We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Rhino Game Lodge

CancelonUSD 370*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Black Rhino Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 262: English reviews
Start your review of Black Rhino Game Lodge
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

unfortunately, the day we visited the lodge it was attacked with worm type caterpillars and they were all over the room, the bed, the floors, the walls...everywhere. They entered under the door! They really had no plan to control them, so it was quite disgusting. we were afraid to go to the restroom in the middle of the night for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Eric T – Thank you for taking the time to review your Black Rhino Game Reserve experience. We are naturally sorry to hear that you did not especially enjoy your time in the Reserve. Along with all the other lodges in the Reserve, we have experienced the “caterpillar” issue you describe. The “caterpillars” are in fact harmless African army...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Black Rhino Lodge is a wonderfully peaceful, beautiful place. Everybody is very kind, polite, and helpful, and we were so very happy with our experience. We stayed two days (3 nights), and saw four of the big 5 (all but the leopard), with a herd of elephants (and some zebra) visiting the lodge's watering hole on more than one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 284callie
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 284callie - Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review of Black Rhino Game Lodge, and congratulations on your pangolin sighting! We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and honoured that you would recommend Black Rhino to future travellers - thank you!

Johannesburg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed every moment of it. The staff are wonderful and the lodge made a special effort for my husband's birthday - candles and rose petals in the room, a lovely birthday cake at dinner accompanied by the singing staff - super! Accommodation is great, all the buffet meals were of good quality and our guide...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AngelaPhilip F
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AngelaPhilip F - Thank you for sharing your Black Rhino Game Lodge experience here on TripAdvisor. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time in the Pilanesberg area and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were absolutely amazed at how friendly and well organised everything was - all round great experience! We spent 2 days and one night at Black Rhino. You feel like you are the most important guest and all the staff are so friendly and willing to help! Our Ranger, Philip was phenomenal and made each game drive an experience and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christel0105
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Christel0105 - Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time there, and honoured that you would recommend Black Rhino to future travellers - thank you.

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

This was really a wonderful experience. We had a work function for 16 people and were treated as guests of honour. The service was exceptional and our needs was catered for at every turn. Our barmen was up with us until 02:00 the morning and up and ready the next morning. The food was of high quality and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Estian V
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Estian V - Thank you for sharing your Black Rhino Game Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and we're honoured that you would recommend Black Rhino Game Lodge to future travellers - thank you.

Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Stayed for one night from 8 March 2017 in a suite – room one – a short distance from a parking bay Arrival was easy from R24 - processed at the gate - then onto lodge - check-in relatively easy – then directed to lunch whilst room was readied The suite itself very spacious – seating area with sofa and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeteD60
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear PeteD60 Thank you for taking the time to write to us, we value all the feedback and with this feedback, we can improve on the service we give to our guest. It saddens us here at Black Rhino Game Lodge to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Our intention is to give guests a good time here...

Wake Forest, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Great accommodations. We enjoyed a two day, single night stay in Lodge 3. We enjoyed our lodge. Our guide, Humbu, was very experienced and our coordinator, Jacqui, provided us plenty information but was not overbearing. The in-lodge drinks were reasonably priced. The food was excellent. We enjoyed dinner on our arrival day and had breakfast on our departure day. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank muer7osunavez
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear muer7osunavez - We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your Black Rhino Game Lodge experience, especially the game drives and the dining experience. We're honoured that you would recommend Black Rhino to future travellers - thank you.

London
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

This was our second trip to Black Rhino and I think this may have been even better. The lodges are spectacular, very comfortable with massive beds. The food is tasty and plentiful. Friendly staff who make you feel welcome. It's such a relaxing experience. The drives are amazing, friendly rangers (Marcus) who go out of their way to make sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mickeen
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mickeen - Thank you for posting your review of Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your return visit to Black Rhino and we're honoured that you would recommend the lodge to future travellers - thank you.

Reviewed 19 March 2017

The Black Rhino Lodge itself is absolutely breath taking! the "rooms" are more like luxurious individual lodges. The staff is wonderful and extremely accommodating (they went out of their way due to my food allergies) and the rangers are extremely friendly and knowledgeable! They took us on two game drives a day with (one at 6am and the other at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Estelle F
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Estelle F - Thank you for sharing your family experience at Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that the Black Rhino team took such good care of you. We hope you'll visit again soon.

Norrtalje, Sweden
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This is a great lodge with great rangers. The food is fantastic and the view form the restaurant over the water hole is stunning. Seeing all the animals coming to drink water and play in the water. The cottage we stayed in was perfect for us with nice beds and bathroom with two showers and sinks so we all could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeanette Z
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jeanette Z - Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay, especially the facilities in the lodge and the dining experience.

346 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (346)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (208)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
21.4 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
766 reviews
25.1 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
628 reviews
22.6 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
484 reviews
16.6 km away
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
#3 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
732 reviews
15.8 km away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#6 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Black Rhino Game Lodge

Address: Road R565, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range: $433 - $665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rhino Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Rhino Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rhino Game Hotel Pilanesberg National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Rhino Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Black Rhino Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you must stay here, request one of the remodeled room. they are in the best condition.”
erictE1034BW, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms seem well appointed and there is total privacy”
AngelaPhilipF, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“ALL rooms are amazing!”
962estellef, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a bedroom near the main building if you can as its dark in a morning and a”
RotherhamSteve, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room close to the lodge itself as it gets quite dark at 5am when heading to the lodge for your game drive”
713anniw, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
USD 370* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUSD 638
Booking.comUSD 378
Agoda.comUSD 381
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates