We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
06/08/2017 07/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Nomads Backpackers

    70 Essenwood Road | Kzn, Durban 4400, South Africa
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    06/08/2017 07/08/2017
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in DurbanSee available hotels in Durban
    Gibela Backpackers Lodge
    159 reviews
    #6 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
    134 reviews
    #35 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Buckleigh Guest House
    13 reviews
    #75 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
     
    Curiocity Durban
    73 reviews
    #3 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Overview
    • Excellent33%
    • Very good21%
    • Average20%
    • Poor20%
    • Terrible6%
    Travellers talk about
    “baz bus” (4 reviews)
    “one night” (7 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Laundry Service
    Shuttle Bus Service
    All hotel details
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
    Gibela Backpackers Lodge
    159 reviews
    #6 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
    134 reviews
    #35 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Buckleigh Guest House
    13 reviews
    #75 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
     
    Curiocity Durban
    73 reviews
    #3 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (60)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 53 reviews

    Reviewed 13 June 2017

    If it was not for Nomads staff we would be talking other thing, they were so helpful,friendly,loving and so sweet, so entertaining. The blankest were stinking and old fashioned also the mattresses were so stiff.

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank dikhatrading
    Reviewed 16 May 2017

    Location is great. The place need to be cleaned up. linen either need replacement or cleaned. rooms are dark. Probably should be painted to brighten the place. you seem to have workers not sure what they do. Random people hang out at the bar. Improve...More

    Thank SFD2014
    Reviewed 15 May 2017

    I stayed here for almost 3 months and I miss it really badly. The backpackers itself is clean and nice. There´s a beautiful pool area and breakfast is included. But a lot of Backpackers can offer this. The great and unique thing about Nomads is...More

    Thank luca_woeger
    Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

    I stayed there for 3 nights while on a quick visit through Durban. It's located in a safe neighbourhood with a large supermarket within 5 minutes walk located within a small shopping centre. When I arrived I was immediately welcomed into a very friendly and...More

    Thank bhw_ie
    Response from NomadsBp, Manager at Nomads BackpackersResponded 5 May 2017

    Im glad to see you had a great time visiting us, yes Johnny is very proud of our city and really enjoys showing Durban off to as many Guests as he can all with that personal touch, hopefully your return is sooner than later, have...More

    Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

    Very noisy- lots of permanent people staying there not so many travelers to mingle with. Strange people lurking around....Music was up loud till early hours of the morning every night. Uncomfortable bed and no air conditioning. Staff were friendly though often intoxicated...terrible parking and poor...More

    Thank 442hamishp
    Response from NomadsBp, Manager at Nomads BackpackersResponded 5 May 2017

    I'm Sorry to hear you weren't comfortable, the thing is during the quiet season we do get requests for contractors who have landed jobs to do in Durban and surrounds and usual they help fill most of our Dorm room Accommodation or a few days...More

    Gibela Backpackers Lodge
    159 reviews
    #6 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
    134 reviews
    #35 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Buckleigh Guest House
    13 reviews
    #75 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
     
    Curiocity Durban
    73 reviews
    #3 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free Internet
    • Restaurant
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Shuttle Bus Service
    • Breakfast included
    • Laundry Service
    • Breakfast Available
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Restaurant
    Details
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 9
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • KwaZulu-Natal >
    • Durban
    Nearby
    Riviera Hotel
    30 reviews
    2.62 km away
     
    Quarters Hotel Florida Road
    118 reviews
    2.56 km away
     
    The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
    231 reviews
    2.42 km away
     
    Road Lodge Durban
    39 reviews
    2.34 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    La Bella
    56 reviews
    .64 km away
    The Little India Restaurant On Musgrave
    319 reviews
    .34 km away
    Unity
    104 reviews
    .27 km away
    Circus Circus
    94 reviews
    .19 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Durban Botanic Gardens
    863 reviews
    1.08 km away
    Giba Gorge Mountain Bike Park
    92 reviews
    1.34 km away
    St. Thomas' Church
    21 reviews
    .60 km away
    Markets of Warwick Tour
    37 reviews
    1.53 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Nomads Backpackers staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Shopping Mall close by."
    Read review
    "We just relied on the knowledgeable and helpful staff"
    Read review
    "stay away from the dorms, it is quite cramped."
    Read review
    "Join in or you won't enjoy it haha"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing