We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Penwarn Country Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Underberg
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Start your review of Penwarn Country Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 30 December 2016

This place was breathtaking! We went for a wedding - the venue was stunning and the chapel beautiful. The pictures came out amazingly well! The food provided the lodge was delicious! There were many great walks around the grounds. The accommodation was everything that you needed - we saw the the larger lodges and the a-frame cottages and all were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Christmas break was a comfortable stay in Nguni cottage. Very basic accommodation, with lots of flies visiting us in the cottage so suggest you take a big can of Doom! No fireplace for a winter stay. Food was way beyond our expectations- simply delicious and plenty! Lovely walks to find cell reception around the farm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
Durban
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We visited Penwarn and stayed in one of their thatch chalets. What a surprising treat! This farm totals 3800h and is teeming with fun waiting to happen! On arrival we drove through the game reserve and spotted eland, blesbok, zebra and wildebeest. This is not just a 1200h game reserve, but also a dairy totalling about 6000 cows and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CatloverDurban
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Penwarn this weekend, found it to be very expensive for what we got. Food not good at all, very salty and soup, custard all had lumps. Apart from very salty no taste at all. Accomodation run down and needs urgent attention. Room not cleaned properly, bath not washed, fireplace not cleaned. Zero ambience at the bar as to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denis B
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

All I can say is that this was the best decision Ryan and I made to celebrate our wedding at penwarn. From the start Shannon and Barbara were extremely helpful with every detail I was not worried at all. Our guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves and all want to return for fishing and horse riding. The views are breathtaking and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephenie M
ShannonDommett, Manager at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Ryan and Stephenie, thank you for choosing Penwarn to be a part of your magical day! We were honoured to host your family and friends for a truly special occasion and thoroughly enjoyed the entire weekend. Thank you for trusting us with such an important event in your lives and we are thrilled to hear that you are so happy....

Cape Town
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The staff were friendly, but really attention to detail is not the order of the day. We had no heating in our room - the fireplace had not been cleaned, the bathroom only had hot water, no shower gel or shampoo in bathroom. The lack of internet connectivity made it impossible to contact management after hours as only Vodacom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MicheleStarke
ShannonDommett, Owner at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Michele, We pride ourselves in being a country retreat away from the busyness of the city and aim to provide an experience that is unique and centred around farm life. We have Wifi available in the Reception area as we understand that we are in a remote location and that business must go on. The managers and owners...

Midrand, South Africa
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

I do not know if they still have the same chef, but their restaurant was way too good. The accomodation was amazing too. We were there to shop for horses and the horse riding experience was just as spectacular with a good guide riding with us. If you seek peace of mind away from the noise, this could do it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank romeobleck
ShannonDommett, Manager at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments! We hope that you will be back to enjoy the food, accommodation and horses for many more years to come. We are always so thrilled to hear from guests who enjoy our "little piece of heaven away from it all" as much as we do. Hope to see you again soon!

Gauteng
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

We stopped over at Penwarn on our way down to the Transkei. The rooms were comfortable with a cosy fireplace . Scenic surroundings allowed us to take lots of photos and good walks amongst the horses. The staff were friendly and informative of the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raymondr500
ShannonDommett, Manager at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your delightful comments! We are happy to hear that you so enjoyed yourself and hope that the next time, your stay with us will be longer.

Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

Short and long.... We wished we could've stayed longer. Lovely setting, warm friendly service. Lodging is more than sufficient given the price charged. We did the farm tour and the kids loved it. The only disappointment was the fact that fishing was not possible due to the drought that dried up all the dams a few weeks earlier. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schastri
ShannonDommett, Manager at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments! We so enjoy watching families take to farm life like yours did. The farm tour is the perfect vehicle to experience the entire farm and all its enterprises We were privileged to show your family around. We hope to host you for a fishing weekend in the future once the weather conditions have improved...

South Africa
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Mziki self catering chalet at Penwarn, right on the dam within a beautiful farm surrounding. The chalet has a relaxed atmosphere and cosy with a well equipped kitchen. All the bedrooms face the dam and can appreciate the views. We enjoyed sunny weather and during our walks we were able to absorb the stunning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muggins01
ShannonDommett, Manager at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear "Muggins01", Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are thrilled to hear that you so enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to take in the scenery and animals on offer. We hope to host your group for another ladies weekend soon!

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
20.7 km away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
12.3 km away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
10.3 km away
Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
24.5 km away
Umzimkulu River Lodge
Umzimkulu River Lodge
#2 of 18 in Underberg
264 reviews
20.3 km away
Moorcroft Manor
Moorcroft Manor
#1 of 9 in Himeville
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Penwarn Country lodge is situated on the edge of the Ukhlthlamaba Drakensberg Park in the Southern Drakensberg, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa.Both hotel and self-catering accommodation is available. There are 2 hotel lodges and 4 self catering units that can accommodate from 2 to 14 people.Many activities are on offer - horse riding; farm tours of the dairy and horse-stud farm; birding; hiking; fishing are merely a few. Sani Pass tours are arranged for the guests with the local tour companies.Warm hospitality, relaxed atmosphere, good country dining are our some of our specialities!We look forward to your stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Penwarn Country Lodge

Address: Bushmans Nek Road, Underberg 3257, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Number of rooms: 19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Penwarn Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Kudu lodge is beautiful, but not in the windy season!”
 of 5 bubbles CatloverDurban, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“In winter stay in the Lodge itself, there is a large fireplace should the electricity go out.”
 of 5 bubbles PaintedBlackbirdKim, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Lodges give total peace!”
 of 5 bubbles 772jillf, 1 Mar 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are great, but get the lodge rooms overlooking the lake for something special.”
 of 5 bubbles Bounderboys, 16 Dec 2014 | Read review
“The Zebra room was perfect for us: PROS: larger, fireplace, dstv, minibar, personal outside access. CON: bathtub with hand held shower (no curtains)”
 of 5 bubbles CattleSpeed, 31 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5