We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ascot Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ascot Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ascot Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 85: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2017

The cleaners need to be jacked up a bit, they did not clean the microwave for 2 days, the bin was not emptied out on 1 of the days, when I came back into the room, its was smelling. It was a hot day and that was not a good thing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leverneb2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Very friendly staff, the restaurant was convenient, they served an average supper but great breakfast. The pool and garden is beautiful. The bedroom had a big screen TV which was great but the linen was cheap and the mattress was uncomfortable and left me feeling like I didn't get value for money. The room smelt bad and their single ply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timeawayadvisor
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Rooms are very clean, spacious and quaint. Very safe environment for children with lots of space for play and socializing. The staff are of top quality and very friendly. Great access from main roads. We'll definitely be back for another visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonet d
Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 28 December 2016

From arrival to departure we were treated like at home away from home. We also enjoyed the entertainment area, braai and party at the pool area. A destination not to be ever missed when you on holiday. Thank You Ascot Team!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ayobn993
Durban
Reviewed 20 December 2016

pretty surrounds, comfy bar area to relax in. good value breakfast. rooms small but adequate for quick stays. Clean and with all the necessaries. great hospitality at reception. would definitely visit again if overnighting in area. conveniently close to highway, although need to meander alongside river after turn off for a little bit

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janef338
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 December 2016

I find Ascot Inn the best value for money around town. Staff are friendly and helpful, units are always clean and the beds are comfortable. It is not a five star experience but certainly worth our rands, so we know what to expect. I have stayed solo, with my wife and extended family and all stays were pleasant. Location is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoelRamdiyal
Johannesburg
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Clean service, nice rooms, quiet, the best barman Adrian make the stay excellent. The food is also delicious. Recommended for everybody who visits Pietermaritzburg. Just 5km away from the airport. The best place!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank edsonjoaoorlandob
Mary-Ann N, Owner at Ascot Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this response. It is very encouraging to know guests are happy with the service we provide.

Capetown
Reviewed 8 December 2016

The breakfast buffet was great but the supper buffet was average and the apple crumble was awful. Room 29 was spacious and we loved the big screen tv but the bed was uncomfortable and the linen was cheap crap. The room was stuffy and smelt terrible cos people smoke in it despite there being 2 no smoking signs, it would...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank irenet952
Mary-Ann N, Owner at Ascot Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and giving us the opportunity to look at the areas you were unhappy with. All of our rooms are non smoking. Every one has a smoking area outside each room. When guests smoke, even though we have non smoking signs in every room, it makes our task of getting rid of the smoke smell very...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We as a couple came to the Inn for a wedding, and had the time of our lives, we were not aware that the wedding was going to take place at the Inn and was genuinely surprised. If anyone is getting married in and around the area, we would recommend the Ascot Inn for both the ceremony the photos and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandramN7285QF
Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We had a one night stay. The room is small but comfortable for a one night stay. The Inn itself is lovely with pretty gardens. Staff is extremely nice and helpful. Such good service. I would stay longer next time in a bigger suite.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lezel O

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pietermaritzburg hotels
1.6 km away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
12 reviews
12.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#2 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
221 reviews
2.9 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#5 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
#4 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
115 reviews
7.3 km away
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 62 in Pietermaritzburg
183 reviews
1.8 km away
Tancredi B&B
Tancredi B&B
#1 of 62 in Pietermaritzburg
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ascot Inn is your perfect home-from-home whilst visiting Pietermaritzburg. You'll receive a warm welcome backed by friendly and efficient service and comfortable accommodation. Ascot Inn's charming rooms are converted racehorse stables, which,in their day stabled legendary racehorses competing at the neighbouring Scottsville Race Course. These units boast upmarket facilities-all en-suite, hot & cold airconditioning, secure parking as well as 14 DSTV Channels.All units are nestled in landscaped gardens, which have "nooks and crannies" to explore. Relax and unwind in the "Gallop Inn Pub and Grill" where breakfast and dinner is served daily. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ascot Inn

Address: 210 Woodhouse Road, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Price Range: $49 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Ascot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Pietermaritzburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ascot Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ascot Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ascot offers rooms even for the disabled. All rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles abbym629, 8 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Choose a room closer to the reception, those on edge of premises are closer to the highway noises.”
 of 5 bubbles LMS1122_10, 17 Jun 2012 | Read review
“Note: Rooms vary in size and price”
 of 5 bubbles LenOCapeTown, 12 May 2012 | Read review
3 of 3