We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umbrella Tree House

Save
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (10)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good40%
  • Average3%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“b b”(21 reviews)
“special stay”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Kitchenette
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Umbrella Tree House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
67
50
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
67
50
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bspecial staycooked breakfastnice guesthousesmall fridgebeautiful roomfresh fruitonly stayed one nightself catering unitindian oceanfelt like homea lovely staybreakfast was excellentsea viewenjoyed our staypersonal toucheasy access
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed over for one evening. We had everything we needed and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was disappointing. We will not visit again as I feel I can get better value for my money.More

Thank Henriette v
Response from LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree HouseResponded 25 November 2017

So sorry to hear you were disappointed with the breakfast. I am so surprised because we do receive a lot of compliments about our breakfasts. I can't remember what you had for breakfast or if you requested something we didn't offer. But for the sake...More

Reviewed 14 November 2017

Delightful rooms overlooking the sea,delightful breakfast and charming host. Thanks, Lesley sorry we couldn't stay longer. Traffic and road construction around Durban is currently horrendous, without the excellent direction instructions, we would have had a big problem

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 985bruce
Response from LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree HouseResponded 16 November 2017

Thanks so much for your lovely review. Very happy to hear you had a good stay. Come back for a longer stay :)

Reviewed 13 November 2017

We enjoyed our stay. The room had all the amenities we needed and was clean. The breakfast was great and the views awesome. It is centrally located and within a few minutes from both the beach and Gateway

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annemariegaertner
Response from LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree HouseResponded 15 November 2017

Hi Annemarie, thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear your stay was good.

Reviewed 11 October 2017

Umbrella tree is a really nice guesthouse. Great view on at sea on your private balcony. Nice people and good breakfast. Very good shower. It is possible to walk to the beach. It takes about ten minutes.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 556elisabethv
Response from LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree HouseResponded 12 October 2017

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again someday.

Reviewed 5 September 2017

We had an awesome stay at Umbrella tree house! The room was beautiful, clean and oh my that sea view. Breakfast was freshly made and a variety to choose from. Staff was friendly and we felt at home. Location is also perfectly close to everything....More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P9460IKjacquesb
Response from LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree HouseResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you so much for your review. I am always very happy to hear that my guests have had a positive experience. Hope that means you will be back :)

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Details
Price range
USD 61 - USD 88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
USD 61 - USD 88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (10)
Pool & Beach (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Umbrella Tree House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Choose the room with ocean views. They have a little balcony with chairs n a little table just to watch, for..."
Read review
"Sea view rooms are great."
Read review
"Rooms 1 and 3"
Read review
"The room we had was separate from the house . This was nice as there is a kitchen/lounge for your use."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing