reviews
0.8 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,346 reviews
0.3 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
833 reviews
0.2 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,410 reviews
0.7 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the centrally located and trendy area of Greenpoint, Oxford House offers well appointed modern Luxury Studio Apartments with kitchenette’s. The property is situated adjacent to the V&A Waterfront with its offering of many restaurants and shops. Oxford House is situated within a 12-minute walk from the Greenpoint Stadium where internationally acclaimed bands & stars regularly perform and a 5-minute walk from Cape Town Waterfront Harbour – From here, guests can make trips to Robben Island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oxford House

Address: 4 Wessels Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $88 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oxford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford House Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oxford House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Oxford House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the first floor on the west corner, large,light and sunny, with a 7 feet wide bed!”
 of 5 bubbles johnaspinall, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for ground floor units,the patio to sit and enjoy outside although there is'nt much scenery but a wall and the neighbours”
  • torn bed sheet but was quickly replaced when reported.
 of 5 bubbles marufah2016, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have a small private terrace, others a small balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles yvonandreanne, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
“There isn't a lift so maybe a ground floor room for those who have difficulty with stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles shoptodrop, 3 May 2015 | Read review
“Our room was on the bottom floor in the rear, and there was no noise problem.”
 of 5 bubbles jeand591, 17 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay