We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

150 reviews
Save
Traveller (30)
Pool & Beach (5)
Room & Suite (3)
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good29%
  • Average14%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“florida road”(21 reviews)
“braai nights”(5 reviews)
“tv room”(2 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
Breakfast included
Restaurant
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (150)Write a Review
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
45
36
18
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
45
36
18
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflorida roadbraai nightstv roombars and restaurantscommunal areasstayed one nightnight lifesafe areawithin walking distancesecure parkingenjoyed my stayhome away from homeshannonradtlccleanlinesskeys
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You always say when leaving a joint I will be back but don't really think it will materialize so when I knew I would be back in Durban there was only one place I was going to stay and boy did it not disappoint. To...More

Thank Tiocfaidh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This backpackers is my second home. I stayed there years back when I moved down to Durbs for work. The place became my home after I moved into my own place. I have basically met all my Durbanite friends from there. The vibe is great...More

Thank Marius P
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 2 weeks ago

Yup we know you and you are also one of our favorite customers. Thanks for the awesome review. Really look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One can definitely tell that Tekweni Backpackers used to be a place with lots of buzz & good vibe. The location is great, just around the corner of Florida Road and several restaurants and bars. However, there is much to be desired when it comes...More

Thank Mettigel
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. A bit harsh but some genuine concerns. I know which booking you were and I have been expecting your review. You did indeed get a bad run at our place and I spoke to you trying to make the situation right....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very impressed! I stayed at the backpackers for 4 weeks over December, and I was very impressed with the facilities. I had my own room and it was clean and well maintained. The staff are all very friendly and there is always a great atmosphere...More

Thank Alicia V
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 3 weeks ago

Ýes we remember you. You definitely get us. Thanks for the awesome review. Im quite sure we will see you back again.

Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

Great base for backpackers visiting Durban. Friendly and accommodating staff, small outdoor pool, plenty of communal areas to chill, self catering facilities and secure parking. Located a short walk from bars and shops and short drive into the city centre. Great for meeting other travellers...More

Thank pres94
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 3 weeks ago

Such pleasant and rewarding review. Awesome. Thanks so much. Hope to see you back

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345626
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 31 - USD 43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
USD 31 - USD 43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (30)
Pool & Beach (5)
Room & Suite (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"room 8, very quite corner and good for sleeping"
Read review
"Room Number 15 is extremely small"
Read review
"Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds."
Read review
"For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing