We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tladi Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Tladi Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 61: English reviews
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I often come in SA for business, and after having Tried most of the hotels and the accomodations I have to say that I always come back here. The compound is first class, the Service is really the top, the rooms are perfect cosy and comfortable. The price is low compared with What you get. Absolutely to try

Helpful?
Thank fabio a
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Tladi Lodge made us very welcome for our one night stay. The gardens are beautiful and create a relaxed atmosphere. The bathroom was impressive in our room, perhaps because we were on a corner, with almost as much space as the bedroom. It had a double slipper tub and a 5'x5'shower enclosure, plus a separate toilet enclosure. We appreciated the... More 

Helpful?
Thank grahamstansfieldking
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give Tladi Lodge such a great review. We look forward to hosting you again and hope you will be able to enjoy a longer stay. More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2016

I am a regular business traveller at Tladi Lodge and just absolutely love staying there for the following reasons:- There are only ten guest rooms – very quiet and peaceful. No AC noise to contend with – you wake up in the morning to the delightful bird sounds. The rooms where the thatch is exposed are darker than the rest,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lingesh P
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Tladi Lodge. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again soon. More 

Boechout, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

A beautifull place to stay whenever you are in Johannesburg. Kind staff and very good service always ready to help with whatever question you have. Rooms are tidy, clean and well maintained. Looking forward to return.

Helpful?
Thank Timdewit
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Tladi Lodge again and can happily say we have no intention of looking elsewhere even though we come to Johannesburg frequently. In our last review, we suggested real coffee would be lovely to have in the rooms rarther than powder. Lo and behold! Fresh ground coffee and cafetieres are now standard. Just shows... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GreatPapaBear
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Dark rooms without aircon, so lots of mosquitos keeping you out of your sleep..... When you make your reservation, you will be asked if you want diner as well. We agreed and found just one other couple having dinner. The reason...... absolutely horrible food, so don't take your dinner here ! Breakfast very simple. No, just under average !

Helpful?
Thank Jaap D
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you found us to be disappointing. We have always had very good reviews about our food, and have never been told it was "horrible". I find it surprising that you didn't bring this to our attention while you were here. It is always far easier to resolve concerns face to face and offer... More 

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

What a beautiful place! Thank you Sylvia and Ian for a lovely stay and fitting me in at such short notice. I ate dinner twice during my 6 day stay and it was exceptional both times. The breakfast is superb too. The pool and gardens are immaculately kept and the rooms are top notch with everything you need. Great shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dutch_Bird_Amsterdam
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

I decided to explore South Africa on my own. There were talks about safety as solo traveler but nothing bad happened and I guess one just has to be careful and pay a bit more to ensure that our safety is priority. The people were wonderful at the lodge giving as many instructions as possible on going in and out... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank R Maler V
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2015

A quiet and beautifully-landscaped retreat in the outer suburbs of Johannesburg, where personal attention and superb service stand out. The owners make every effort to ensure guests are well-served and taken care of.

Helpful?
Thank DFL49
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

Family owned 5 stars in a very traditional african environment. Rooms are big and comfortable with big bathrooms, patio and garden with pool is perfect. Nice breakfast and bar service but the real wow factor is given by the very warm and customer oriented lodge management. Well done! The perfect scene for an unforgettable holiday with your loved one

Helpful?
Thank Gianluca M

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
2.0 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
824 reviews
1.1 km away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#24 of 48 in Sandton
132 reviews
3.9 km away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#7 of 48 in Sandton
728 reviews
1.3 km away
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
#17 of 48 in Sandton
223 reviews
1.6 km away
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in 2 acres of lush tranquil gardens, Tladi Lodge Johannesburg, combines all the benefits of a hotel with the intimacy of a guest house. This beautiful area boasts an abundance of cultural, natural and social highlights - you'll be spoilt for choice for things to do. Whether you fancy an awe-inspiring champagne balloon ride or a day on a manicured golf course, the hospitality staff at this 5 star guest house will be happy to advise. Tladi Lodge is an extensive thatched property surrounded by verdant trees and set amidst romantic winding pathways. The on-site tennis court and swimming pool will keep you in shape whilst you enjoy the open-air life. Welcoming business executives, couples and families with children of 8 years and older, the guest house is the perfect haven for work, relaxation or that extra-special break. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tladi Lodge

Address: 16 David Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: $145 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tladi Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tladi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tladi Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tladi Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good.”
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles DFL49, 9 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Choose a room that overlooks the gardens and pool.”
 of 5 bubbles GreatPapaBear, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“I stayed in room 4 - the best bathroom at the lodge with doors straight out into the garden.”
 of 5 bubbles HilaryC748, 7 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Suites are huge, bigger than expected”
 of 5 bubbles Snodgrass999, 1 Feb 2014 | Read review
“I took room 11 and loved it for the bathtub and garden view.”
 of 5 bubbles JeanLouisV, 20 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay