We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Southern Sun Emnotweni

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Southern Sun Emnotweni
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 302: English reviews
Start your review of Southern Sun Emnotweni
 Click to rate
Pretoria
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is situated in a favourable place, near business and entertainment. The reception at hotel is professional, no waste of time as they are well prepared. Rooms are tastefully decorated and clean

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 976phyllisb
Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff made my family and I feel welcome throughout our stay. There a few excellent examples of personal touches that make the experience worthwhile, such as the Slushy and popcorn machine for the kids. The breakfasts are great, as one expects from the Tsogo range of hotels. This particular hotel feels much more intimate with a great attitude and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anban P
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Its a great hotel with great staff at reception, l am pleased.There must be a strict reshuffle though within the waitresses at breakfast, they complain too much , gossip the guests audibly and are biased.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nkosinathithomasn
Michelle H, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for letting us know about your experience The relevant team members have been addressed by the Food and Beverage manager Regards

Traismauer, Austria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly, you fell like on holidays although you doing a business trip. Rooms are clean and is welcoming you every evening when you return from your trip. I really can recommend to do a check in at Southern Sun Emnotweni !

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Austria21
Michelle H, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for letting us know about your stay We hope you have a wonderful Easter weekend Regards

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel remains my preferred place of abode whenever I visit Mbombela. The staff here is always helpful and friendly. The rooms are always clean although a tad cramped for my liking. I typically don't enjoy buffets when I travel, but I tend to make an exception with this hotel as their food is always enjoyable. The bar is still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveSet
Michelle H, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this review

Good Morning Its great to hear from you We hope to see you again soon Regards

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to visit, easily accessible and best location. The hotel is direct opposite Emnotweni casino and a shopping mall. Friendly and motivated employees who goes out of their way to make you feel at home. There is no better place around Mpumalanga than Southern Sun Emnotweni

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdinake
Michelle H, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay We hope to see you back again soon Regards

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Sun Emnotweni while on a business trip. It was a comfortable stay. The staff were generally friendly & offered great service. The room was comfortable, was well kept & cleaned regularly. The food was enjoyable. I would certainly stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thabile857
Michelle H, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay Kind Regards

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was welcomed as if I was part of the family. Ever one treated me so well. All my needs were meticulously attended to. The conference facilities were simple but adequate. I particularly loved their themed dinners every night wit wonderful music played live by a pianist. I also enjoyed watching the stary skies from the pool area. What a...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 942gracen
Michelle H, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to let you know about your experience as well as the conferencing. Kind Regards Michelle

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very Good.I like too much.It was a wonderful weekend.I recomend to others.I am planning to return soon.Premises are fine.Close to mal which is a huge advantage.Accessible to other shops near by.Thank you

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ussumanealyd
Michelle H, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for letting us know about your stay We look forward to seeing you again soon

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is a very convenient alternative if you do not want o wake up your B&B host at 23:00. Having breakfast on the garden terrace is always a highlight at the start of our holiday. The beds are of good quality so we are well rested for the next leg of our journey.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michellemC6432WK
Michelle H, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this review

Good Afternoon We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us , we hope to see you again soon

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
4.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
3.2 km away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 19 in Nelspruit
231 reviews
4.2 km away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#7 of 19 in Nelspruit
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Promenade
BEST WESTERN Hotel Promenade
#13 of 19 in Nelspruit
39 reviews
5.3 km away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#4 of 19 in Nelspruit
27 reviews
6.4 km away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Southern Sun Emnotweni (previously known as Emnotweni Sun Hotel)is a short distance from bustling Nelspruit on the R40 to White River. Only 22km from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport,40km from the Kruger National Park and 210 km from Maputo, Southern Sun Emnotweni caters for business and leisure travellers alike. A fair blend of nature, beauty and Southern Sun hospitality makes this hotel the perfect location for a relaxing holiday. Southern Sun Emnotweni is situated in close proximity to the Emnotweni Casino and Entertainment Complex, Riverside Shopping Mall, Mbombela Stadium, other local landmarks and more, making it a convenient base for leisure or business travel. The hotel offers relaxing outdoor activities and facilities including a pool and a fully air conditioned fitness centre. The well appointed rooms offer a sanctuary for the traveller, with all the modern comforts required to ensure a rejuvenating and relaxing stay, including air conditioning and a private bathroom. Business travellers can make use of the hotel’s efficient conference venues and facilities while the hotel features a business centre with wireless internet connectivity. 500mb of free wi-fi access per day is available to hotel residents. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Sun Emnotweni

Address: 15 Government Boulevard, Riverside Park,, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa (Formerly Emnotweni Sun)
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Price Range: $185 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Emnotweni 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Southern Sun Emnotweni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Southern Sun Emnotweni staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Southern Sun Emnotweni staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“garden view can be nice”
OrenZ77, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the swimming pool will have better views.”
Sharrond69, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lower floors are noisy.”
sureshk1964, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay at the ground floor, close to a lift or staff entrance. It is very noisy.”
Ilse020, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“the have the best room all round”
kholiweeunettes, 12 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5