We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Capital Hydro

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Capital Hydro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 54: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2016

As we walked in it all looked great...... But shower door handle was broken. balcony door off bedroom was broken Microwave was not working properly - turntable didnt turn DSTV didnt work for 2 days no dishtowel in kitchen no soap in downstairs toilet

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank evanr89
CapitalVilla, General Manager at The Capital Hydro, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Roberts Thank you for choosing to book and stay at The Capital Hydro. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay and for bringing our shortalls to my attention. I have noted the maintenance and housekeeping issues in your apartment and I would like to sincerely apologise for these. I can assure... More 

Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We arrived at the apartament at 22:30 and my reservation was not respected. At that time of the night we had to move to another facility of Capital. Besides the above, I was charged twice in my credit card and I'm still waiting the refund for the extra charge. Avoid it!

Helpful?
1 Thank andres_s_1970
CapitalVilla, General Manager at The Capital Hydro, responded to this review

Dear Andres_s_1970 Thank you for the feedback you have given. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the confusion with regards to your booking as well as for the inconvenience caused with regards to the double charging of your credit card. I can assure you this is not the usual level of service we provide to our guests. Your refund has... More 

Travellers are raving about these Sandton hotels

1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2016

I took a one bedroom apartment for 8 nights checking in after midnight. From the time I checked in at 1.30 am to my last day the service has been superb, the apartment has been excellent and the response time for any issue has been prompt. I also had a minor emergency to which the staff responded well. Only downside... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bashir A
CapitalVilla, General Manager at The Capital Hydro, responded to this review

Dear Bashir Thank you for choosing to book and stay at The Capital Villa. I am very pleased to hear that the apartment and the service you received was superb. I do apologise for the poor DSTV connection, I can assure you this has since been corrected. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Capital Villa in the... More 

Lekki, Nigeria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I love the hotel! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the environment was quiet, just the way I like it. I got good value for my money and I'm very sure I'll be returning next year with my family.

Helpful?
Thank edirinedewor
CapitalVilla, General Manager at The Capital Hydro, responded to this review

Dear Edirinedewor Thank you for choosing to book and stay at The Capital Hydro. I am so pleased to hear that you loved the hotel and that the staff were friendly and helpful. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back next year. Kind Regards Lindsay Wright General Manager The Capital Hydro More 

Maputo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Dont stay at this appartment hotel. The stuff do what they want. I arrived at my appartment at 21:50 and was not able to get in. They have changed the lock in my appartment for no reason and I was not informed. We had to call another The Capital Hotel that have the front office working 24/7 to help us.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hugo M
Ny,Ny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2016

My family and I stayed at the Capital Hydro in Mar 2016. We absolutley loved the area and the apartment itself. We rented a 2 bedroom unit and it was big and airy with high ceilings. The building is secured with 24 hour security in the garage. The apartment itself was well furnished, hip and modern. The staff were professional,... More 

Helpful?
Thank lilmomma76_2000
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Comfortable and spacious full service apartment. Long or short stay, great location. Marsha recommended apartment 901, as the best and she was spot on :) Aircondition is only in the bedroom so living room can get hot when the sun full on into the living room, but is ok with curtains closed. Living room has flat screen tv and surround... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RodC_007
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Over a period of 6 months, I have stayed here 3 times. I have always enjoyed my stays here except the last one. I am beginning to notice a decline in standards. They no longer pay attention to detail. It reminds of a certain hotel in India, which I will never go back to. I will try other apartments around... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ray25252015
Harare Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Well , I have not much to say of this one as I slept one night then moved to the Capital 20 West. For the time I spent there I got what I needed in terms of service. I feel it just needs a bit up touches here and there - one lift for such a hotel puts the traffic... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank helvale
durban
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Booked a 2 bedroom apartment here through booking.com. I confirmed via email with the agent who goes under the name Tee or Mohamed, that the apartment is fully airconditioned and the apartment will have an extra bed to accommodate my third child. All was 100% guaranteed paid for and confirmed. Upon arrival we were greeted by this arrogant Mohammed or... More 

Helpful?
Thank fs30

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.5 km away
The Capital Empire
The Capital Empire
#20 of 48 in Sandton
148 reviews
1.0 km away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#26 of 48 in Sandton
64 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 48 in Sandton
1,100 reviews
0.7 km away
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
#21 of 48 in Sandton
77 reviews
1.6 km away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#23 of 48 in Sandton
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay where you're right on the money. Stay where you count. All 56 apartments are spacious and stylishly decorated with impressive attention to detail - and guests also enjoy the use of a pool and barbeque area and a gym. The Capital Hydro is hip, happening and hassle free. It's the perfect four-star rated choice - smart, fully furnished simplicity. For overnight or long-term stays; for single guests, families or groups, all our guests at The Capital Hydro enjoy complimentary parking, complimentary laundry, complimentary scheduled transfers to Sandton and complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout their stay. If you want to be in the hub of where it's happening, then staying at The Capital Hydro is spot on. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Capital Hydro

Address: Hydro Park 86 Grayston Drive | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Hydro Executive Apartments)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: $120 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Capital Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Capital Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Hydro Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sandton
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Capital Hydro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think its not bad at all”
 of 5 bubbles helvale, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Apartments facing Mandela Square”
 of 5 bubbles EZM2607, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor, better view, but only from Sandton Mall side.”
 of 5 bubbles 369ankap, 23 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Choose the room on the right in apartment 708, it has a heated floor in the bathroom. ”
 of 5 bubbles Glisson_Niekerk, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The two bedrooms and two bathrooms apartments with a private lift is a good option for a family. Lovely views from higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles sandton2015, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay