We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

541 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 477: English reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel and a couple of other hotels during this trip and must say the service at the IC has hands down been better than anywhere else I have experienced during this visit to South Africa. Well done to the team at the IC and please keep up the excellent standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback and happy to know that we provided a great experience during your recent visit with us. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team. I look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Yvette Enslin Deputy General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

The hotel is well located for shopping and the financial district with staff that are very helpful.The room was large and clean with impressive sound proofing from other guests. The restaurant was great and good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craftyfoxmob
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a great review and for your wonderful feedback on the location, room size and cleanliness. I am delighted to know you had a comfortable stay and that our staff delivered the brand promise in service. I do look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards,...

Kenner, Louisiana
Reviewed 5 October 2016

When I was looking for a hotel in Johannesburg, I was looking for a hotel that was close to public transportation and was within walking distance to services and restaurants. The InterContinental Sandton Towers, located in the Sandton area, covered all these bases. It was close to the Sandton Gautrain station - both walking distance and had shuttle access -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 0504Traveller
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your detailed feedback. I am delighted to know you are satisfied with our General Manager, Mr. Singh that has address the issues with you directly. Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Yvette Enslin

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 October 2016

A very good location linked with skywalk to the Sandton shopping mall. On getting to my room, the key did not work properly and I was told just to give it a couple of attempts then it will work. Key worked after about 3 or 4 attempts, very annoying. I ordered room service which took 1,5 hours to be delivered....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank khalidgalant
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor experience you had during your recent stay with us. We had some major issues with our electronic key systems, and we could definitely have handled the situation more efficiently. I assure you that your experience in our food outlets has been addressed and that this is not our normal...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Hotel experience was excellent. Staff were helpful and friendly. My wife is the Mrs Commonwealth South Africa 2016/2017. They upgraded our room to a suite, which was a pleasant gesture. The hotel was very clean and spotless everywhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted that we met your expectations and that you had a pleasant stay with us. I do look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Yvette Enslin Deputy General Manager

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I admit that I really only used the InterConti overnight due to several all day conference commitments. So I only enjoyed the pool, the breakfast and my room at night. All was of topnotch quality and the reception staff was really very friendly. The breakfast was really good with a variety of foods from different parts of the world. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MWG24
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted that we delivered on our Brand Promise, and your expectations and created a great experience. I look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental in the near future. Kind regards Yvette Enslin Deputy General Manager

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 22 September 2016

The location of the hotel is good, centrally located in Sandton. Rooms are large and spacey, which is good. The reception and concierge service is excellent, up to the standards I'm expecting from an Intercon. I would especially commend the bell boy that walked me all the way to the Mandela square to make sure I didn't get lost. That...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bulgenes
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your wonderful feedback on the reception and concierge staff as well as the rooms. Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations with regards to the boardroom and meeting facilities and the food offerings. The delay in service for your requests to be...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Was on a 3 day business visit with a tight schedule Pre booked by my office but when checking in I was giving a rate which I though was incorrect. When querying it I was "threatened" that if I did not provide evidence of a different rate before 10pm that their rate would apply. The key system was faulty and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeffW777
Chandresh_Singh, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Wessels Please accept my sincere apologies for the delay in getting back to you. I trust that you have received my feedback sent on your private email, and that we have, in some small way, started to make up for the poor experience you had. I would like to reassure you that this is not our normal standard....

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here for one night only , my room was in the 10th floor the same floor has a bridge connecting the hotel and the sandton mall , the room was so chic and comfy , the toilet was huge ! And the only thing I didn't liked is the ac ! It was a little bit warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sam s
Chandresh_Singh, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and for your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor experience you had with regards to the air conditioning. We will have this issue addressed by our technical team. I would like to thank you for choosing the InterContinental for your stay in Sandton,...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

3 days 3 rooms - no air conditioning in any. Notwithstanding multiple visits from engineering team and assurances it had been repaired with a wide range of excuses from disconnected pipes to broken motor and finally to timers incorrectly set, I got moved to room number two - by the way, some very suspicious looking stains on the lampshades. Second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerald J
Chandresh_Singh, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Please accept my sincere apologies and heartfelt regret for the obvious frustrations and inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us, further aggravated by the lack of feedback from myself. I have sent you a mail on your private email as well, and I really hope that you will allow me the opportunity to make up...

245 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
5:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
828 reviews
0.1 km away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
713 reviews
0.1 km away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in the safe hub of Sandton, Johannesburg with direct access to: shopping malls, Sandton Convention Centre, Food, Wine and excursions. Perfect for business of leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Address: Corner Maude & Fifth Streets, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: $177 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Hotel Sandton
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Hotel
Intercontinental Sandton
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Greater Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandton
#3 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“27th floor, top 10 floors - view and quiet amazing...”
 of 5 bubbles Iman9, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room service is faster at lower floors”
  • The View outside my room
  • The View outside my room
 of 5 bubbles OupaGedions2016, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suites are great for travelling business people. It has a study and lounge area.”
 of 5 bubbles simonpR8366XG, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the elevator bank are less nosiy”
 of 5 bubbles bulgenes, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“yes but in another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles JeffW777, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay