We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 190: English reviews
Start your review of Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
 Click to rate
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at Hoyo Hoyo while celebrating a milestone birthday and the experience was truly exceptional. My room and the general premises were gorgeous and the elephants in the background added that magical touch. The staff were fantastic and made my stay perfect with their warmth and friendliness. I was even surprised with a cake and song and dance for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan_POS
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jan_POS - Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your special birthday stay at Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and that the Hoyo Hoyo team took such good care of you. Many happy returns!

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a good time at this hotel and only one bad apple can ruin the whole bunch, but word of advise would be to make sure you lock your meds in the safe...while we can't be sure, we are 90% that meds were pillaged. They went thru everything when we were away on the safari and we didn't really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coccosaid
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear coccosaid - Thank you for posting your review of Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, but distressed to learn that you believe that some of your medications went missing during your time with us. We have never had an incident of this kind but we will urgently investigate from our side...

Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to this lodge in Kruger as the last stop on our 3 week trip to Africa. What a disappointment. When we arrived there was no one to welcome us. Our driver had to find a waiter to get the luggage. Everything upon arrival was disorganized. From check in to the lack of lunch (which was promised) to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drphil2
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear drphil2 - Thank you for your detailed review of your time at Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. The experience you describe is not at all what we would want any of our guests to have, and we would like to take this opportunity to apologise for those occasions where we fell short of the very high standards we set ourselves....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay at Hoyo Hoyo and I can definitely recommend them to anyone who is looking for a African Safari! I am a tour operator in South Africa and send many guests throughout Southern Africa and Hoyo Hoyo is my new favourite lodge!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil_de_Jonge
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Neil_de_Jonge - Than you for sharing your impressions of Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and honoured that you would recommend Hoyo Hoyo to your clients and to future travellers - thank you!

Oregon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You will not be disappointed staying at Hoyo Hoyo. From the moment we arrived, we were so impressed with the professional, light hearted staff and fantastic amenities. Each and every game drive was so memorable. Highlights included the friendly staff, food and of course the animals!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kbsmith87
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear kbsmith87 - Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time there, and that the Hoyo Hoyo team took such good care of you.

Kingston upon Hull, UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All round fantastic experience. The safari drives were amazing, with close encounters like we never expected. We had a 4 night stay and were not disappointed in any aspect, the staff are amazing and very welcoming, the guides really know their stuff and can spot a leopard in a tree before you can see the tree!!! The rooms are always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nigel P - Thank you for sharing your impressions of Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're particularly happy to hear how much you enjoyed the game drives and spending time with the guides, and we're honoured that you would recommend Hoyo Hoyo to future travellers - thank you.

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice place, exotic and confortable!!! Staff very friendly, and good safari tour!!! Good food and any mosquitos, neither on lodge neither on safari tour. Amazing stay!!! I highly recommend this place!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 359guestt
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 359guestt - Thank you for sharing your Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we're honoured that you would recommend Hoyo Hoyo to future travellers - thank you.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2017

We came to Hoyo Hoyo for 3 nights on the first stop of our tour of South Africa and we were not disappointed. The staff greeted you a friendly 'Hoyo Hoyo' welcome which resonated throughout your stay. The room was traditional and luxurious allowing you the experience of an outside shower (only during the day though!). It allowed you to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheBestChapter
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear TheBestChapter - Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review of your mind-blowing experience at Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Hoyo Hoyo the next time you visit.

Reviewed 13 April 2017

We had the most wonderful time at HOYO HOYO . We stayed for 4 nights in an amazing room. We were in lodge 1 which was immaculate comfortable and had everything needed even an outside shower . Even an Elephant came to visit one afternoon. The morning and afternoon/evening Safari with NIcholas " Big Man" were brilliant full of amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna P
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Joanna P - Thank you for sharing your impressions of Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we very much hope that you will visit South Africa - and Hoyo Hoyo - again soon.

St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Had a great and relaxing time at a stunning venue. Staff was great, food very good and always something in-between to snack and on game drives. Guide knows his stuff and we so nice amount of animals. The knowledge shared was amazing and informative! 3 days was the perfect time for us. More than that it just becomes more of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank krugers282
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear krugers282 - Thank you for posting your review of Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

268 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (258)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
3.3 km away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#52 of 171 in Kruger National Park
298 reviews
3.3 km away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#61 of 171 in Kruger National Park
380 reviews
20.6 km away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
291 reviews
14.9 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
380 reviews
245.5 km away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#60 of 171 in Kruger National Park
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the banks of the Mluwati River, in the Kruger National Park, this unique lodge boasts a breath-taking blend of ethnic luxury, encompassing both warmth and style. Hoyo Yoyo Safari Lodge offers an intimate atmosphere with only six luxury African suites, each with king sized bed, en-suite stone bathrooms, outdoor shower and private game viewing decks.All 6 traditional African suites are air-conditioned and have en-suite bathrooms with antique baths and outside shower. Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room.Welcome drinks on arrival, butler service, spa treatments in the privacy of your room, safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park, guided safari walks by prior arrangement.The Lodge is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per stay.Rates indicated are per person sharing per night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge

Address: PO Box 196, Skukuza, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Price Range: $393 - $996 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyo-Hoyo Tsonga Hotel Kruger National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are identical and equally spaced in relation to the amenities”
436nigelp, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ANy one of the 6 lodges on site as all as good as each other”
357joannap, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“This lodge only accommodates 12 so book early and enjoy!”
judumm, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are great!!”
67palakm, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Close to the waterhole”
kariNorway, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates