We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Protea HotelsUSD 206*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 232*
USD 206*
Great Deal
USD 229*
USD 229*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

789 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 642: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Location was perfect for day trips into Kruger if you wanted. We went to see the Blyde River Canyon and it was an easy drive from there. The room itself was a bit old and dated but the bed and bedding was clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was generally good. The eggs were always spot on! The dinner buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patriciadrew28
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. As a Non Marriott Rewards Member, we see that there is room for improvement based on your feedback. We saw that you were not entirely satisfied with the quality of the treatments you received during your stay. Please accept our apology...

Bela Bela
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were at the Protea Hotel Krugergate the weekend. The service was very poor. We ordered wine, waiter brought the carafe to the table withouts glasses. I had to ask him to bring me glasses. The food (buffet) was cold which was suppose to be warm food. They did not even realise that the plates underneath the casseroles were off....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 17willeml
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took a group of 20 rooms for pleasure. The photos on the website show stand alone chalets which I thought would be lovely. Wrong. There were 200 odd hotel rooms that all stank of cigarettes and were in a time warp. The rest of the property is lovely including the bar area and restaurant. Breaky excellent and dinner quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 644GregE
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. As a Non Marriott Rewards Member, we see that there is room for improvement based on your feedback. We see that you were not entirely satisfied with your recent stay at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate due to various issues you experienced....

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I led a group on a Gate 1 tour to South Africa. We upgraded to this hotel over the Protea Hazyview and it was a great decision. Loved the hotel. Location was literally one minute from the main entrance to Kruger Park. Hotel felt like we in a fancy lodge without paying the high prices. The group loved it. Property...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Non Marriott Rewards Member, your feedback will be shared with the team...

Cincinnati
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Protea Hotel is only about a minute from the gate to Kruger National Park. This comes in handy when drivers are hurrying to a location in the park where elusive game has been spotted. They have extensive breakfast and dinner buffets that will satisfy your hunger and a small gift shop with snacks and drinks. There was entertainment on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank etra304
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Non Marriott Rewards Member, your feedback will be shared with the team...

Chongqing, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We planned a post-wedding trip to Kruger for 10 of our guests to allow them to experience their first South African Safari. As my husband is South African, we usually visit Kruger by driving ourselves. We chose Protea Hotel for the location,as we were booking for 10+ people, and the fact that they have transfers from to/from the airport. Protea...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kukster2016
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Non Marriott Rewards member, your feedback will be shared with the team...

SanAntonio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a cool hotel to stay at. The location is divine. The room was nice, but my A/C units dropped water in the walkway to the bathroom, soaking 2 of our 2 towels. I complained the first day, with no results. Should have complained louder. The restaurant is ok - don't expect fine dining.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShootingGirl
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. As a VALUED Marriott Rewards Basic MEMBER, we see that there is room for improvement based on your feedback. We saw that you rated your overall satisfaction a “3”; however, we also noticed...

UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived, and had a look around before checking in. The hotel felt dated, dark and dirty. The meal area doesnt look anything like the photos. The photos are very out of date - instead the area is packed with tables and buffet kit, and overgrown with trees. We cancelled our booking and found somewhere else to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silly_sausage_3000
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. As a VALUED Marriott Rewards Basic MEMBER, we see that there is room for improvement based on your feedback. We saw that you rated your overall satisfaction a “2”; however, we also noticed...

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights and only picked this hotel because of our late arrival and the closing times of the Kruger Park gates. We drove here from Johannesburg and arrived around midnight. The hotel is very secure. The entrance is gated, but there is an attendant all night. There is parking onsite with no charge. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LN4
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. As a Valued Non Marriott Reward Member, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback...

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We stopped at the Protea Kruger Gate for a bite to eat at their restaurant. When we arrived there was no clear service for the restaurant and we weren't sure where we were able to sit. It must be said that the area to which they serve food and drink is large and spread out and we finally decided to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Duran B
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear Mr Duran B Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. As a Non Marriott Rewards Member, we see that there is room for improvement based on your feedback. We saw that you were not entirely satisfied with the level of service and the quality of the food presented to...

674 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (537)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (143)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (260)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (137)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (19)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skukuza
10.2 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
363 reviews
40.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
36.6 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#3 of 40 in Hazyview
470 reviews
5.0 km away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
770 reviews
7.4 km away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate - Where the bushveld is your playground, no matter your age! Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, a superior lodge style hotel on the banks of the Sabie River in Mpumalanga offers an affordable luxury getaway. The ambiance of comfort is unforgettable in the context of the African bush. Enjoy the serenity of being in a tree house that overlooks the bushveld, whilst you watch the wildlife go by. Keep your head in the clouds as the veranda and walkway to your air-conditioned room is at a level normally the sole domain of the variety of birds found in the area. Situated only 100 meters from the Paul Kruger Gate of the Kruger National Park, the luxurious Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate provides guests with the ideal location from which to experience wildlife first-hand. This lodge offers bush drives in a Private Reserve and throughout the Kruger National Park, along with open vehicle safaris and organized game trails for you and your family. Don't forget your binoculars in this birdwatchers paradise. A days adventure is best ended off with a visit to the stunning open air Lapa Restaurant. With an extensive array of local foods to choose from, enjoy a dinner under the African stars. We can even make special arrangements for a Tree house sleep out. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Address: Portia Shabangu Rd | on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Skukuza
Price Range: $255 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Kruger Gate Hotel Skukuza
Protea Kruger Gate Skukuza
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Kruger Gate Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate South Africa/Skukuza
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate staff and other travellers.
48 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (48)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you like relatively finer things in life, this is not for you.”
644GregE, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Where possible go for a ground floor room. There do not appear to be any balconies on the upper floor.”
86katel, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They were all nice, as far as I could tell.”
Brampton_12, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I believe every room is on good location, I didn't see the difference :-).”
jasna2017, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Carry insect repellant and your own water.”
sashasankar, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Protea Hotels
USD 206* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 229
Hotels.comUSD 229
Booking.comUSD 232
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates