We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Albatros Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Albatros Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband, sisters and I were kindly requested to move to an apartment in the Lagoon since we were double-booked with another couple. This was the best early Christmas that anyone could ever receive. We had the time of our lives, the only thing that was missing in the apartment was us. The short walk to the beach was AMAZING....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nombuso K
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Nombuso, thank you for staying in our Self catering unit and taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay and breakfast you had at the Guest House. The unit location is ideal for walking to the beach and restaurants. We do look forward welcoming you back. Best wishes, Andre, Bessie and Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Albatros is a gem in the heart of Margate, with a warm and professional welcome the Albatros blew us away with its beauty and peaceful setting. Our room was big and comfortably spasious with plenty of cupboards and cleaned and restocked after returning from a day out. The buffet style breakfast is enough for even the biggest appetite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anton P
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Anton, Thank you very much for providing us with such valuable feedback. we are glad to know you had such a wonderful experience with us and enjoyed our buffet style breakfast. Please remember you are always welcome here and we do look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Andre , Bessie and Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had tickets for the zipline at Oribi gorge and looked for a place where we can stay close by on the coast. So glad we found Albatros Guest House! It was lovely! We had a wonderful stay! Our room had a nice big veranda with a view and the service and breakfast was excellent. The hosts treated us like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ninnette D
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Ninnette, We are very happy that you had a enjoyable stay with us and also our breakfast and view from your unit. We are always happy to hear our guests enjoyed what we offered. it was only a pleasure to do "Breakfast packs" for you. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Andre, Bessie and...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a beautiful scenic view. Not only was the scene a sight but the host and hostess Bessie and Andre were a real pleasure . Our room was absolutely lovely with a beautiful sea view which we absolutely enjoyed watching despite it being a rainy weekend Rooms were absolutely clean and the breakfasts were divine Thank you for hosting us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pamelamoonsamy
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Pamela, I have respond to your mail earlier today. TripAdvisor will forward you my reply. Many thanks Andre, Bessie and Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place is amazingly beautiful what you see on their website its what you get. The owners are great with every and have excellent customer service. Our room was big, neat and clean, we had an amazing sea view, pity we did not enjoy the pool because of the rain. We will definitely be coming back next year. Ohh and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank refiloemetlhape
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. We are glad to know you had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed my breakfast. Hope you will be able to enjoy the pool next time and looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards Andre, Bessie and Team

Durban
Reviewed 31 October 2016

A big thank you to Bessie for her wonderful hospitality during our weekend stay at the Albatros Guest House. Our room was lovely with the most wonderful view. Breakfast was amazing. We would highly recommend this guest house to anyone looking for a relaxed vacation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenna_lee_pitman
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Jenna Lee, thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am very delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The view from our rooms are all fantastic. We also glad you enjoyed our breakfast . We look forward welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Andre, Bessie and Team

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 October 2016

As my stay was unplanned we were not sure what to expect. However, the owners were really nice people. We took a sea facing room which was awesome. The bedding was not to my taste but it was clean. The shower did not work too well and the water drainage was very slow. The ambiance of the place was great....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valda S
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Valda, thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your visit here at Albatros Guest House. We are excited because you arrived unplanned and enjoyed what we had to offer. It is a pitty that you did not mentioned your problem with the shower, it would have been attended to immediately., We wish you many...

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Great sea view. Very relaxing atmosphere and the staff were kind enough to prepare a delicious meat-free breakfast separately given our halal food needs. Very warm and welcoming hosts. Safe secure parking. Walking distance from the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ebi M
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Ebi, Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased that we could live up to your expectation and take care of your special request for your Halal Breakfast. We are always in search of excellence and will make sure to share your compliments with the TEAM. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Andre,...

KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Albatros Guesthouse- our 2nd stay there and we will definitely go back. The hospitality is exceptional and the venue just perfect. The rooms are spacious and very clean and elegantly decorated. There is always a warm welcome awaiting you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrinishaJ
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Trinisha, Thank you for staying with us again and posting such a great review for us on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you had your second stay with us and still enjoyed our hospitality. We wish you many more safe travels and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards Andre, Bessie and Team

Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 2 August 2016

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Our room had the best view and we spotted some whales in the ocean. Unfortunately the room was not what we expected. The bed was uncomfortable, the TV was very old and made a horrible noise. The towels provided had holes in them. Not what we expected for a 4 star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JacquesvanAswegen
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Jacques, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are glad to see you have enjoyed our view and breakfast. We are on the premises 24 hours a day and regard inconvenience to any of our guests as a very serious matter and assures you that it would have been dealt...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
10.9 km away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
23.6 km away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
236 reviews
27.4 km away
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
#2 of 4 in Port Edward
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Beachcomber Bay
Beachcomber Bay
#3 of 22 in Margate
111 reviews
0.7 km away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
69 reviews
0.2 km away
The Homestead Margate
The Homestead Margate
#1 of 22 in Margate
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the sunny South Coast of KwaZulu Natal, Margate is one of the prime holiday destinations in South Africa. The Albatros Guest House & Golf Tours. Situated within walking distance of the beach & bustling village, while at the same time in the middle of the notorious 'Golf Coast'. From the pool deck or your own private balcony, you have an expansive 180° sea view, where you can relax and watch whales & dolphins which abound during the natural phenomenon of the annual sardine run, 'the greatest shoal on earth'. Each of our luxury air-conditioned rooms has a full en-suite or private bathroom (shower & bath), TV, tea & coffee, and balcony with sea view. Breakfast is enjoyed on the deck in the mornings - a great way to start the day. Children over 12 years are welcome. Other facilities include a sauna, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, bar, pool table and undercover braai (barbecue) area. If lazing around the pool is not for you, there is plenty to keep you busy during your stay with us. Sandy beaches stretch for miles along the coast of the warm Indian ocean, which offers a variety of activities including safe, protected swimming, surfing, or scuba diving with the sharks at Protea Banks and Aliwal Shoal. Whale & dolphin watching boat trips, angling and deep sea fishing trips are also very popular. For the avid golfer, the area boasts 6 of South Africa's top 100 golf courses according to the Complete Golfer Rankings, which are guaranteed to test your skills & astound you with their scenery.For the nature lover or adrenalin junkie, extreme adventures at the spectacular white river rafting - in season. There are a host of restaurants & pubs, where you can enjoy a quick bite to eat or a leisurely evening meal. A visit to a crocodile farm, a flip in a microlite, gambling at the Wild Coast Casino, arts & crafts, horse riding we have it all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Albatros Guest House

Address: 20 Homestead Road, Margate 4285, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate
Price Range: $51 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albatros Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Albatros Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Albatros Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for honeymoon suite, you'll be pleasantly surprised.”
 of 5 bubbles 593antonp, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best views”
 of 5 bubbles refiloemetlhape, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 9,10,11 are sea facing. It was quiet as children are not there”
 of 5 bubbles ValdaS_13, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Those with sea facing view are the best”
 of 5 bubbles TrinishaJ, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The higher your room the better the view.”
 of 5 bubbles JacquesvanAswegen, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5