We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

571 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 505: English reviews
Christchurch NZ
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Staff were friendly and polite throughout our stay but a few things weren't quite as good as you'd expect from an Intercontinental. Recurring load shedding on the Johannesburg power grid means the hotel regularly has to revert to its own generator power and when they do all the clocks have to be reset and internet connection goes out for c.30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bath25years
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are sorry that you had a less than pleasant stay with us and things were not up to standard with a room move due to the paint smell and poor service standards in the restaurant. We also regret that load shedding impacted on your experience at the hotel.

Germany
Reviewed 17 July 2015

The hotel is a typical 5 star city hotel. I found it a bit pricey for what you get, but rooms are clean and spacious, service is friendly, attentive and efficient. Breakfast selection was a bit disappointing compared to what other Intercontinental hotels offer. The club lounge is weird, far too small on two balconies on a high floor with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Unterwegs
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not have a good experience with the concierge owing to the mis-information that was offered to you plus that the Club Floor lounges were not up to your expectations. However, I am pleased that generally you had a good stay and do hope that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Basingstoke, England
Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in May when in town for a conference. Very nice hotel. Room was a very good size and I liked the dressing room / bathroom style - made good use of space. Great views for Johannesburg and beyond from the higher floors. Good to have a walkway link to the shopping centre, Mandela...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tabrascokid
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Dear Tabrascokid, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for your positive feedback. However, I do look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 July 2015

best hotel ever I can not fault the hotel in anyway but I can definetly highly recommend this venue to anyone best service, facilities, environment and the attractions next to it are to die for all the time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 933vumi
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Der 933vumi, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a great review.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Third stay in this hotel. Staff are wonderful -- helpul & genuine. Beds are very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location for the shopping centre & restaurants in Mandela Square. I look forward to returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 304lesley
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Dear 304lesley, thank you for reviewing th hotel and I am pleased that your third stay was good with you receiving great service, as this is something that our staff take pride in, so we value your feedback. I do look forward to welcoming you back for the fourth time!.

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

I went to Joburg with hubby unexpectedly. He brand loyal and always stays here. I had never imagined that I would visit Africa. I had no plan and the team at this property made my trip an unforgettable experience overall. The bellmen and porters, housekeeping, security .... EVERYONE simply made the stay very personalized and warm feeling for me. Huge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandfilledboots
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Dear Sandfilledboots, thank you for taking the time to write your in-depth review of the hotel and I apologise for the poor standard of room service food that you received, though I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal in The Atrium restaurant with excellent service supplied by Judith. However, I do trust that you get a chance to accompany...

Saint-Etienne, France
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Sandton is the best area in Johannesburg and the Intercontinental the best in Sandton. If you visit Johannesburg it is your best choice, look no further. The Mandela Square and shopping mall is just accross the street. The rooms need a little renovation, the doors especially, but all the rest is spacey, clean and comfortable. Food is good. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ALEX R
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Dear Alex R, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for your positive feedback. I do look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Beautiful room, love the Nespresso machine in the room. Big beautiful bathroom. Hotel is in a great location and beautiful views over the city. Only stayed one night but was a great stay. Very helpful and friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karin M
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Dear Karin M, I am very pleased that you enjoyed the layout of your room, the location and the views over the city with the staff being very helpful. I do trust that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Twickenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2015

I've stayed here before, but not for a while. This time I made the booking largely on the basis of the proximity to the Sandton Convention Centre. However, this is a great hotel in any event. Check-in was painless and having arrived early, being able to access my room at 11am meant a lot. I love the little details like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stenvoid
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Dear Stenvoid, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your good feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Manzini, Swaziland
Reviewed 3 July 2015

I stayed here for 3 nights and I reaffirmed my belief that this is THE hotel in Sandton. There is hugecompetition here. Nowhere else in the world have I seen a cluster of top five star hotels all within 400 metres of each other. This was my third stay since 2010. I was disappointed to notice a deterioration in standards...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sabelo d
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Dear sabelo d, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and please accept my sincere apologies for the problems and lack of attention to detail that your experienced during your three night stay. However, it is very good to hear that our Room Service waiter went out of his way to assist you with your requirements. I...

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (209)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
5:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
872 reviews
0.1 km away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 49 in Sandton
764 reviews
0.1 km away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.9 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in the safe hub of Sandton, Johannesburg with direct access to: shopping malls, Sandton Convention Centre, Food, Wine and excursions. Perfect for business of leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Address: Corner Maude & Fifth Streets, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: $268 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Hotel Sandton
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Hotel
Intercontinental Sandton
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Greater Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandton
#3 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher levels look over the adjoining buildings which interfere with the views of a lower room”
 of 5 bubbles pjgriffiths10, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Atrium layout results in some rooms being far from the elevators; the internet service is some rooms is much better than in others.”
 of 5 bubbles LarryL764, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Highest floors to enjoy the view, and if possible the corner rooms (suites).”
 of 5 bubbles 206erikm, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Outstanding experience....”
 of 5 bubbles InderSS, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Corner club rooms are larger than standard club”
 of 5 bubbles richard_s_NZ, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5