We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Emdoneni Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Emdoneni Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Emdoneni Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 209: English reviews
Vaughan, Canada
Reviewed 3 December 2015

The Emdoneni Lodge is located near the game reserve. It is relatively small but has very pleasant rooms and good facilities. The staff are terrific, in fact at dinner the staff disappeared for a moment and then returned to serande us with wonderful African music - it was incredible. The food at the Lodge was excellent - lots of choice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan S
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to do this review for us. We love what we do and it is always nice to hear that our guests had a good experience. Warm regards owners

Reviewed 2 November 2015

This lodge was very unique, the rooms were very quaint and decorated in African decor, although there were no phones or TV in the rooms it was great to spend time around the firepit or on your patio.We also took a safari to the game reserve and seen the big 5.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gowithcourage
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Gear Guests Lovely review - thank you! Warm regards Owners

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Stayed here two nights with a tour group. Our room was beautiful, spacious and clean. Lovely early morning walks yielded encounters with zebras, monkeys and a few other friends. The highlight, of course, was visiting with the cats. Loved learning about them and having the opportunity to get up close and even pet a few was amazing! The staff at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gloria253
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Here at Emdoneni Lodge we always try our utmost best to give our guests the best experience. Happy to read that we have done exactly that! Thank you for taking the time to do this review for us. Warm regards Owner

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We and really enjoyed our stay here for two nights, the room (chalet not rondaval) was very spacious and comfortable with a large walk in shower. Nice decor and very good beds/bed linen - we slept very well. Food was good for breakfast and dinner and the staff even sang one night and were great!! The ranger who took us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adrienne6
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest What a lovely review - many thanks for doing this for us! And our very special house cat, Trevor, is indeed adorable and loved by many all over the world. Looking forward to see you back at Emdoneni Lodge with Cheetah Project. warmest regards owner

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 15 September 2015

The hotel is very rustic. Accommodations are not high class, but the bed was very comfortable, and a stay there should not be missed. Animals wander the premises and cheetahs in rehabilitation are easily viewed. A walk with the cheetahs and a chance to pet one should not be missed. For approximately $15.00 it is well worth it. Both breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JFHHMH
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for submitting the review. Regards Owner

Cape Town
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We stayed 2 nights at Emdoneni; highly recommend it! The centre is based on a small game farm: I could wander around and get quite close to the zebra, wildebeest and impala, while my son (4yrs) was taken on a 'game tracking adventure' with Zee (incredibly passionate, confident and friendly game warden) and my hubby did some work around the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GavvyCapeTown
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest What an honor to host you! Although we have not met in person we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Wishing you all the best. Regards Owners

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 6 August 2015

I was very excited to stay here as I wanted to see the rehabilitated Cats. Got to see the Cats which where amazing . But the only disappointment is that this lodge is sooo close to a very noisy main freeway, which does take away some of out in the bush quiet feeling. Other than that the staff were great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Loise v
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Sad to hear that you were disappointing unfortunately we cannot change the fact that we are close to the main road. At least we are trying to compensate for that with good service and a home a away from home experience. Warm regards Owners

Angus, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015

I thought Emdoneni would be a good place to stop to visit Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Reserve, close to it but a bit more upmarket than the camps inside the park where we had stayed previously. In fact it far exceeded our expectations. I am sure it would be good at anytime but I think we were lucky in going off-season - few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jjjjnr
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Lovely review - thank you for the time in doing so! Warm regards Cecillie Owner

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015

When we checked in it was my partner's 40th birthday and up to this point was not the holiday of a lifetime we had planned for various reasons. The lodge found out about her birthday and the torrid time we had and all I can say is they bent over backwards to accommodate us and make our holiday start from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brendan B
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Emdoneni daily strive to be the best ever destination to our guests. Happy to read that you also enjoyed your stay! Warm regards Cecillie Ownwer

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I want to say I had the most awesome relaxing time at Emdoneni Lodge this last weekend. We were so well looked after and I loved the all the gestures from the welcoming drink to the little fudges and sweets left in our room each evening. Our chalet was so tastefully decorated and in fact every corner of the lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimbo101210
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guests Another lovely review from just as lovely guests! Looking forward to be your host again in the near future. warm regards Cecillie owner

323 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (215)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
6:24
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (54)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
11.8 km away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
122 reviews
10.4 km away
No photo provided
24.1 km away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 33 in Hluhluwe
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 km away
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
#12 of 668 in KwaZulu-Natal
209 reviews
9.4 km away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#11 of 33 in Hluhluwe
137 reviews
40.7 km away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following the 2015 voting period, Emdoneni Lodge has won: Global Winner in the Luxury Game Lodge category of the World Luxury Hotel Awards. If you ever dreamt of getting close to nature, interacting with tame cats like Cheetah, Emdoneni Lodge is the place to visit! Located in the heart of Zululand lies Emdoneni Lodge. The lodge offers unique opportunities for the visitor, as you get up close and personal with local wildlife. From sitting by the pool watching Zebra, Nyala, duiker and impala in their natural Sand Forest habitat, to coming face to face with Cheetah, Serval, Caracal and African Wild Cats at the Cat Sanctuary! Air-conditioned, en-suite rooms allow you to escape the heat of the day, and in the evenings you have a variety of meals to choose from at the buffet restaurant. Dinner in the Boma adds a different atmosphere as you eat under the African night sky, and get a glimpse into one of South Africa's great cultures with our Zulu dancers. End off your evening with a night-cap in our cosy bar or a chat in front of the fireplace. Your Zululand experience would not be complete without visiting nearby Hluhluwe/Imfolozi Game Park in one of the Lodges' game vehicles, or taking a trip to St Lucia to view some Hippo's and crocodiles on a lazy afternoon boat ride. Other activities on offer include Fishing charters, visiting the nearby Zulu cultural village, quad biking, horse riding or spending the day on the infamous Cape Vidal and Sodwana Bay beaches. Emdoneni Lodge offers the visitor a chance to experience Zululand at its' best. Centrally located and close to the main attractions that Zululand has to offer! Not long dirt roads to travel on.... A Home away from home!Your hosts Louis and Cecillie Nel look forward to meeting you, and from all the staff at Emdoneni - Salani Kahle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emdoneni Lodge

Address: District Road 123 | Bushlands, Hluhluwe, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Price Range: $153 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emdoneni Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Emdoneni Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emdoneni Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Emdoneni Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Emdoneni Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't expect a lot of staff to be around all the time.”
 of 5 bubbles StephanieR811, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request air conditioning.”
 of 5 bubbles ymariej, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite is perfection - though the internet is not really functional. That is probably good though.”
  • Our car and the honeymoon suite are in the background behind these two cheetahs.
  • Windfall Cottage
  • Windfall Cottage
 of 5 bubbles dcjay64, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not get one of the circular rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Grumpyone88, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Views of the cheetah enclosures are great”
 of 5 bubbles debbieannkirkwood, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5