We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Umhlanga Rocks

Umbrella Tree House

122 reviews
Save
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (10)
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good40%
  • Average3%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“b b”(21 reviews)
“nice guesthouse”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Kitchenette
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (122)Write a Review
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
64
47
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
64
47
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcooked breakfastnice guesthousesatellite tvbeautiful roomonly stayed one nightself catering unita lovely staymin drivefresh fruitsea viewbreakfast was excellentenjoyed our staypersonal touchstay there againwalking distancehome away from home
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Our one night stay was really very pleasant and comfortable. Easy access and close to everything. The deck surrounded by large trees and birds was a really special experience. Lesley, our host was particularly good to us and we certainly would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara G
Response from LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree HouseResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for your review Barbara. Hope to see you again :)

Reviewed 5 days ago

We need small fridge in the rooms, tea coffee in the rooms. Microwave to be easily accessible. But the place is nice. Some off us don't like animals so it will be nice if they maybe take away from our place. To have a brand...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thembekilem2018
Response from LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree HouseResponded 4 days ago

Hi Thembe, thanks for your review. There is tea and coffee available in the communal area which is just a few steps away from the rooms. The microwave is easily accessible in the kitchen. I realise some people don't like animals but just for the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Simple, elegant, clean, and a great location if you need to do some work around Umhlanga or at the Ridge, or just want to relax for holiday. Beds and pillows were super-comfortable. Views are good. Lovely atomosphere. I just loved the place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 321ashtonf
Response from LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree HouseResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you SO much for your lovely review. Can't tell you how happy it makes me to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do try hard, so it's really good to get positive feedback :)

Reviewed 20 November 2017

It was a lovely setting, peaceful the owner was always available and on hand. Really hands on and great. The suite was comfortable and clean. Would have liked a better view of the sea but had a lovely garden with pool to look at.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lizbV7592IZ
Response from LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree HouseResponded 25 November 2017

Thanks for your lovely review Liz. Next time we'll make sure to book you into a room with a better sea view :)

Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed over for one evening. We had everything we needed and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was disappointing. We will not visit again as I feel I can get better value for my money.More

Thank Henriette v
Response from LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree HouseResponded 25 November 2017

So sorry to hear you were disappointed with the breakfast. I am so surprised because we do receive a lot of compliments about our breakfasts. I can't remember what you had for breakfast or if you requested something we didn't offer. But for the sake...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345624
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Pool
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Details
Price range
USD 66 - USD 90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
USD 66 - USD 90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (10)
Pool & Beach (3)
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Bathroom (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Umbrella Tree House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Choose the room with ocean views. They have a little balcony with chairs n a little table just to watch, for..."
Read review
"Sea view rooms are great."
Read review
"Rooms 1 and 3"
Read review
"The room we had was separate from the house . This was nice as there is a kitchen/lounge for your use."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite