We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Birdsong Cottages

Agoda.comUSD 40*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 55*
USD 40*
Great Deal
USD 45*
USD 41*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Birdsong Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Start your review of Birdsong Cottages
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A dreamy escape. My wife and I and another couple stayed in the Sunbird cottage. We pretty much had the entire place with loads of land and wild life for ourselves. The person at reception, named William, was very helpful and gave us ideas of activities like horseback ridding nearby. Very relaxing and peaceful stay and the prices are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josue V
Reviewed 21 April 2017

it was a life time experience adventure with friends having fun going wild, the animal site view and hiking was good so as the pool area and good reception and hospitality it was good Actually I would have liked to have spend more time on this property, quietly reading and relaxing in the Jacuzzi - especially as the roads in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dama M
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Dama M for your review. We're happy to read that you had a pleasant experience in the Sunbird cottage and that William took great care of you and your family.

Gaborone
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Stayed 3 nights in the sunbird cottage with my wife and toddler son. The area is peaceful, serene, quiet and ideal just to winddown and enjoy. The trail game walk was one of my highlights, such a lovely environment. The facilities, self-catering is adequate. We had a braii area and a private jacuzzi, awesome. The gardens at the place are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tapiwa M
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Tapiwa M for your lovely review. We're thrilled that you had a memorable stay and that William took great care of you. We can't wait to welcome you back.

Johannesburg
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Our room was Sunbird and it suited us well. We were at Songbird for two nights while attending nearby wedding festivities. Actually I would have liked to have spend more time on this property, quietly reading and relaxing in the jacussi - especially as the roads in tthe area were a challenge. Would have been great to just stay put....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Anthony for your review. We take note of your feedback regarding the road. As we are located on a farm, there are only dirt roads to travel on, and the local municipality scrapes the roads regularly to keep it suitable for driving.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Me and my friends had a wonderful time at Birdsong cottages. We rented an 8 sleeper. it was clean and nice. The guides/assistants were also helpful. the only challenge is the 8km road from R101 to the venue. its not nice at all, thank God it did not rain. And only one vehicle can drive on the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sollyjnaidoo
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Solly for your review. We do appreciate your kind words and are delighted that you had a memorable stay. We understand that our dirt road is quite a distance to travel in order for guests to reach our property, but since our location in the heart of the bushveld means that we can offer a unique experience, we...

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Thank you William and the team. Your place is too beautiful. The quietness and your hospitality is amazing. Thanks a million and see you soon. The place is good for Teambuilding and bonding. The hiking trails while watching game is incredible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 309docm
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

We always enjoy hearing from our guests after they have stayed with us. Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We'll be sure to pass your compliments on to William and the team.

Vaalwater, Limpopo, South Africa
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We booked a cottage in September '16 for a weekend in Feb 2017; you would think enough time to make sure everything was clean and working. Firstly there was no receipt of the deposit paid in September, we had to phone to find out if reservations actually had us on the books. The messages we left were not replied to....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan S, thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience. Please accept our apologies for the lack of response from our reservations department. We will be investigating this and take corrective action. We will also be addressing the housekeeping issues you have listed with William and the housekeeping department and apologize profusely for this. We'll...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

First of I had the best experience with William, my friends and I had a warm welcome from him, he made sure everyone was comfortable and regularly checked that we are doing okay. We were staying in the Kingfisher Cottage, the cottage was really beautiful and comfortable, the rooms were set up beautifully. The cleaning lady came in on Saturday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mvraganya
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. We do take note of the gravel road feedback. We can however confirm that as this is a public road maintained by local municipality, all the residents in the area take regular action to keep this road maintained...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2017

I enjoyed the main suite. It was very luxurious. The service was friendly and we didn't struggle to get anything. All the facilities were working. I did not like that the kitchen area was separated from the suites

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thuli3552
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Thuli for your review. As advertised, our Flycatcher Villa does in fact have 3 bedrooms - each with their own private entrance - and a shared kitchen with a separate entrance. We are sorry that this was not to your taste but appreciate that you still enjoyed the stay.

Reviewed 3 January 2017

The location is STUNNING. Beautiful bushveld and within close proximity to Jhb so great for quick getaways. William , the manager is outstanding and very attentive to needs. But apart from William , the venue is understaffed. We had our little cottage serviced on only 2 of my 4 day stay. Pitching up at 6pm in the evening to clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cara V
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Cara V. We take note of your feedback and will pass this on to the team to attend to, take note of and action.

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
13.9 km away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
305 reviews
15.3 km away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
47 reviews
7.3 km away
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
#3 of 11 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 km away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#18 of 51 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
15.4 km away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#3 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
101 reviews
26.0 km away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 51 in Bela Bela
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy farm-life and warm hospitality in our overnight accommodation or self catering units. Choose from a self catered farm stay or enjoy lodgings in the rondavel or our beautiful guest house. This popular bird watching area is within close proximity of the Nylsvley wetlands. Hiking trails on the farm offer breathtaking views. Birdsong is ideal for small functions, conferences, weddings and parties, with a beautiful chapel with seating for 50-60 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Birdsong Cottages

Address: Farm Rietspruit, Driefontein, R101, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: $48 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birdsong Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birdsong Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Birdsong Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call in advance to get the access code, have a spare wheel, Braii wood is so cheap in Modimole”
991tapiwam, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“anywhere on the farm.”
sollyjnaidoo, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best views and lovely animals as well”
itu2015, 1 May 2015 | Read review
“Some rooms have steep stairs, enquire first if you have elderly people”
markthomson248, 30 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a Bosveld Boma, it is a must to experience.”
MagdalenaDeLange, 29 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
USD 40* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUSD 45
PricelineUSD 41
TripAdvisorUSD 40
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates