We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rhino River Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Rhino River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 278: English reviews
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a wonderful time at the Rhino River Lodge,, but unfortunately could only stay one night, which was definitely to short. The staff was very helpful and we enjoyed the game drives even though we did not manage to see the always elusive leopard. But we saw the other 4 of the big five, so we were quite happy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 960maartenr
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

My goodness what lucky game viewing you had...four of the big five during a one night stay! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you back for a longer stay to try and get that ever elusive leopard for you! Thanks very much for your lovely review.

Mahe Island, Seychelles
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and i have been there twice and everything about the experience was wonderful. The staff are really friendly and knowledgeable, they really connect with the guests and even though there were completely different staff the second time we went they seem to hire amazing people. The food is very good and you definitely don't go hungry there! You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cristen21
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for such a great review. And thanks for being part of our extended family that returns again and again. We do our best to hire staff that fits our company's goals, which is to provide our guests with a friendly, relaxed and personal experience. And we think they do a pretty great job! We very much look...

South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 3 glorious nights in this bush lodge. Lovely rooms, excellent meals, very friendly helpful staff and the bush and reserve are just fantastic. Kyle certainly goes the extra mile. Every minute of the game drives is wonderful - from dung beetles to elephants. So very special seeing the Wild dogs. This is place definitely rejuvenates and restores your soul....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kareen W
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review. I will pass on your praise to Kyle. We also think Kyle does a tremendous job and he has be a really terrific head ranger for us. I'm so glad you got to see the wild dogs...they are my personal favourite. Thanks again for your words of encouragement, we look forward to seeing you...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing one night with two game drives. Matt did an excellent job of finding the cheetah for us to see. He took extra time on the morning drive. The accommodations were good t the bathrooms could do with some curtains, for us conservative and more conscious people. The food was great. Will be back and definitely bring friends with us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnapurnaWVC
Uvongo, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very welcoming staff, very friendly, We loved the game drives, Kyle went the extra mile to try and locate the big 5, which we really appreciated, we saw 4 of the big 5 If you want to relax then this is definitely the place to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LynetteLambert
the Hague
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Wonderful two nights here. We stayed in the cottage with our own pool and loved every minute. Would have liked one night more, just to enjoy and relax. Food is excellent, well prepared, varied and well presented. Service was so friendly and nice and professional. Rangers also very good. Our ranger was excellent with birds. Highly recommended and worth the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maarten81
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

What a lovely review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Cottage. It is so nice to have a bit of private space and the private pool is just the best as the weather heats up for the Zululand summer. I'm glad you enjoyed our food and service. I hope we do get to see you back...

holland
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Very good game drive lot,'s of animals. Nice surrounding. Good beds and rooms with lots of space. De rooms are terrased house. Securety leads you to your room. Yust go over there and see for yourself. It yust outsite the hluwehluwe prak.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank indo1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We had a marvellous time at Rhino River Lodge. Hospitality, catering, drives were brilliant. Everyone was extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. We stayed for 3 days and enjoyed 6 safari drives. We saw so many animals on the drives as well as impala, wart hogs and kudos walking across our camp. We were privileged to see two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelley C
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. I can tell from your review that you have a real passion for animals and I am so glad that the game viewing during your stay allowed for such fantastic experiences for you. Thank you for choosing Rhino River Lodge and thank you very much for the glowing recommendation!

Reviewed 24 October 2016

My wife and I frequent reserves, particularly the KNP often and I decided to spoil her with a trip to a lodge for her birthday last week. It exceeded all our expectations - from the friendly welcome to the informed game drives and rangers and the the top notch dining. Unfortunately the drought has been harsh but the staff and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

I am so glad you decided to spend your wife's birthday with us and I am even happier that you loved your stay. The drought has indeed been tough, but we have started receiving rain and we hope beyond hope that it continues. In the interim we are doing our very best to care for the animals while mother nature...

Annecy, France
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We had an amazing two night stay at the friendly lodge. Everything was perfect from start to finish. The game drives with ranger Matthew who was very knowledgeable were informative and special. Watching rhinos, giraffes, buffalo's , lions and many more so close was the best experience and definitely a highlight of our holiday in South Africa. We visited kruger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovesf94
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be certain to pass along your praise to Matthew and Angelica. While we do love Kruger there is something very special about Zululand and private safaris add an extra element of relaxation to a safari holiday where we take care...

342 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (322)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (232)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
29.1 km away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
114 reviews
32.9 km away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
8.0 km away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 km away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 32 in Hluhluwe
272 reviews
6.0 km away
Thanda Safari
Thanda Safari
#1 of 1 in Thanda Private Game Reserve
350 reviews
0.0 km away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rhino River Lodge

Address: P.O BOX 2950, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Price Range: $341 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhino River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Rhino River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhino River Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rhino River Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Hitchin, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rhino River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in Room 6 which had a lovely view of the river and the bush”
 of 5 bubbles 466kareenw, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms by the river are good”
 of 5 bubbles AnnapurnaWVC, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sit on the terrace, enjoying the peace but also watching animals strolling pass in front of you”
 of 5 bubbles shelleyc910, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for a room and not chalet - as the stairs are quite dangerous especially after a few drinks.”
 of 5 bubbles Allison13131313, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you can - don't get one of the chalets”
  • Elephants at sunset
 of 5 bubbles incegreens, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay