We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sand Forest Lodge

Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sand Forest Lodge is situated on a nature reserve on the edge of an ancient sand forest and lays 1.5Km west of False Bay Park - part of the greater St Lucia Wetlands Park. The Lodge is a 20 minutes from the Hluhluwe Umfolozi Game Reserve. Sand Forest Lodge is an ideal base in close proximity to many local attractions including St Lucia, Kosi Bay and Sodwana Bay. Chalets are fully equipped and serviced daily; all you need to bring is your food, drinks, drinking water, and toiletries. We have mosquito nets, overhead fans and air-conditioning. We have 2 rustic, wooden bungalows that have double beds, overhead fans, mosquito nets, mini kitchens, private deck and barbeque facility. The bungalows DO NOT have air-con or en-suite shower/toilet facilities and share ablutions with the campsite. There are 4 camp/caravan sites situated on the edge of the forest, each have electrical points and private barbeques. Ablutions are shared with the bungalows.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Laundry Service
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
93Reviews
17Photos
0Q+A
6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 42
  • 9
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had a lovely family holiday here! So peaceful! And the bird life was incredible! The owners were very friendly and helpful. We were disappointed that the swimming pool was closed due to the drought.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
We overnighted at Sand Forest Lodge en route to another lodge in Hluhluwe.... We were saddened at how little time we had at Sand Forest and will extend our stay next time to rather stay at Sand Forest Lodge. The friendly welcome of all the Danes was the perfect start to our
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Cary BA L, Owner at Sand Forest Lodge
Responded 5 Jan. 2019
Thank you so much for staying with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.
Read more
Having stayed here 5 years ago for Christmas, we decided to do the same this year. Unfortunately the state of the economy is more than evident at the lodge. The aircons are falling apart, the pool is half full of rain water and hasnt been operational for about two to three
Read more
Response from Cary BA L, Owner at Sand Forest Lodge
Responded 5 Jan. 2019
Dear Kyle We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. On the info list, which was sent to you with your booking we state NO swimming pool and that water must be conserved at all times this is due to the very severe drought that has been ongoing in Zululand for many years. The whole country has been affected as you know. The 'Restaurant' and pool have been closed in excess of four years. We respect that you will not be visiting again and are sorry to lose your support. Kind regards
Read more
We recently spent two nights at Sand Forest Lodge with the sole purpose to bird watch. We were warmly greeted but not only Godfrey, but also their friendly dogs. I was suprised to see dogs on a property so well know for birdwatching but they were so well behaved and did not
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Cary BA L, Front Office Manager at Sand Forest Lodge
Responded 7 Nov. 2018
Thank you for staying at Sand Forest Lodge, we are greatful for your review and look forward to your return.
Read more
Had a lovely weekend at Sand Forest Lodge. Very peaceful and tranquil. The trees there are just breath taking! The Lang couple make you feel right at home as you arrive. Our chalet was lovely and very spacious.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Cary BA L, Front Office Manager at Sand Forest Lodge
Responded 25 Oct. 2018
Natalie, thank you for staying with us, we hope you come and stay again.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & Beach
Photo provided by managementSand Forest Lodge
Sunbird
A spotted dikkop in the garden, hoping not to be seen
Photo provided by managementSand Forest Lodge
Sunset
Photo provided by managementSand Forest Lodge
Flatcrown Bungalow
Photo provided by managementSand Forest Lodge
Kingfisher
PreviousNext
12
"Go somewhere else"
"Have your own tea/coffee/milk/sugar at hand if you just staying overnight as there is no catering provided"
"Take your pick, they were all great ( we took up the whole place)"
"Any of the rooms have a wonderful view of the open spaces beyond."
"We loved Falcon! Such a lovely 'stoep' and very comfortable and spacious cottage! Good for a couple! Just bring your own wood (or can be bought in Hluhluwe). Supplies can be bought at local supermarket in Hluluwe."
PreviousNext
12
PRICE RANGE
USD 58 - USD 108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalZululandHluhluwe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing