We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thornhill Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Thornhill Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 261: English reviews
Heerjansdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Of all the places we visit with our family (8 persons) from December 28, 2016 untill January 5, 2017 the Thornhill Lodge was our favourite! Not only due to the nice rooms, good drinks, best food but especially due to the natural and warm welcome and the nice talks, suggestions and atmosphere offered by the owner and by Patrick!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans R
Richmond, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have visited Thornhill safari lodge 4 times now and was a guest over the Christmas / new year period. Thornhill is a lovely lodge nestled in the Guernsey reserve. The drive is pretty with sightings of zebra, giraffe, Impala with a glimpse of lions. It is central to many activities . Around 40 minutes from Hoedspruit airport ( a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jules592014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved the Lodge & my room. The staff (in general) were helpful and cheery. The sunset deck was a lovely place to relax. I was extremely disappointed that the activities offered through the travel adviser in conjunction with Thornhill were not all available and at a much higher price than initially quoted. Even showing the host the trip notes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tess518
Thornhill1, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for sharing your view of your experience at Thornhill Safari Lodge on Trip Advisor. I am glad your room was up to your standard and that you enjoyed the sun deck to relax. We apologise for the pool but during the period that you were staying with us we did have some thunderstorms and lots...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a few nights over Christmas, my room was very basic, probably one of the oldest rooms in the lodge. Travelling alone, you seem to get the room that nobody else will accept, despite paying single person supplement. My room was very dark, very small and with no toiletries as such. The public area was OK, with few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maura D
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would definitely recommend Thornhill if you are considering a safari in Kruger. We visited at Christmas and had a lovely stay. The staff were very helpful, food was lovely and the accommodation was great. We would definitely stay here again in the future if we return for a safari.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmajohnson1000
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived for a 4 day safari stay in mid November. I am a vegetarian and my partner needs to follow a gluten free diet and is a pescatarian. We drove in from Jo'burg and were a bit late so at first we were disappointed that we were the only two in our transport that was not getting off at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank persephone1021
Thornhill1, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for sharing your review of your experience at Thornhill Safari Lodge on Trip Advisor. I am so very happy to read that your so enjoyed your time with us. The team takes such pride in ensuring that all our guests have a wonderful time with us and leave with many a happy memory....

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A safari is a once in a lifetime event for most people and Thornhill Lodge is an excellent choice for your stay. It is a typical lodge in the middle of nowhere. Rustic but with a large comfortable room with good air conditioning and a large walk in shower. Comfortable bed with mosquito netting. The difference is the hosts. Leanne...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmsmithsf
Thornhill1, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for sharing your review of your experience at Thornhill Safari Lodge on Trip Advisor. I am so very happy to read that your so enjoyed your time with us. The team takes such pride in ensuring that all our guests have a wonderful time with us and leave with many a happy memory....

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic experience at Thornhill, made by the fantastic staff who went out of their way to look after us led by Lianne. Met some wonderful people and loved all the safari trips. Saw so much and it was a great place to take our 11 year old daughter who was very sad to leave - as we all were! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petesunshine
Thornhill1, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your game drive was such a great success.We hope you visit us again.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights at Thornhill Safari lodge .. All the Staff were very friendly .. Special Thankyou to Leanne ( co owner) Michelle ( chef) & Caroline .(Reservation), Simon & Nellie (guides) . Michelle's cooking was delicious..Highly recommend Thornhill Safari lodge Leigh & Sandra

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
Thornhill1, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Thornhill Safari Lodge. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time and we feel proud that the staff goes extra miles to meet guest expectations your kind words will be shared with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Just finished up a 4 day stay at Thornhill and I feel compelled to write a review. Everything from the greeted arrival to departure was nothing short of brilliant. The hosts were gracious and for ever helpful, the rooms were comfortable with good facilities, the meals amazing and the general facilities, ambience and active participation of the staff just made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samual S
Thornhill1, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your game drive was such a great success. We hope you visit us again.

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (207)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (97)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
15.6 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,502 reviews
7.7 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
410 reviews
9.4 km away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#3 of 99 in Hoedspruit
251 reviews
46.1 km away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#6 of 99 in Hoedspruit
303 reviews
3.5 km away
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
#26 of 99 in Hoedspruit
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thornhill Safari Lodge offers an affordable getaway with comfortable rooms and excellent facilities in 13 authentic thatch-roof chalets. Located within the Greater Kruger Park ecosystem - South Africa, a mere 40km from Kruger Park's Orpen gate.We cater for group bookings, individual guests on self drives, fly in safari's and honeymoon couples. Come and enjoy a "Kruger to Canyon" experience which is "More than just a Safari". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thornhill Safari Lodge

Address: Portion 144 of the Farm Guernsey 81 KU, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range: $222 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornhill Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Thornhill Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornhill Safari Hotel Hoedspruit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thornhill Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Thornhill Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be prepared to spend a fortune on water”
 of 5 bubbles tess518, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are the same.”
 of 5 bubbles gmsmithsf, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms nice!”
 of 5 bubbles Petesunshine, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the lodge are more spacious and have wifi”
 of 5 bubbles mzoryan, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Any room is amazing”
 of 5 bubbles AJKPerth, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay