We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Garden Court Umhlanga

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Garden Court Umhlanga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

524 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Garden Court Umhlanga
See the most recent reviews
Showing 517: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Once again an excellent stay, this property is far more than its 'Garden Court' branding and deserves as such. Had an issue or 2 with the aircon, which blew at arctic temps constantly, but otherwise fine. I was as sick as a dog all weekend but the hotel staff were really helpful by bringing me food to my room, even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CraigEdmondson
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear CraigEdmondson, Thank you very much for sharing the details of your experience with us after your recent stay at the Garden Court Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks. We do appreciate your feedback and value your supprt. I am glad to see that your stay went well and that our service brigade were aware and responsive to your requirements and circumstances....

Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I've now stayed in several Southern Sun hotels and they have all provided a very good standard of service. Being a 'chain' you know what you are going to get and Garden Court was no exception. The staff are unfailingly courteous and efficient. The breakfasts are excellent, a very good range of high quality food choices. We never had lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorien6
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Lorien6, Thank you very much for passing your feedback on to us via the tripadvisor website after your recent stay at the Garden Court in Umhlanga Rocks. We do appreciate your participation in this process and value your custom. I am happy to see that you have found our hotel and location to suitable and convenient to your requirements....

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The Garden Court is my preferred place to stay in Mhlanga, mainly due to its favorable location to restaurants and obviously the Gateway shopping centre. The hotel offers both comfort and value for money and the staff are exceptionally friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Kevin B, Thank you for passing your thoughts on to us via the tripadvisor website after your recent visit to the Umhlanga Garden Court Hotel. We do welcome your feedback and value your patronage. I am happy to see that you found our hotel to be suitable and convenient to your requirements. Should I be able to be of...

Polokwane, South Africa
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The hotel location is very good and close to most attractive things. The rooms are very clean and always maintained clean at all times. Staff service was good but still needs improvement at the reception desk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 521livhuwanim
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear 521livhuwanim, Thank you for posting your asessment on the tripadvisor website after your recent stay at the Garden Court in Umhlanga Rocks. We do value your custom and appreciate your feedback. I will follow up your comments with the reception desk. This remains a vital service in any hotel and we certainly do appreciate and recognise this. I do...

Ntabankulu
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Garden court puts their customer satisfaction as their main priority. The hotel staff and services are offering top satisfaction on ones' stay. It is very warm to stay with you. Keep it up Garden Court.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tembelam2016
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear tembelam206, Thank you for posting your satisfaction rating on the tripadvisor website after your recent stay at the Garden Court Umhlanga. We welcome your feedback and value your vote of confidence and support. I am happy to see that your stay went well and that our property lived up to your requirements and expectations. We hope to see you...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Overall experience was excellent. Especially the lady who checked me in. Bless me, I forgot her name. I've stayed in at the property a number of times. The location is excellent. The service is always great. The staff very friendly. I loved the rook I stayed in this time, Room 417. Would love to stay there again. it was slightly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 582siyandam
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear 582siyandam, Thank you very much for passing your feedback on to us after your recent stay at the Garden Court in Umhlanga Rocks. We do appreciate your feedback and value your custom. I am happy to see that your stay went well and that you found our hotel and facilites to be suitable to your requirements. Should I be...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We enjoyed the stay in your hotel but we missed the 24hrs room service a lot. the only time we did use the room service we waited almost a hour and a half for our cappuccinos because the staff were attending to the all blacks. we are also guests. the 2nd night we were to late for room service so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacomina2015
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear jacomnia2015, Thank you very much for posting your feedback on the tripadvisor website after your recent stay at the Garden Court in Umhlanga Rocks. We do welcome your feedback and value your patronage. We do acknowledge and respect your individuality as a guest and the presence of any sports teams or other clients should not not in anyway infringe...

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Suprised that this hotel is rated 3 stars. Rooms are very clean and modern with nice views. Hotel is near the beach and gateway shopping mall. Breakfast is good however needs more halaal options. Staff at reception and breakfast need to be more friendly and helpful when checking in. Good value for money and would definitely keep on coming back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld117
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Joburg17, Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts on the tripadvisor website after your recent stay at the Garden Court in Umhlanga Rocks. We do welcome your feedback and value your patronage. I am happy to see that you found our hotel to be suitable to your requirements and that you had...

Port Shepstone, South Africa
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Waters in both the bar and breakfast restaurant were slow, unwilling and it seemed that they were doing us a big favour by serving us. The breakfast staff were almost non existent, never greeted or even smiled, one of whom was blatantly rude. Kids were running wild and screaming! We won't go back there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon & Peter H
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Sharon & Peter H, Thank you very much for using the tripadvisor website to share your thoughts with us after your recent stay at the Garden Court in Umhlanga Rocks. We do welcome your feedback. It is with regret that I note that you did not find our hotel to be to your liking and we do apologise for...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The rates would discourage sleeping over. The economic constraints. Better affordable deals. There should be options on whether to have breakfast or not, with no breakfast being at lower rates. I couldnt have dinner nor breakfast because I only arrived after 22:00 and checked out at about 05:15 the next day. I couldn't use my frequent guest points because I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank primrosem896
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear primrosem896, Thank you for posting your feedback on the tripadvisor website after your recent stay at the Garden Court in Umhlanga Rocks. We do value and welcome your feedback. Rates remain an ongoping issue and is a central and substantial part of our day to day business. I do regret that the rate and rate structure in this case...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
1.7 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
858 reviews
0.2 km away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Rid...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
281 reviews
0.4 km away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A contemporary interior design of fusing water features. The colours and textures of natural reed, sets the mood of the newly opened Garden Court uMhlanga. This hotel is ideally situated in uMhlanga Rocks. Within close proximity to the Gateway Shopping Centre and popular uMhlanga beaches. The hotel offers spacious guest areas with business and internet facilities to cater for business travelers.The hotel boasts a lush courtyard that offers guests a heated pool with a play-ledge for young children to enjoy. The gym facility on the 5th floor will ensure that health fanatics are also catered for. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Court Umhlanga

Address: 7 Aurora Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $147 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Court Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#6 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Garden Court Umhlanga staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Derby, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Garden Court Umhlanga staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are self-help ice making machines on the even number floors,ie. 2,4.”
 of 5 bubbles paulgI647WD, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Family room facing pool is great!”
 of 5 bubbles youbabyandi, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to book a non smoking room if required.”
 of 5 bubbles kevinbV6329HO, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a suite. You won't be sorry!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Alison_R_Travel_Mad, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room with a sea view on South side”
 of 5 bubbles 182sulimans, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay