We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Blue Marlin Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Blue Marlin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 144: English reviews
Durban
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I spent 3 nights at the Hotel this weekend and this is a absolute hidden gem. Sizwe at Check in was extremely friendly and helpful. He was attentive to every need we had. Great Service Sizwe. The Duty Manager Ashley Moodley was undoubtedly the best manager i have come across. His professionalism, attention to detail and friendliness was amazing. He... More 

Helpful?
Thank Predeshan S
Rustenburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Good place for a family to be thought the place is still being renovated there are some things which still need working on but it's a good place for a family an we were well accommodated in the hotel. .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Luckyone41
Management response:

Dear Luckyone41 Thanks for the good review. Hope to welcome you back. Renovations almost complete but no disruption to guests at all. More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I do not want to really comment on the rooms or the amenities of this establishment, but I have to comment on the absolutely fantastic customer service received. My stay was most enjoyable just because I was made to feel like the most important person at all time. Thank you so much Akshay Govender, Ashley Moodley and Ernest Maputi. Keep... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rowena N
Management response:

Thank you Rowena. I will pass your mentions to those who shone! More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing like a staff canteen buffet cause that's what it is except you are charged R200 per person. Buffet was very basic. Deserts were a choice of bread and butter pudding and they say a cheese cake. Service was excellent. There are far better buffet out there at much better prices.

Helpful?
Thank Garth M
Management response:

Dear Garth Whereas you are entitled to your own opinion, we feel your comment about our buffet to be unfair and insulting. The Blue Marlin enjoys a 4 star rating with one of our strong points being the quality of the food. We receive very few negative comments. We offer both Buffet and a la Carte for the dinner meal.... More 

West sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stayed here for 7 nights following a week’s safari at the lovely Lakeside Lodge. Seven Saga guests travelled together and the transfer was very well organised. The weather on arrival was not good and stayed that way for most of the week – no fault of the hotel or Saga. We were allocated a renovated ground floor room with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank phillm03
Management response:

Dear Phillm03 A real pity about the weather but it's great to know you enjoyed your time at the Blue Marlin. More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We stayed here for a 7 nights following a weeks safari. We were expecting a hotel of higher quality with modern facilities but were disappointed. The whole hotel appears to be going through a refurbishment and the rooms will benefit from this particularly if they are given balconies. These would be of particular benefit because the views from most rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
Management response:

Dear Stephen Thank you for your valued comments. It is disappointing to know that you did not rate the Blue Marlin high, but hopefully you will return once our refurb is complete. More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We had a family holiday and had a great time. The penthouse was beautiful and had everything we needed. The reception staff was awesome. Special thanks to our housekeeper Charity. The kids had a great time playing pool on the penthouse and kiddies play area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nompumelelom137
Management response:

Dear Nompumelelo The Penthouse really is a special spot to enjoy a break and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for reviewing the Blue Marlin. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The Blue Marlin sits on a slope and access to the beach is a few minutes away down a pathway and through a gate were you enter a code walk down a path cross the road and your on the beach.Its a blue flag beach and safe it has a lifeguard station and is very popular with families.The hotel has... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank ROBERT A
Management response:

Dear Robert Thanks for the good review. It's always leasing when guests enjoy their stay at the Blue Marlin and we hope to welcome you back one day. More 

UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I sometimes wonder if some reviewers have been to the same hotel as us :-) We stayed here from 27 September for a week, having spent the previous week at the Entabeni Game Reserve in Limpopo. Rooms were comfortable, if a bit characterless, with excellent views. The air conditioning worked fine. We could receive WiFi in our room, and I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank robertianrae
Management response:

Dear Robertianrae Thank you for your good review and honesty about the Blue Marlin. Hope you see you back in the near future. More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

we stayed at this hotel from the 27th sept - 4th oct whilst this hotel was clean and friendly i felt it wasn,t the type of hotel i expected for saga guest it was more of a family hotel and the dinning room was more like the school canteen it would have been nice if they had table cloths in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank meady
Management response:

Dear Meady Such a pity you did not find the Blue Marlin to your liking. Fortunately every SAGA guest who has stayed with us has rated the Blue Marlin high, so I am assuming it was a personal decision. More 

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottburgh
19.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
12.6 km away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
25.3 km away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Elysium
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Dugong Guest House
The Dugong Guest House
#1 of 3 in Scottburgh
33 reviews
2.3 km away
Four Palms Guest House
Four Palms Guest House
#1 of 5 in Scottburgh
7 reviews
26.0 km away
The View Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Hotel

Address: 180 Scott Street | PO Box 24, Scottburgh 4180, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Scottburgh
Price Range: $123 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Marlin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Blue Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Scottburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Marlin Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
8 months ago
worcs
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Marlin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with sea View.”
 of 5 bubbles PredeshanS, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Still being upgraded but it is a good place”
 of 5 bubbles Luckyone41, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor with a patio if you want a bit of outside space or are a smoker. Rooms 101-104 best for this.”
 of 5 bubbles phillm03, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have a view of the sea some side rooms have partial view.”
 of 5 bubbles G5029OIroberta, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in rooms with King size or twin beds, which seemed nicer than the family interleading rooms and had better views.”
 of 5 bubbles KarenERamsay, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay