We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ridgeview Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ridgeview Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
Lillehammer, Norway
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a great time staying at Ridgeview Lodge, but missed the fact that we could not have food in our room. Gary and Tosca was very nice and helpful and gave us very nice breakfast ever day, so all in all we had a very good stay. Thanks a lot😄

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sisselanettes
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings Sissel and Ellen, sure is wonderful to hear from you both, many thanks for the review, golly we miss you, great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, sadly food in the bedrooms is a problem, imagine curry and spice, fish and chips etc the smell it leaves behind in the curtains, carpets and bedding and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great guesthouse with excellent management. Very friendly service and nothing was too much trouble. It was a last minute booking, but they were ready for us within 30 minutes. Good Bar, Excellent views and delicious breakfast. Thoroughly recommend and will be back!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Johno, hows the journey going?, thanks for the posted review, great that you enjoyed your "rush in - rush out" stay, bwahaha, enjoy the week around Durban, we hope that we will be able to host you in the future, Happy New Year....G&T

Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Ridgeview Lodge only for one night in December. What a pleasant experience, from start to finish! I really do not have anything to say that was not good. The room was comfortable, so was the bed and the bathroom had everything we needed. Gary and Tosca were both extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacobust133
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Happy New Year J&E, many thanks for the wonderful review, lovely to read that you enjoyed both your stay and the facilities here at Ridgeview, we sure look forward to hosting you again if you come down this way. All the Best G&T

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The guesthouse is well located giving access to Durban business. Cheer in and check out is simple. Breakfast was awesome and the service exemplary. The rooms are clean and secure and the bar adequately stocked even though slightly pricey. I had a good stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike v
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings Mike, Seasons Greetings, many thanks for posting a lovely review, wonderful to read that you enjoyed the accommodation and enjoyed your stay.......I owe you a beer :-) Regards G&T

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service was excellent and i received a very warm welcome . Gary was very helpfull and accomodating. It is a great place to stay and is located near all ammeneties. breakfast was wondefull. will definitely stay there again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank allanl343
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Alan, thanks for the review and fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay.We look forward to hosting you some time in the future. Seasons Greetings Gary & Tosca

Limpopo Province, South Africa
Reviewed 10 December 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at this lodge.Gary and Tosca are sweet and helpful.The environment is so clean and quiet,it is the best for relaxing and refreshing your mind.Breakfast is superb,you eat as much as you like and what ever you want.Thank you Gray&Tosca.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoyceThandiwe
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Joyce, hope that you hads a pleasant flight home. Many thanks for the review , sure is good to know that you enjoyed the ambiance and facilities of the Lodge and that you were able to relax. Seasons greetings Gary & Tosca

Ladysmith, South Africa
Reviewed 14 November 2016

The rooms are large and well serviced. The Lodge is clean and very well run. The hosts are friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is excellent.with all the extras. The view over Durban harbour is an added bonus.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James R
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Hi James, many thanks for posting the review, great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, do hope that the exams went well, we sure look forward to hosting you when you are next down Durban way...Regards Gary & Tosca

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

The rooms are average. The bed was not so nice. The view in the garden is stunning and the couple who owns the house are really good hosts. They gave a lot of information about Durban and other places we where going to. they were really friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cécile K
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Cecile and Stephan, how are you doing, enjoy Sani Pass and the Drakensburg? Many thanks for staying with us, sorry about the "hard bed", new beds are often a little uncomfortable at first. Travel safely, Best regards Gary& Tosca

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The advertising boasts some very impressive attributes HOWEVER this is not the case! The view is not visible from any of the rooms although the ad says that the panoramic views are a feature! The gardens are impressive and WiFi is really good The rooms at Ridgeview Lodge Guest House offer lush carpeting and high ceilings but alas the lush...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stan K
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Stan, many thanks for the "review", may I give you a few pointers.... we did not submit or edit the guest house description, it is done by their webmaster , whoever that might be,. We do not freely award ourselves "4 stars", this is done by an assessor from the TGCSA, A 4star B&B does not have the same...

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 17 October 2016

SERVICE is abysymal: Never before have we met such a rude and unflexible approach to guests. The breakfast was available from 8-9 instead of the hours written in the folder. The host made an issue of virtually everything - including baggage storage, late check-out. We have never met such a rude behaviour - the owner was extremely rude not only...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 865jakub
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings, many thanks for taking the time to do a review, much appreciated after the situation you had to endure with the manager while we were away. I can only apologise for his rudeness, crazy ideas and not being flexible and helpful Best Regards Gary & Tosca....Owners

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
3.8 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
1,271 reviews
12.8 km away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
217 reviews
4.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
4.2 km away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
123 reviews
3.7 km away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Durban's leading, triple award winning, 4 star graded, owner managed guest house...Situated high on the Berea ridge with panoramic city port views, swimming pool, pub, secure parking and peaceful surroundings. Bedrooms en-suite, air con, TV, telephone, safety deposit, , refreshments. Close to restaurants, golf, 2010 fifa stadium, beach, shopping, just perfect, 25 minutes away from the airport Free Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ridgeview Lodge

Address: 17 Loudoun Road | Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $79 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ridgeview Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ridgeview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ridgeview Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ridgeview Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If the price was somehow lower then any room will do!”
 of 5 bubbles Miteron, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has the best view, somewhat smaller but still big enough for a tall guy like me :-)”
 of 5 bubbles 329johans, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I don't think it is a major issue, but you probably get more privacy in a garden room.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnMac15, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Rooms 6 & 7 are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles Jonathanjared, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Room overlooking port is romantic”
 of 5 bubbles 235paulinet, 9 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay