We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
06/08/2017 07/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

    169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    06/08/2017 07/08/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    USD 28*
    View Deal
    Traveller (28)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Gibela Backpackers Lodge
    159 reviews
    #6 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Smith's Cottage
    95 reviews
    #4 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Curiocity Durban
    73 reviews
    #3 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge
    43 reviews
    #15 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Overview
    • Excellent29%
    • Very good34%
    • Average14%
    • Poor15%
    • Terrible8%
    Travellers talk about
    “baz bus” (9 reviews)
    “florida road” (18 reviews)
    “braai nights” (4 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Bar/Lounge
    Kitchenette
    Breakfast included
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Fitness centre
    All hotel details
    Gibela Backpackers Lodge
    159 reviews
    #6 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Smith's Cottage
    95 reviews
    #4 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Curiocity Durban
    73 reviews
    #3 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge
    43 reviews
    #15 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (134)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    There are newer reviews for Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
    See the most recent reviews

    21 - 25 of 116 reviews

    Reviewed 21 August 2016

    The best part of Tekweni Backpackers is their location, in Morningside area of Durban. A block away from Florida Rd, it is conveniently placed for cafés, bars, grocery stores and is a safe area to wander in. Dorms and doubles available. The facilities were likely...More

    Thank Anon N
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 30 November 2016

    Thanks for your review. Pretty much a mixed bag. We have sorted out our beds and mattresses quite a bit since you stayed with us. Im not sure which staff you talked to but we are normally pretty good with that. We do understand how...More

    Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

    At booking time I asked to arrange for a transfer to Sodwana Bay for a PADI course as I was short on time. They assured me it is doable and that they have alternatives for that and that i should arrange it upon arrival. I...More

    1  Thank Cristy001
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 30 November 2016

    Hmmm. It seems your bad experience with the taxi generally soured your stay. The taxi situation does work for some peeps and not for others. We drop you right at the taxi so you don't have to walk through that area. At that point you...More

    Reviewed 19 August 2016

    This is the second time I have stayed at Tekweni, and I can honestly say that it is the only place I want to stay at when in Durban! Not only is it walking-distance to Florida Road, but something fun is always happening at the...More

    Thank Tish S
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 30 November 2016

    Yes yes yes. You definitely feel us. Thanks for the sensational review. Guessing you will be back.

    Reviewed 24 July 2016

    The staff was not really professional and careless when we arrived. Regarding the premices, the pool was dirty and the bathroom close to our room was really old and had missing tiles. The room had dead insects squashed on the walls. The bed sheets were...More

    1  Thank bestclem42
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 30 November 2016

    Hmmmm. You really want to make a point. This is the second review medium that you have posted on. If you generally want to damage us then good job. We have looked into all the things you are unhappy about and dealt with most of...More

    Reviewed 15 July 2016

    I read the same thing that this is a big party hostel, which it wasn't. It's okay because I come here to sleep and relax, I can party out on the streets. My brother and I booked an apartment room which had bunk beds. The...More

    Thank Creeping_Death_LA
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 30 November 2016

    Thanks for the review. You really must have caught us on a quiet night cuz there is generally always something going on. Thanks for the compliments on our staff. They are our pride and joy and we love it when peeps appreciate it.

    Gibela Backpackers Lodge
    159 reviews
    #6 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Smith's Cottage
    95 reviews
    #4 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Curiocity Durban
    73 reviews
    #3 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge
    43 reviews
    #15 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Free Internet
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 13 - USD 40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 18
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tekweni Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • KwaZulu-Natal >
    • Durban
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (28)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (33)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    eMakhosini Boutique Hotel
    43 reviews
    1.39 km away
     
    Quarters Hotel Florida Road
    118 reviews
    .27 km away
     
    African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
    147 reviews
    .96 km away
     
    The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
    231 reviews
    .65 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Butcher Block Steakhouse
    32 reviews
    .27 km away
    Butcher Boys
    655 reviews
    .10 km away
    9th Avenue Bistro
    484 reviews
    .36 km away
    Spiga D'oro
    664 reviews
    .18 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Durban Botanic Gardens
    863 reviews
    1.45 km away
    Moses Mabhida Stadium
    1,032 reviews
    1.50 km away
    Big Rush Urban Adrenaline
    132 reviews
    1.43 km away
    Mitchell Park
    192 reviews
    1.16 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Room Number 15 is extremely small"
    Read review
    "Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds."
    Read review
    "For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment..."
    Read review
    "Quieter rooms are to the front of the house"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing