We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Durban

Booking.comUSD 153*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Durban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Durban
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,273: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel to stay at. Facilities clean and rooms are always neat and tidy. Service are consistent every time you visit the hotel, staff are extremely helpful and friendly. There is sufficient safe parking inside the hotel and their rates are extremely competitive and also good value for money. I would class this hotel in the upmarket category. It provides...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deon M
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel. We do try to offer first class service to our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed your room, location and the service provided by our team members. We appreciate your feedback. I hope your future travels bring you back to the Hilton Durban. Yours sincerely Markus

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I had visited Hilton we had booked 3 rooms and I must say the stay was great however in one of the rooms first the shower handle refused to close so the bathroom was messed and in that room again the plug points did not work. Rooms The rooms a great and salacious they have all your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shezoocassim
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. Thank you for bringing your observations to my attention so we can continue to work on areas where we may have opportunity. I apologize that you did not receive the high quality customer service and standard you have come to expect from...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

the food was great, I was just a bit disappointed with fact that I was unable to connect to wifi. the staff have promised to change my room and that too did not take place. the room was clean but the beverages in the fridge were too expensive, I was disappointed that I had to buy water too, the last...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Azola N
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Azola N We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your visit. Clearly, these circumstances do not reflect our dedication to the high standards we have committed to, and we apologize. Most assuredly, these matters will be addressed to prevent them from reoccurring. We value your patronage, and look forward to providing you with the kind of experiences...

Reviewed 1 week ago

My room was cool, you know, I was with my friend, and we were metric students of 2015. We enjoyed our holiday of a week spending our nights at Hilton's comfortable bed, oh yah, the flatiron screen hang on the wall was real dope, we'd watch lots of channels that kept us up to date……..we join' be there soon! BEST...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calvin_LERATA
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased that you were well-looked after at the Hilton Durban. Yours sincerely Markus

Cape Town
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel at the start of the December holidays in 2016.I would usually spend a lot of time researching hotels for our international trips but wrongly decided to be lazy as this was a local trip and having stayed at this brand of hotel internationally on previous trips felt comfortable going on the brand name.Huge mistake.This hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimpsonsCapeTown
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience at the Hilton Durban. I'm sorry for the challenges you encountered with booking.com and our Reservations, room allocation and quality of food at breakfast. I would like to happily inform you that our new all day dining restaurant has reopened (former Rainbow Terrace) to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At the most prime holiday time the Hilton Durban failed to deliver. Dirty windows, dirty swimming pool, zero room wifi, broken lifts. No kids tv channels in family rooms and a unsavoury hotel smell made our latest anniversary trip visit the first and last to this hotel brand.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 792laurels
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to hear about your experience, as this is not the standard level of exceptional service or care we expect our guests receive. As we continue to look for ways to even further enhance our guests expectations, we will...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 4 nights at this hotel's executive deluxe room. Very well appointed decor and good embience. The internet speed was amazing (I had to connect to remote servers and I was happily surprised by the consistent speeds). The service staff were all superb, special mention to Miss Buthelezi at the front desk; exception customer service!!!! Well done Hilton, I'm...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie_RSA
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I would like to take this moment to thank you for your gracious review and for being our guest. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and to know we met your expectations. Thank you also for your kind words about our Front Office lady, who takes great pride in offering our guests...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This wasn't our first stay at the hotel. The hotel staff is very helpful, polite and professional. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, beds are relaxing as always. The internet wasn't great which was probably due to the renovations. The restaurant which serves low quality food and service that was below par is the only downside to the hotel....

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank krisunn
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate this feedback and the opportunity to address some of the issues you have brought to our attention regarding our restaurant. I apologize for the service and quality you experienced. We will use this feedback as an opportunity to retrain our...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hilton Hotel was an amazing experience for me and my partner. the rooms are spacious and clean. We stayed over night and only paid R1800 with dinner and breakfast included for the both of us. their facilities are excellent. as well. the only problem was that the mini bar is ridiculously expensive and whatever you take will be charged to...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandanO7722KQ
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel. We do try to offer first class service to our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed your room, location and the service provided by our team members. We appreciate your feedback. I hope your future travels bring you back to the Hilton Durban. Yours sincerely Markus

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hilton Durban lives up to the global Hilton standard. Check in was fast, the service from all the staff was friendly & professional. I don't see myself staying at any other hotel in Durban except HLTN.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank phindilem2017
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your five star review. It means a lot to us to know that we have made an exceptional impression during your stay and we hope we can always welcome you back with the same standards. We will be sharing the review with entire team. Yours sincerely Markus

345 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (115)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (26)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.9 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.4 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 43 in Durban
586 reviews
1.9 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
436 reviews
0.4 km away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 43 in Durban
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Vasco's Restaurant
Vasco's Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Indian, African, International, Asian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $131 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Durban staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Durban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“King size rooms are fab - huge bed and very spacious but any room will be fine to be honest.”
h0ward16, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“request sea facing room.”
afzale, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
Zakera, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room.”
896geoffreys, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room.”
rosaposer165, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 153* /night
View Deal
getaroom.comUSD 197
Expedia.comUSD 153
CancelonUSD 196
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates