We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 323: English reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2014

The reception staff are warm and professional. Porters are prompt and neat. Exceptional service at security when we arrived. Very arrogant security individual when we checked out. The room view was spectacular. Unfortunately towels are tired. The room tiling in certain areas looked worn out and the fridge had a funny smell. I also found a cockroach in the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SayedFarah
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SayedFarah Thank for taking the time to review the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and for your lovely comments regarding our Reception Staff and our Porters. We are sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations and that you had a bad experience when departing the Zimbali Estate. Please rest assured that your concerns have been raised with...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 December 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are spacious, however, it is very far from the beach. The conference venue was disappointing and the conference rooms were small with no airconditioning working. The food quality was average.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Muhammad Anees H
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Muhammad Anees H Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the spacious rooms at our beautiful property. Please accept our apologies for the challenges that you were faced with while conferencing at the Lodge. We hope that your future experience will be a more pleasant and memorable one....

London, England
Reviewed 30 November 2014

There is no dout that the Zimbali Lodge is a lovely place to stay, however I have say that it just falls short of it's five star rating which is disappointing. This was our second visit here, the last was five years ago. On the plus side it's a huge, secure site with the spacious rooms set in a living...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnT42
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JohnT42 Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are disheartened to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We have taken note of your concerns regarding the key cards not working and lack of amenities within the...

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 29 October 2014 via mobile

I find it bizarre that you stay at a beach resort and have no access to the beach. The receptionist had to phone the Fairmont hotel to take me down to the beach. At a cost of R 50 too. The Lodge is not able to give you an access key. There are far better hotels to stay if you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael M
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Michael M Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for choosing to stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. The Zimbali Coastal Estate is a secured gated estate, with 2 beach access points. One of the beach access points can unfortunately only be reached on foot, due to the fact that one needs...

Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 October 2014

We attended a wedding at Zimbali and stayed at Zimbali Lodge for 2 nights - 24/25 Oct 2014. I must say for such a beautiful location and buildings the service is extremely disappointing. The food quality is not good and the staff are dis-organised. Room service food quality is a lot worse than the dining room quality. That being said...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Waldorphian
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Waldorphian Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We do hope that you enjoyed the wedding which you attended. We’re sorry that the service and food quality was not up to your expectations. Please rest assured that we are investigating to get a better understanding of the challenges which you experienced. The...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 23 October 2014

I have been staying at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge for over 10 years, admittedly I have stayed there I think on five occasions. There is no doubt that the standards have been lowered and the service has slipped. Let’s start with the bedrooms; the rooms are nicely appointed and reasonably spacious. There are definitely not enough hangers in the wardrobe...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2Travelmore75
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 2Travelmore75 I would like to start off by thanking you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. I am most disappointed that your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge did not live up to your expectations. The rooms at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge have recently been refurbished, so we’re glad that you found them well...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 22 October 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge for one night of our honeymoon and one night was definitely not enough! Our room was located in the heart of what seemed like a forest and overlooked the beautiful golf course and dam. Upon arrival the room was setup with rose petals and a both was already set for us. My favourite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pumpkin0099
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pumpkin0099 Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I must say that we are delighted to be chosen as one of your honeymoon destinations! We’re very happy that we could assist you in creating special memories during such a special time. We hope that you and your husband will be returning to...

south africa
Reviewed 19 October 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic position. It is a nice 4 star and most definitely not a 5 star!! Room has a fantastic view, good sleep quality but furnishing is a bit old. Breakfast staff are quite disorganized . Food quality and cleanliness could be improved . No information about wifi or how to move around the estate was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank topons8
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Topons8, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are delighted that overall your time with us was very positive, complimenting the fantastic location, views and accommodation. Your feedback is highly valued. I will ensure your input is shared with our management team and used to further enhance the guest...

Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2014

We did an add on at the end of our Safari to Lakeside Lodge for 5 days with Saga. What a wonderful place it was with such kind and considerate staff. Even on 1 occasion when it was raining the staff came and collected us on a golf cart to take us to the Restaurant. Our Saga guide Obe was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eileen B
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Eileen, Thank you for sharing your positive experience of staying at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are delighted that your time with us was enjoyable and truly memorable. Thank you for your kind compliments of the lodge, our rooms, the dining experience, spa and our thoughtful colleagues. I’m so pleased you experienced engaging service and that all was to your...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2014

We arrived to Fairmont Zimbali straight from a long flight from Australia. We got an excellent rate and were very impressed by the resort. The breakfast was delicious and the pool was gorgeous. The resort felt very empty which we really liked. The walk down to the beach was a real adventure too. Also, we had access to the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rimona B
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rimona, Thank you for taking the time to share this great review on TripAdvisor! It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team strives to create memories for all our guests. They are grateful to have achieved this during your stay; as well as for your recognition and recommendation. We hope to...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
23.0 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,657 reviews
23.0 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
959 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
248 reviews
2.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.1 km away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: $132 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the sea”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms face the ocean but those on the upper floors have the bd them to have no ocean view and to be too public.”
 of 5 bubbles Mountainmann, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“At the end of the row of rooms at the top”
 of 5 bubbles aluettev, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask to be left alone, or you'll be easily annoyed”
 of 5 bubbles KarlKarl_Jacobs, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“sea view room is a must !”
 of 5 bubbles HamzaYacoob, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5