We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Palms Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
The Palms Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I made a booking for 2 rooms for 2 separate nights in September. I paid 50% up front. My reservation was confirmed by management prior to our party leaving New Zealand. We arrived on the scheduled date at about 1pm. We were greeted by 2 neandethal sloths who had no idea we were expected. The only thing I've seen move...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We stayed here in 2013 & 2015 it was a fantastic B&B the best we have stayed in, we loved it there and recommend it to all who visit that part of Africa, the couple that run it are really nice and easy to get along with, good food, great room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

The place needs an urgent make over. The rooms, furniture and bathrooms are 50 years old. Building rubble on both sides of our room. When we complained re the state of the place we were offered a "discount" for our next stay, which will never happen again. The place is advertised as a 4 star establishment but don't even deserve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Chris P, Manager at The Palms Guest House, responded to this review

Good day As we were bussy putting in paving ,we did apoligies to the customers on arrival as the bricks to finished off were not delivered. The reason why we offered a discount is because we felt obliged to offered it to them we are currently bussy with the inside off the rooms as KHALAMI GROUP HAVE GOT A HIGH...

Middelburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 June 2016

The room was too small, there's noise coming from the shower drain the whole night. The buffet area was always dirty. The first morning @7h30 I was told I can't have breakfast because the food is finished. In the evenings I was told to come and eat quickly before the food is finished.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank setimelaveronica
Schornsheim
Reviewed 22 June 2016

When we arrive nobody was their. After a call somebody from the neighbourhood checked us in. He was not the access code for the door and the WiFi code. The drainage of the shower started in the morning with noises and the wall was so thin that we here everything from the neighbor room. Breakfast we get in the Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 11 May 2016

I had to wait for a considerable period before I was attended to. and when I was shown my room it was as if I was given a prison cell, there wasn't any warm welcoming approach. Please work on this....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waynem49
Lippetal, Germany
Reviewed 5 April 2016

really nice hosts, tasteful rooms in a beautyful tropical garden; you will enjoy the very good breakfast. Only the Pool needs to be more care. From this point you can start with an amazing trip throu the stunning landscape of Blight River Canyon to Krüger National Park

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 645claudiak
Secunda
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Make an effor for proper parking for cars....don't boast about putting the cars in the Sun for 18 years.The TV channels are few and boring, can do more to improve the channels.The people are warm though, food is good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Recksons
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2016

One of the best B&B's we have stayed in. Great rooms that were immaculately clean. A warm and friendly welcome with great advice on where to eat. Lovely pool to cool off in and a great breakfast...add to that a Yorkshire accent from the owners and what more could one ask for....we will return for sure if in the area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug_Cartlidge
Benoni
Reviewed 28 December 2015

The venue was so relevant; accessible and befitting for a weekend away and we appreciated the hospitality. The breakfast was sumptuous. The atmosphere was welcoming and we sure will be using it again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 292adelaidem

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
3.4 km away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#6 of 19 in Nelspruit
210 reviews
1.7 km away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#8 of 19 in Nelspruit
37 reviews
2.8 km away
Bavaria Guest Lodge
Bavaria Guest Lodge
#24 of 68 in Nelspruit
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#8 of 68 in Nelspruit
100 reviews
1.5 km away
Pensao Guest Lodge
Pensao Guest Lodge
#50 of 68 in Nelspruit
10 reviews
2.4 km away
Deja View Exclusive Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
DESCRIPTION: Warmth and welcome await you at The Palms, one of Nelspruit’s most popular and established guest houses. Bordering a nature reserve the lush sub-tropical gardens offer superb views and an abundance of bird life, creating an ambience of peace and tranquillity. LOCATION Popular tourist attractions are all within easy travelling distances, i.e. the Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon, Pilgrims Rest and the historical town of Barberton. ACCOMMODATION All rooms are individually appointed with your comfort in mind and all are en-suite with television, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and ceiling fans. The house itself offers superb views of the subtropical gardens and mountains beyond. DINING Our breakfast room overlooks the sparkling pool and granite slabs. Your stay will include a comprehensive, full cooked breakfast. We offer packed breakfast and lunches and dinners can be served by arrangement. FACILITIES The Palms has a guest lounge with an honesty bar. We have a Braai area and our car park is guarded. Children are welcome to explore the extensive gardens, climb the granite slabs and play in the pool. TOURS We have connections with SATOUR registered tour guides and tours can be arranged to the Kruger National Park, God’s Window, Pilgrims Rest, Sabie and the waterfalls, Blyde River Canyon, Barberton and the surrounding area’s. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palms Guest House

Address: 25 Van Wijk Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Price Range: $63 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Palms Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Palms Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book at another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles markcY3370BH, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Could not fault anything at this b&b.”
 of 5 bubbles alancE6749VR, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms seemed very nice. We stayed on the downstairs level right outside the pool area, it was quiet and lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 723alexab, 29 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Foodlover583, 22 Nov 2013 | Read review
“We loved having the option of a strong, separate shower and the semi-sunken bath in Room 5.”
 of 5 bubbles NatH611, 30 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay