We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blue Marlin Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Blue Marlin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 155: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have previously visited the Blue Marlin Hotel for Sunday lunch after a day at the beach. This is why we decided to book our December holiday here. We stayed in a Superior Family room over December / January. Our room was lovely, clean and modern. We were fortunate to have a ground floor room with a veranda overlooking the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmen197605
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Really enjoyed our time at Blue Marlin. Comfortable and relaxed in lovely surroundings. Excellent staff and colleagues all working to make us feel well looked after. The food was well prepared and the communal spaces - bar, terrace and gardens were uncrowned and delightful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rogerwoods22
Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

After frequenting this hotel for some 30 years, I doubt we will be back :-( Firstly, after booking our rooms in June ( 4 of them) asking for nice ones, being told in a mail by Sarika that they would be, we were given the worst rooms in the Hotel, Rooms 117 116 & 115, one of the rooms was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
Management response:

Dear Allison As I have already responded to your comments on the Centricity Forum I need to only to apologise again for your disappointing stay, caused not only by the hotel but by selfish guests who "pre-book" the pool lounges. We ignore it because the abuse one receives added to the negative post stay comments simply does not warrant the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After booking online, i called the hotel to confirm a family room, they then callled me back and confirmed a family room Terrible check in procedure, as i waited 15 minutes to be attended to No information was given on breakfast and dinner, then on the second day of my stay they advise that breakfast for kids will be charged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Younus c
Management response:

Mr Cassim This is the third forum you have used in an attempt to discredit the Blue Marlin. At no stage were you "ripped off' as you claim but advised to pay for your childrens meals. We do not advise guests checking in what the meal prices are neither are we obliged to. Also, at no stage was I asked...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our room was freshly painted. Linen was always clean and crisp. The carpet was a little old and some of the tiles were cracked. Excellent sea view, and the hotel is designed to provide all rooms excellent sea views. There are no balconies or interleading doors as we would have preferred. No air-conditioning as we had expected although the ceiling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donovan S
Management response:

Dear Donovan Thank you for the good review onthe Blue Marlin. We hope you welcome you back in the near future.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's only 2 stars because the coffee was decent. I made a reservation for lunch at 12h00 on Boxing Day, we arrived early so we decided to have a cup of coffee in the lounge while we waited. Thank goodness we did, because it saved us the hell that I'm sure lunch would have been. It was 45 minutes from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjennings2014
Management response:

Dear Ms Jennings What a shame you were subject to the busiest day we have ever experienced at the Blue Marlin as the service you received is certainly not out normal standard. Please accept our sincere apologies and we trust the incident will not detere you from returnng.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed over at the Blue Marlin in Scotborough Fantastic location although very noisy(avoid ground floor near the restaurant Great and very helpful staff Was disappointed with the rate doubled over the festive season Feel it is a rip off R2500 /night for a 20m2 unit Dinner and breakfast very limited for vegetarians or those not eating meat

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Collin I
Management response:

Dear Collin I Thank you for choosing the Blue Marlin for your 2 nights stay. We must advise that the room rate is in no way linked to the square meterage of the room because it is irrelevant. I wonder how you would compare an International Flight using this formula! Wishing you a happy holiday further

Roodepoort
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our short week end stay at the hotel. Our room was spacious and there was ample hanging space for clothes. Our room overlooked the hotel garden, the beach and the sea. The cleaners were good and the room was always tidied when it suited us. In the mornings we would first go for a run through the streets...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgetZ6721NR
Management response:

Dear GeorgetZ It was great having you stay with us.Hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

We visit every year! Fantastic value for money and can't wait for March 2017. The food is very good and fantastic staff. Can't do enough for their guests. Airport pickup is available but we prefer to hire a car. Ample parking at the hotel. Nightly entertainment - free and daily tours are available at a small fee and well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sezela41
Management response:

Dear Sezela We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Hope to have you back again soon.

Scotland
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We picked this hotel for a rest after a busy week on Safari. The hotel is clean and tidy and the food is good. There was work continuing at the hotel as the refurb was taking longer than it should due to weather causing a hold up. The hotel is above the beach and receives a large amount of wind....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scotlandsgreyhair
Management response:

Dear Scotlandsgreyhair! Thanks for your response. I am please to advise that the renovations have been complete.

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottburgh
12.6 km away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
19.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
24.6 km away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Elysium
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
The View Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
The Dugong Guest House
The Dugong Guest House
#1 of 3 in Scottburgh
35 reviews
2.3 km away
Four Palms Guest House
Four Palms Guest House
#1 of 5 in Scottburgh
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Hotel

Address: 180 Scott Street | PO Box 24, Scottburgh 4180, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Scottburgh
Price Range: $123 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Marlin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Scottburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Marlin Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Exeter, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
10 months ago
worcs
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Marlin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They never listen anyway”
 of 5 bubbles AlisonS435, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles Scotlandsgreyhair, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room with sea View.”
 of 5 bubbles PredeshanS, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Still being upgraded but it is a good place”
 of 5 bubbles Luckyone41, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor with a patio if you want a bit of outside space or are a smoker. Rooms 101-104 best for this.”
 of 5 bubbles phillm03, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay