We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 305: English reviews
Durban
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at the both the Resort an the Lodge but prefer the lodge. The view from your balcony is of the forest. If you love nature then it's perfect for you. This stay was extra special as out room was just below the Crowne Eagles nest an we got to see it. The lodge is more private an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rowena C
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rowena C Thank you for sharing your stay with us. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback about our Lodge. It is a beautiful setting and extremely tranquil and we are so happy you got to experience this firsthand. What a treat to have the Crowned Eagle’s nest so close! We look forward to hosting you again and...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We had a very good experience from the room and attention to detail to the service and location. The setting is so beautiful and the pool is magnificent no to mention the view. Food at the pool side and the service from the bar area was below average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrg808
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear mrg808 Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a good experience with us from the facilities to our service delivery. It is our desire that you have these memorable experiences with us, and we hope to have you back to stay in the near future. Kind Regards Nils Rothbarth General Manager

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

It was a unique disappointment to be again at Zimbali Lodge during our Easter holidays with the whole family. We had been there one year before for a three days stay and had been caught az that time by the warm and extremely friendly service orientation of the staff and, in particular, by this unique location right in the middle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HannibalCicero
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear HannibalCicero Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your experience with us. We are most disheartened to hear that your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge did not meet your expectations, especially as you had enjoyed your stay with us before. We have taken note of your comments and will be investigating further to...

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 30 August 2016

excellent service from the moment we arrived, The Valley of the Pools was tranquil, the food and cocktails delicious, had supper at Ayoba and the Tacos were scrumptious. The breakfast at Thandi Resturant was mediocre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Michelle J Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful location, as well as the variety of dining options on offer! We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth General Manager Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Been a while since i was last here and how things have slid. Arrived at the resort at 9pm. Had to wait an eternity before a shuttle could take me to the room. On arrival at the room. NO ROOM SERVICE. NO BAR SERVICE. Tea and coffee station without biscuits or rusks. Immediately called the duty station to ask to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nischal g
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nischal Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are disheartened to hear that we did not live up to your previous experiences and that you were disappointed by the facilities available. We value your comments and will review your concerns as we improve our service delivery going forward....

Reviewed 25 August 2016

Standing at the capacious window of your beautifully appointed, spacious room, taking in the verdant gardens, large, azure pools and endless beach, you could be forgiven for thinking you're at a tropical island resort, especially when, out of the corner of your eye, you spy a small troop of primates clambering up a tree of a balcony. From the moment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ebrahim K
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ebrahim Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. It is most appreciated. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our little slice of paradise as much as we do. We hope that you will visit our beautiful property again soon. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel was very disappointing. Our toilet didn't flush, our hairdryer had no plug, our balcony had no furniture, and the breakfast was extremely average. We asked for a non-feather pillow because one of us is allergic and after promising to bring one, they simply never arrived.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kanina F
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kanina Thank you very much for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge for with us. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused by the challenges which you experienced. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Last weekend decided to after meeting Durban clients to spend a relaxing weekend Chose the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge being smaller than the Resort and my preference is for the smaller hotel. The hotel is five star but I was more than surprised to find that there was no room service for either bar or food. Only breakfast and bar lunches...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike271142
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear mike271142 Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us. We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge did not meet expectations and that you were disappointed by the facilities available. We would like to extend our apologies for the housekeeping challenges that you were faced...

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We stayed here for the weekend as part of a Kulula travel package booking and were presently surprised. It was a lovely weekend from start to finish. Our room at the lodge, 509, was lovely and well maintained. The beach club is relaxing and the willow stream spa is one of the best we've ever been to. Thanks for making...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rivonia1983
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rivonia1983 Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us following your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your much needed break was everything you hoped it would be and more. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth General Manager Fairmont...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 July 2016

A wonderful place to stay with amazing views. The generous kind helpful hosts provided for our every needs including advise as to where we should visit and eat. We stayed in many places on our recent tour of South Africa and we rate Zimbali the best. The room was modern and beautifully clean with sea views, (We even managed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillking2016
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jillking2016 Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and Resort. We are glad that our friendly and helpful staff were able to leave a lasting impression on you during your time with us and that we contributed to a lovely trip to...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
23.0 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,516 reviews
23.0 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
857 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
2.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.1 km away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: $138 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st floor rooms, just behind reception, have amazing sea views and close enough to the lobby to access the dolphin/whale viewing deck”
  • A view of the main pool from the room
 of 5 bubbles VimalSardar, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ocean view is a must”
 of 5 bubbles LindaF46, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a room with a balcony see view”
 of 5 bubbles mike271142, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Sea View”
 of 5 bubbles jillking2016, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“not sure, we were in a very nice location, not far from the reception”
 of 5 bubbles Tasi123, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay