We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zimbali Lodge

441 reviews
Save
Traveller (299)
Pool & Beach (52)
Room & Suite (50)
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good26%
  • Average21%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“golf course”(48 reviews)
“infinity pool”(19 reviews)
“the main hotel”(12 reviews)
Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
5.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (441)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Zimbali Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
145
101
78
35
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
145
101
78
35
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseinfinity poolthe main hotelcoastal forestcolonial stylegolf buggiesbreakfast is serveddark woodsouth africaindian oceanhousekeeping staffbeach clubcurrieslonger stayrooms are spaciousshort stayturn down service
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
131 - 135 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2016

I love the location on the coast, in the forest / bush reserve. The Zimabli resort is terrific, close to the airport, not far from Durban and not far from Unhlanga with restaurants and shopping etc. Golf course, right next to the Lodge remains very...More

1  Thank david w
Response from FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali LodgeResponded 31 March 2016

Dear david w Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you left feeling disappointed by the food and beverage offering available at the Lodge. We apologise for any inconveniences...More

Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend so dissatisfied with everything the bathroom smelt of urine Our aircon was not working had maintainance in and out our room about 5 times and still slept the night in a hot box with my very pregnant self my toddler...More

1  Thank sadiyyahm
Response from FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali LodgeResponded 31 March 2016

Dear sadiyyahm Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge did not meet your expectations and that you left feeling dissatisfied and disappointed with your experience with us. We would like...More

Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

I am very sad to say that we were quite disappointed with our trip! It was our anniversary and of course the beckoning 5 star luxury was definitely something to look forward to. Excitement soon turned to disillusionment. Don't get me wrong, the property is...More

1  Thank AndrissaFerreira
Response from FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali LodgeResponded 31 March 2016

Dear AndrissaFerreira Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are disheartened to learn of your disappointing stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are sorry that the facilities did not meet your expectations and would like to apologise for...More

Reviewed 28 January 2016

More

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
1  Thank Sudesh M
Response from FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali LodgeResponded 31 March 2016

More

Reviewed 16 January 2016

We travel around very well and stay in great places around the world and always booked great hotels. We have had a fantastic time in South Africa and planned to end our trip here in the lap of luxury of a 5 star hotel. I...More

5  Thank scott j
Response from FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali LodgeResponded 29 January 2016

Dear scott j Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with following your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We apologise for any inconveniences that you may...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1252627282979
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Golf Course
Tennis Court
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
USD 229 - USD 317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 229 - USD 317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (299)
Pool & Beach (52)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (13)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Debbie A
31 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Rofti | Reviewed this property |
As far as I remember it is R250 pp if it is not already included in your stay. I would suggest to take a 5min drive to Ballito Junction and enjoy your breakfast there.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"In the Lodge, I would make sure to get a first floor room for the best views/light."
Read review
"Try to get a top floor room as you will get a sea view in some cases. Whichever room you chose the balcony..."
Read review
"Choose a room far away from the middle of the hotel."
Read review
"Stay in rooms nearby the lodge and close windows as there are monkeys."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing