We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wildebees Ecolodge

Booking.comUSD 59*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 63*
USD 59*
Great Deal
USD 63*
USD 62*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Wildebees Ecolodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 103: English reviews
Start your review of Wildebees Ecolodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food price was not reflective of what we received. We complained and it was dealt with however it could have been done better. The rooms were also crammed together, no feeling of privacy. It was an awkward experience all round.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niamh W
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Although our room was upgraded, which was super, getting into the property was difficult as no-one answered the gate. Our room was fairly clean but the mosquito neat could not close properly. After being told we had until four o'clock to order dinner, we were then told that they were not serving dinner at all! The resort needs a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 56Geraldine79
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We spent 3 nights in late December 2016. When we booked 2 months before we were told that there was no need to book for activities in advance. When we arrived we were told that most activities were booked....We were thus very disappointed to miss the turtles watching. For one of the few activities left we were charged R1300 for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdessus
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Friendly and helpful reception. The rooms are clean and well serviced daily. The menu at the restaurant is limited but the meals on offer are tasty and the bar is reasonably stocked and priced. Great weekend getaway lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregory L
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 14 December 2016

This was my third time to this simple but lovely little hideaway near False Bay and the Hluhluwe Game Park. Tiny rustic little cottages with a nearby restaurant and bar and pool. It is hidden in the trees with lush vegetation and the sound of birds and nature everywhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Africatvl
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Wonderful place! Trees and nature is all around. Close to the national parc. Close to St Lucia for a day trip. But also a nice remote and quiet place to relax. And they offer horse safaris! The eco lodge is magical, a really special and friendly place!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M M
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 April 2016

unfortunately even trip advisor can be abused. this place is run down, filthy, overpriced for what is on offer, and even at a very cheap price i would recommend find a place where you get what you pay for. we did not, would never return here and our departure didn't come soon enough. its such a pity that trip advisor...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 508jeremyz
WildebeesEcolodge, Owner at Wildebees Ecolodge, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy, I am as disgusted reading your personal opinion and experience and finding out that we did not meet your expectations, I do sincerely apologise. Unfortunately we were not informed of your experience when you were here, it would have given us the opportunity to rectify the problem. I do not understand why you would comment that 'tripadvisor can...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

Nice and peaceful. Lady staff in charge, very helpful. Food ok. But accommodation and bar area, old and tacty. Look around, Google the are much better places to stay. Xctbuijyrsghycbuiiojvrgvjoiybnjkutdcasbjueghkpkbygxznjyrsguuhdwehjjykolbzryjkn

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J-P00071234
WildebeesEcolodge, Owner at Wildebees Ecolodge, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed the environment and helpfulness of our staff. I'm not sure which room you have stayed in but I must mention that we are currently in the process of upgrading our rooms. I assume you have stayed in a room that had not been upgraded as yet. It is certainly not the standard we like...

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 16 March 2016

This is an adorable African eco lodge situated in a jungley area outside of Hluhluwe. They offer small rustic cottages, a pool, a bar, and lovely little dining area. It is very close to Hluhluwe Game Reserve for those interested in staying outside of the park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Africatvl
Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Nice to find flowers in the house we stayed in. Girl at reception very friendly and the diner was very good. Limited choice but the food tasted very good. One of the best meals we had during out three weeks trip.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 75elendan

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
7.7 km away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
12.6 km away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
0.0 km away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#11 of 32 in Hluhluwe
144 reviews
11.6 km away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 32 in Hluhluwe
300 reviews
6.2 km away
Zululand Safari Lodge
Zululand Safari Lodge
#10 of 32 in Hluhluwe
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a lush tropical garden, Wildebees ecolodge offers cottage accommodation and a lagoon-style pool framed by palm shrubs. Wildebees is part of the UNESCO-protected Greater iSimangaliso Wetlands Park. Wildebees Ecolodge features an outdoor restaurant with a charming bonfire. Guests can enjoy local and international cuisine under the stars, while enjoying the sounds of the African bush. The lodge also offers a garden lounge bar, and a barbecue area to prepare a traditional South African braai. Before heading out to explore the region, guests can request a packed lunch. The thatched accommodation of the Ecolodge is surrounded by large trees and flowering shrubs. It is decorated in rustic style, with wooden furniture and mosquito nets. We are proud to offer you the difference, this is not only noticed by our personal service, relaxed atmosphere and value for money accommodation, but it also includes our measures to conserve the environment and sustain the well-being of local people with our ecolabel projects. Wildebees ecolodge is owner managed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wildebees Ecolodge

Address: False Bay Road C20 (D540), Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Price Range: $66 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildebees Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wildebees Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebees Ecolodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wildebees Ecolodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms we saw were about the same age, size and its a quiet, very quiet place”
JimW14, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
“We had chalet 10 (with double bed and full bathroom), coffee/tea facilities and lovely outside seating area and chalet 6 (twin bedroom with shower en suite). Can recommend both these rooms.”
372janet, 25 Sep 2012 | Read review
“We had no 4 and that was next to the community kitchen and close enough to the Dining and Bar areas. We had no complaints.”
EstelleRussell, 25 Jun 2012 | Read review
“If you are coming with a fam, ask for lodge nr 15.”
Blubd, 6 May 2012 | Read review
“Second floor in the family room is perfect for children.”
BurkiThai, 12 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 59* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 63
Expedia.comUSD 62
Orbitz.comUSD 62
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates