We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fever Tree Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Fever Tree Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
Start your review of The Fever Tree Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 7 March 2017

The quality of this accommodation is good, a nice bed, clean and tidy bathroom and contains a small kitchen cabinet and fridge. Is it very close to the Hluhlluwe park (15 min drive). What makes this accommodation amazing are the hosts! First of all, they provide a great and very large breakfast (also take-away is possible if you want to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanne T
Tracey C, Owner at The Fever Tree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Sanne I hope you are feeling a lot better. Thank you for the lovely review. Sincerely Tracey

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Stayed at the guest house with my family and parents for a weekend and attention to detail was lacking. 
Granted that we arrived before check-in time, the owner (Tracey) let us go to our rooms trusting that they had been cleaned and tidied, unfortunately we found dirty towels in our bathroom which begs the question whether it had been cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie N
Tracey C, Owner at The Fever Tree Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Where can I send the bill for the tap you broke? Tracey

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

The property is very big since they recently bought the house next to it to add to there business. A work in progress witch everything is in life I guess. In the future the house will be more or less self sufficient and (almost) everything you'll get on your plate will be homegrown. How cool! The two dogs are the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boet K
Tracey C, Owner at The Fever Tree Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Please come visit again when the work next door is finished. Tracey

County Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 9 February 2017

As you can tell from the title we found this Guest House on Airbnb and we were so happy that we did. We were on a road trip going from Limpopo to Durban but wanted to make a few stops along the way so we stayed at Hluhluwe one evening and we were only upset we didnt book for longer....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
Tracey C, Owner at The Fever Tree Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was a pleasure hosting you. Hopefully we will see you again in the future Tracey

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Tracy and Alex are the perfect hosts catering to each request. Their room was very comfortable with lots of hot water for the shower. I have stayed there before and it is my favourite guest house near the Hluhluwe Game Reserve. I will be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank melodyv453
Saint-Pierre, Reunion Island
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We booked 2 rooms, they were simple but clean except the hair in the bathroom and the bottom of the toilet very dirty ... we did not like the breakfast: my husband wanted an omelette and me scrambled eggs, Tracey told us that it was not possible, everyone had to eat the same, unacceptable! We never heard this in another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nadia P
Tracey C, Owner at The Fever Tree Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 11 December 2016

A very friendly and accomodating owner greeted us and took us to the cottage. It had ample room for everyone and the beds were very comfortable. The best value for money around! The cottage is very close to safari rides to Hluhluwe Park which is very convenient, as well as a shop and butchery. We had an amazing stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joselyn261
Tracey C, Owner at The Fever Tree Guest House, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am looking forward to host your family again sometime in the future. I am sure you will appreciate the improvements we are busy with. All the best Tracey

Manzini, Swaziland
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I must confess not to be a guest house person. I stayed at the Fever Tree Guest House upon finding the Protea Hotel up the hill full. I was ushered to a room upstairs. I found it large with a wide west facing balcony and I took the sunset views with respect and humility - soothing. The bed is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sabelo d
Tracey C, Owner at The Fever Tree Guest House, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your colleague had issues with the bread. Such a pity that you did not bring it to my attention. I cannot fix things or prevent them from happening again if I do not know about them at the time of occurrence. Our big upstairs room is always a favourite! I am glad you enjoyed it....

Reviewed 6 September 2016

The hosts Tracey and Alec were the most caring people imaginable with great stories and wonderful sense of humour. They made us feel very welcomed and gave us lots of tips about what to do and where to go. The food was great and wifi was available without any extra cost. Whenever our rooms lacked something or we had any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon N
Tracey C, Owner at The Fever Tree Guest House, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure hosting you. Thank you for the pictures of the night sky. Sincerely Tracey

Hluhluwe, South Africa
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Great and very need place you have excellent service and top class rooms and safe environment lays in a very peaceful inviroment in Hluhluwe close to all what you need The Host Tracy is excellent and have all info you need

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
Tracey C, Owner at The Fever Tree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Dave Your comments are much appreciated. Sincerely Tracey

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have 4 self-catering suites and 1 bed and breakfast. However, we can do bed and breakfast across all suites. Additional meals are available on request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fever Tree Guest House

Address: 297 Koedoe Street, Hluhluwe 3950, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Price Range: $74 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fever Tree Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Fever Tree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fever Tree Guest House Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fever Tree Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the upstairs room without doubt”
sabel0d, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Whichever room you choose, you will probably be satisfied. If you need a WiFi, yes it exists and it's free, but to find a good signal you may need to go outside the room (garden veranda welcomes).”
JaroWaw, 2 Mar 2015 | Read review
“The Kudo Suite was a very nice room!”
annagU7548YC, 7 Jan 2015 | Read review
3 of 3