We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Umbhaba Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Umbhaba Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 111: English reviews
Bussum
Reviewed 11 October 2016

A beautiful place with affordable suites near the famous Kruger Park. The staff will arrange anything you ask for. Guides to the park, driver to a restaurant or reservations on a nearby beautiful golfcourse. Friendliness is the key word in this place. Spacious suites and staff that makes you feel at home!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annev362
Johannesburg
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Lodge is in an ideal location, very relaxing surrounds. Lodge is in need of maintenance and a wider menu to cater for all diners i.e. vegetarians. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. On the whole, had a pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sushenvg
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge on Trip Advisor. Here at Umbhaba Lodge we always strive in providing our guest with a service well above the ordinary. However its seems that we did not succeed so with your stay here with us. Your comments will be taken into consideration and a investigation...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The lodge has great potential, but my wife and i didn't feel welcome we actually felt like we inconveniencing them. The room was not prepared as requested. The food was great but once again the presentation horrible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thabelo Tabbs N
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay here at Umbhaba on Trip advisor, here at Umbhaba we truly care about our guest and always try to ensure that a service well above the ordinary is given. However its unfortunate that we did not manage to provide you with that service. It comes with great disappointment to see...

Nelspruit
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The ideal Lodge for a break away, not to be missed. Rooms are fashionable and have all the necessary extra items needed for your stay Luxurious and comfort in one. Chef choice and preparations of dishes are of high quality

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan/Magda P
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to wright such a wonderful review concerning your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. It is always a pleasure to see that our valued guest enjoyed Umbhaba Lodge for all that its worth. Your comment will definitely be shared with the rest of the team. We looking forward to welcoming you back in the not...

Randburg
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Resort needs a little tlc!! tender loving care Railings etc. needs replacing. We constantly had to ask for serviettes, cutlery etc. No help was given with luggage, my friend 'who is not well could not carry his own luggage with the result that I had to carry everything!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 231johanv
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with feedback concerning your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Your comment comes with great disappointment as we try to encourage our staff to treat every guest as if its their first most important stay at a destination. We have looked into your complains and guarantee you that all of them have been sorted. We hope...

-
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Very spacious rooms, close to the Kruger National Park and surrounding areas Close to the Hazyview town. Did not eat much at the venue but the are a few restaurants in the Town. The shower is big with a double shower head of which only one worked, whilst the other dripped.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poobend
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Indeed our town is very close to the Lodge and we are happy to see that you enjoyed its dining locations. We are glad to announce that your shower has already been taken care of and is in full working order. We hope to welcome you back here at...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I accompanied a friend for two days of golf and stayed over for two days. I found the surroundings very pleasant and neatly maintained. Although very quiet (not many visitors) I found it strange that this resort is not more popular than it appeared to me. My programme only allowed me to try their food for one evening, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taken853
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba Lodge our guest always come first and remain our number one priority. We are so happy to see that your stay was a memorable one and will definitely share your comment with the rest of the team. As far as us being...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This lodge is a bit of betwixt and between. It is neither an hotel nor a game lodge but somewhere in between. I found the setting quite pretty but totally neglected and therefore unattractive. There were various ponds and slipways/fountains etc but unfortunately none were working. The uneven stone en route to the rooms unfortunately meant that my travel bag...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Garth J
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay here at Umbhaba on Trip advisor, here at Umbhaba we truly care about our guest and always try to ensure that a service well above the ordinary is given. However its unfortunate that we did not manage to provide you with that service. It comes with great disappointment to see...

Meerensee
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We stayed over one night on the way to the Kruger Park and had a pleasant stay. Very nice lodge, very friendly staff and awesome bonus to find a clean vehicle on the morning we left!! Would recommend this lodge to anyone that's going through this area!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank altil
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Umbhaba Lodge and your stay here on Trip Advisor. Here at Umbhaba Lodge we always try and create long lasting memories for our guest, as they are our number one priority. We are happy to see that you appreciated the nature based in and around Umbhaba Lodge,...

Vanderbijlpark.
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Umbhaba. The gardens and scenery were magic, great breakfast. Rooms were spacious, clean and stylish. The staff were very friendly. Pity we did have supper there as we are certain it would have been great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cliffordpeterw
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback concerning your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Its always a pleasure receiving positive feedback from our guest and using it as a motivational tool for our staff. We hope that we can welcome you back here at Umbhaba Lodge in the not too far distant future with another wonderful stay....

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.8 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
1.3 km away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
4.7 km away
Casa do Sol
Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
248 reviews
3.7 km away
Kruger Adventure Lodge
Kruger Adventure Lodge
#22 of 43 in Hazyview
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a leisurely drive or slight detour through the artistic towns of Dullstroom or White River before relaxing into the peaceful surrounds of Umbhaba Lodge, in Hazyview. The tranquility at Umbhaba, along with the seclusion of the bushveld, is the ideal departure point for excursions in to the Kruger National Park, the majestic Blyde River Canyon, God's Window and Bourke's Luck Pot Holes. The Kruger National Airport is minutes away. Umbhaba Lodge lies on a hillside overlooking the Sabie Valley, on the edge of the Drakensberg escarpment. The lodge is picture-perfect for leisure breakaways, weddings and executive conferences. Lodge facilities include an a la carte restaurant, the safari-style Burn Out Bar and a quiet lounge. A crystal-clear rock pool amid sprawling lawns is a glorious invitation in the heat of a Lowveld day Activities at Umbhaba Lodge include day and night safaris, helicopter excursions, hot air ballooning, fishing, hiking and horse riding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Umbhaba Lodge

Address: 1 R40 Road | R40 Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Price Range: $140 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Umbhaba Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Umbhaba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umbhaba Lodge And Restaurant
Umbhaba Lodge & Restaurant Hotel Hazyview
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Umbhaba Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing dam have lovely view and atmophere”
 of 5 bubbles Taken853, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“As close to the main building as can be!!”
 of 5 bubbles garthj_12, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the side overlooking the pool and hippo pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Africatvl, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Tribal rooms are excellent for travelers looking for something special.”
  • Masai
  • Masai
 of 5 bubbles Duitswes, 7 Feb 2015 | Read review
“get room overlooking river”
 of 5 bubbles michaelrN1686KI, 3 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay