We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Aha Royal Palm

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aha Royal Palm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 233: English reviews
Start your review of Aha Royal Palm
 Click to rate
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is in Umhlanga just opposite the Gateway shopping mall, the staff is friendly and always ready to assist.The rooms are neat and tidy with a lovely balcony to get some fresh air. Rooms are air conditioned which is good for the very hot weather .We had a lovely breakfast. Our checkout was just nice and quick. I did...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fundij
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are lovely, spacious and clean however breakfast quality is poor and service in the breakfast room is shocking. There is no manager around to manage the staff. The quality of the food is not good,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taniya S
AHARoyalPalm, Management at Aha Royal Palm, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointing breakfast experience. Our Executive Chef is working around the clock with the Service Line Personnel, introducing more quality in the food line. We are also putting strategies in place to improve Customer Service ethic. Professionals...

Johannesburg, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With bill settlement at check-in , does not leave options to change hotels . Breakfast service staff need an entire new attitude education......Entrance to hotel is not easy to find and not very impressive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynetteb590
AHARoyalPalm, Management at Aha Royal Palm, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies, we appreciate your comments and are so disappointed to hear of your negative experience with us. We are so aware of the service energy and its non-existence at breakfast. We assure you that we are currently doing everything in our power to regain it, and...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well located to get on and do what needs to be done when working or shopping around Umhlanga. I would be disappointed to holiday in this hotel. But for business it's ideal and well situated. The rooms are clean, well sized and very comfy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
AHARoyalPalm, Management at Aha Royal Palm, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. We are concerned to hear of you not wishing to stay with us in Holiday Season, may we request that you ascertain some reasons for this. We do hope to...

Midrand, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I expected more from this hotel as I consciously chose to pay more for it compared to its counterpart, Urban Park which is slightly cheaper. Positives: - staff was helpful in storing our bags before checking in since we had an early flight from JHB - big spacious rooms - walking distance from Gateway Mall Negatives: - Upon entering the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avikaar
AHARoyalPalm, Management at Aha Royal Palm, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointing experience. We appreciate your comments and are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We assure you that we take your comments seriously and our management teams are addressing these issues accordingly and putting...

Dubai
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had one night stay at this hotel. The room was specious and clean. Complimentary water and tea / coffee ware available in the room. We left quite early and could not eat the breakfast. The staff was cooperative and friendly. Overall a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gdbhinge
AHARoyalPalm, Management at Aha Royal Palm, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are so glad that you had a good stay with us. We are sorry that you were unable to attend breakfast, hopefully you will be able to enjoy this on your next stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to...

Nigel, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Keep up the good and friendly service. I must thank the staff to allow us after the wedding function to dress up at a convenient place, for storage of luggage and helping us to load into our vehicle before departure.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nareshp211
AHARoyalPalm, Management at Aha Royal Palm, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was only our pleasure to assist you. We hope to be welcoming you back to the Royal Palm hotel in the near future. Yours in Hospitality, The Royal Palm Hotel Management Team

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

excellent service and no better location. The staff is friendly and always willing to assist. The rooms are beginning to look tired if you are a regular visitor to the hotel, but for a first time traveller to the hotel, it will hardly be noticed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stafforp
AHARoyalPalm, Management at Aha Royal Palm, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently underway with refurbishments at our hotel, which is due to be completed in March. We are sure that you will enjoy the newly refurbished room on your next stay...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful place to be. Easy access to the Getaway Shopping Mall. Me and my partner enjoyed every single day of our stay. I must that the staff was awesome. Not forgetting the breakfast "fantastic. Definitely booking the hotel again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanaka M
AHARoyalPalm, Management at Aha Royal Palm, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We certainly are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Palm Hotel in the near future. Safe travels and see you soon. Yours in Hospitality, The Royal Palm Hotel Management...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely experience at the Royal Palm Hotel Umhlanga. Our 2 bedroom apartment was more than big enough to accommodate us and our 3 young boys. With the added convenience of a fridge, microwave, and tea/coffee facilities, we were able to prepare snacks for the kids. Room service was really great and the food delicious....have to recommend the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry-Anne W
AHARoyalPalm, Management at Aha Royal Palm, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are so glad that you had a comfortable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Palm Hotel. Yours in Hospitality, The Royal Palm Hotel Management Team

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
240 reviews
0.2 km away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
268 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,608 reviews
1.8 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
936 reviews
0.4 km away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated just 20 minutes from King Shaka International Airport and in close proximity to the La Lucia Ridge office estates, the Umhlanga village and the Umhlanga beachfront, Aha Royal Palm is an ideal location for both business and recreational travel. The Aha Cities Royal Palm Hotel offers a selection of stylish accommodation, from junior suites to studio and 2 bedroom apartments, through to 2 and three bedroom penthouses. All rooms and suites feature numerous facilities and state of the art technology. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aha Royal Palm

Address: 08 Palm Boulevard | New Town Centre, Umhlanga Ridge, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Royal Palm)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $117 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aha Royal Palm 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Aha Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#7 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aha Royal Palm staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Aha Royal Palm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try not to stay any where close to the lifts, the hotel is very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles taniyas2014, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Telephone not close to bed. TV at an awkward location with no swivel functionality. Carpets needed cleaning. Nicely renovated bathroom though.”
 of 5 bubbles lynetteb590, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Corner suites were spacious”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Always ask for either a corner suite or one on the upper level.”
 of 5 bubbles 114winstonw, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The higher the floor the better”
 of 5 bubbles siphosethun2017, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5