We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cabanas

Hotels.comUSD 139*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Cabanas
Cabanas
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

682 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 613: English reviews
Start your review of Cabanas
 Click to rate
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very large and extremely busy hotel with very small rooms. We had a ground floor room with a beautiful view on the lake. Generally the service was good, although staff were very slow to replace food during breakfast and in the area where we sat, long queues were the order of the day at the single operating coffee machine with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abcdef493
Management response:

Dear Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Cabanas Hotel. We apologize for us not meeting your expectations. Your comments are taken seriously and shared with our Management team to rectify. Regards Maureen Dirapelo Coordinator to Hotel Manager

Ahmedabad, India
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

It was a big hotel with small rooms. Service was good. Breakfast spread was very wide. U can enjoy water activity here till 4.30 pm. Rooms are very small. Our family room was not enough for 3 of us. Free shuttle bus station was just outside hotel. I would recommend to stay at palace hotel only.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hello2hero
Management response:

Dear Hello2hero Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments. Regards Maureen Dirapelo Coordinator to Hotel Manager-Cabanas

gonubie, south africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms although a bit small were adequate and clean. The location is excellent and the grounds and gardens are extremely well maintained. It is very convenient that you get free access to the Valley of the Waves and access to the other pool areas except The Lost City. The buffet breakfasts are superb and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westonc
Management response:

Dear Westonc We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Sun Cabanas. We hope you took lots of memories back home to share with those who have never been to Sun City. Regards Maureen Dirapelo Coordinator to Hotel Manager-Cabanas

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked a family room and twin room.rooms. bathrooms and rooms upgraded. We were on the groundfloor surrounded by trees.breakfast was awesome.swimming pool aways clean. We enjoyed the valley of the waves.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 838quintond
Management response:

Dear 838quintond Thank you for choosing the Cabanas Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Regards Maureen Dirapelo Coordinator to Hotel Manager -Cabanas

Hartley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cabanas sounds exotic dosent it in reality a awfull place to stay noisy and stairs and corridors tiled so people returning to there rooms a little late make a hell of a noise ,standing in line for breakfast was a joke felt like I was in prison ,we soon upgraded to the Palace a little more in price but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barkera3
Management response:

Dear Bakera3, Very sorry to hear that the Cabanas did not meet your expectations. Your comments are taken seriously and shared with the team to rectify. Regards Vanessa Hoover Hotel Manager

South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent the past weekend at the newly renovated Cabanas. We had three twin rooms so space was comfortable. Rooms were neat and clean. Well assisted during check in and check out and even during stay by staff. Breakfast was alright on day 1 but on day 2 the lady that was working the vegetarian station was so awesome! Didn't get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruhee C
Management response:

Dear Ruhee C Thanks for choosing Cabanas hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyable stay. Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to us Warmest Regards Maureen Dirapelo Coordinator to Hotel Manager- Cabanas

The Hague
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The kids and us loved our stay at Sun City Cabanas, especially the valley of the waves and the game zone. Lets be honest, who would not? Cabanas standard rooms are small and the kids had to sleep on a fold out bed. This was not a real issue, but it was a bit cramped. Breakfast was good and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobMat2009
Management response:

Dear Robmat2009 Thank you for your feedback. Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to us. Regards Maureen Dirapelo Coordinator to Hotel Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the cheapest accommodation at Suncity and you certainly get what you pay for. Even though it looks nice and the place has been revamped, there are still issues. Our Airconditioner didn't work. No windows except only the glass sliding door to access the room. The rooms are like boxes and you can hear everything in the room above...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigwW9764ZH
Management response:

Dear CraigwW9764ZH Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Cabanas hotel. We apologize that our services did not meet your expectations, We take feedback constructively and assist to rectify them with our Management team. Our sincere apologies for any discomfort caused Warmers Regards Maureen Dirapelo Coordinator to Hotel Manager

Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms have been renovated and the breakfast was great. However receptionist was miserable and when we got to our rooms they were occupied. The heated pool was not heated and there was no information any where. No information about the pool or even the times the bridge at the Lost Palace is supposed to rumble. I tweeted and my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank will2804
Management response:

Dear Will2804 Thank you for your feedback. Your comments have been shared with a team as we can only improve. Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit . Regards Maureen Dirapelo Coordinator to Hotel Manager-Cabanas

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excitement to visit the Sun City.. short lived though.. 1. No drinking water as a compliment. Thought a 3 to 5 star place would atleast provide with a small bottle. Vending machines available but no bottles of water. 2. Morning breakfast... same menu with same facilities.. Warning... Carry your bee/mosquito racket else even fruits would be non vegetarian. Bees all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Navnith P

629 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (270)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (142)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Accessible Room (55)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Family Room with Lake View (51)
Viewed
Other (15)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)
Viewed
Twin Room with Lake View (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.3 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
596 reviews
0.9 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
383.0 km away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
4.5 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
767 reviews
31.6 km away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The refreshing, laid back ambiance of the Cabanas hotel in South Africa is the immediate impression one receives upon welcome. The most relaxed of all the Sun City hotels, the Cabanas offer informal yet comfortable accommodation close to Johannesburg. All rooms offer modern decor and a retro design. Guests can choose between standard and luxury rooms, all are air-conditioned and equipped with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, electronic safes and telephones. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cabanas

Address: R556 | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Price Range: $159 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cabanas staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Cabanas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake view is recommended, although the walking especially from the room to reception is not old age friendly.”
abcdef493, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in another hotel in Sun City”
barkera3, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Lake View - although you have to walk out 50 steps to get the view”
navnithp, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“If you have toddlers, rather choose the garden units on the ground floor”
Nirasha_Sewpersad, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Doesnt matter you will hardly be in it...”
411KD, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 139* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUSD 171
Expedia.comUSD 138
Booking.comUSD 144
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates