We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Queen Victoria Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Queen Victoria Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

668 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Queen Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 580: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

We spent 4 nights at end February into March in a room overlooking Table Mountain. The room was perfect . Spacious,well laid out and clean. The hotels most important asset is its staff. They are without exception in all locations within the hotel of the highest standard. They are efficient ,helpful and everything they do is done with a smile....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roberts273
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear roberts273 Thank you very for your review on your recent stay with us. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable experience with us. Thank you very much for the feedback on the staff and the hospitality of the team. This will be past onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back...

surrey
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

Very well located hotel situated a stone throw from the Waterfront. Rooms were spacious and the staff very friendly. Great start to our South Africa trip. We only had accommodation and breakfast but the food and service was excellent. Great access to the shops and bus tour routes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cas63
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cas63 Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on you recent stay with us. The Team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Really lovely place to stay - the staff were very welcoming, food delicious, the room wasnt massive but very nice. highly recommend The Spa is great - the pool again could be bigger and is freezing but welcome

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GladysMolestrangler
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GladysMolestrangler Thank you very much for your review on yopur recent stay at the Queen Victoria hotel. The team and i are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you for the posetive feedback on the staff and service, your feedback will be passed onto the Team. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Washington, D.C.
Reviewed 25 February 2016

This was the 5th stay at this property and the service and quality of the property remains consistent. If you want proximity to the waterfront area then this is a good choice. Breakfast is good with fresh juices. The rooms are contemporary and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
TheunieMarais, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AlwaysOnTheAirplane Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. The Queen victoria team and I are thrilled to learn that you had another memorable stay with us and we sincerely hope that we will be welcoming you back in the near Future. Kind Regards Theunie Marais

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Friendly helpful staff. Huge rooms with a modern boutique feel. Bathroom was large but had a few issues with design. The glass shower was right next to a large window so the curtains had to be closed if you had the light on and then the curtains would get wet as they're up against the shower. Also the bathroom rubbish...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MathewsFamily4
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MathewsFamily4 Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your recent stay with us. Thank you also for raising points of cencern and allowing us the oppertunity to adress them and improve on the quality of our product. The team and I will be adressing your concerns accordingly. Kind Regards Theunie Marais

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights at the Queen Victoria and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are so helpful and friendly, the breakfasts lovely and the pool area a great place to cool down. Our room was a little bland and over looked the car park but the bed was so comfortable, the towels and linen top class and all the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GinnyStaffordshireUK
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GinnyStaffordshireUK Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay with us. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had such a memorable experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know so that...

Reviewed 18 February 2016

This is my time to South Africa and the hotel has an excellent location in the Waterfront area. The servic and food are also very good. However, I felt quite disappointing when I found that the water overthrew each time when I was taking shower. Upon request, they changed another room for me. But this time the bathroom has another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lawhonngai
TheunieMarais, Public Relations Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lawhonngai Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you for raising the concern regarding the shower it has been adressed accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back...

santa barbara, california
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We were upgraded from the V & A (Victoria & Alfred) to this gracious, sophisticated and blissfully quiet hotel.. which proved to be a relaxing and lovely end to our 3 week long Africa vacation. The staff was highly efficient, helpful and kind.. the accommodations were beautiful, and the property well situated for all the shops and restaurants on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missy004
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear missy004 Thank you very much for taking the time to write a rieviw on your recent stay with us. The team and I are thrilled to learn of your experience with us and that you enjoyed the hospitality and service of the Queen Victoria Team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2016

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Nothing was too much trouble. Staff were uniformly wonderful. Central location was great - Waterfront on the doorstep. Not cheap but worth every penny. Best breakfast I have ever seen as well - almost too much!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eleanor H
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eleanor H Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on your recent stay with us. The Team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable time with us and enjoyed the teams hospitality and service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience...

UK
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for our 20th wedding anniversary. Previously we've stayed at The Cape Grace and while this hotel isn't in that bracket it's still an excellent choice for Cape Town. Located just off the waterfront it's very convenient for that part of town. All the staff are really helpful and friendly - I liked Oswell on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank britabroad9
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear britabroad9 Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on your recent stay with us at the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had e memorable stay with us and enjoyed the hospitality of my team members. Thank you for the feedback regarding the views, May...

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (205)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,945 reviews
0.1 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
0.3 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,065 reviews
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
0.7 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $398 - $773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Queen Victoria Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Tucson, Arizona
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Queen Victoria Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room is exceptional. Close to the V & A waterfront. ( across the road ).”
robertbakewell, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to premier”
michaellM4119ED, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All other things being equal, a view of the Table Mountain is good.”
mrcmrc2, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Preview the room before accepting and be sure what you requested and paid for: standard, deluxe or more, is what you get.”
jamestW4435CE, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!”
zack477, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5