We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead

PricelineUSD 77*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 193*
USD 77*
Great Deal
USD 79*
USD 78*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
See the most recent reviews
Showing 123: English reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I booked a suite for 3 days in Rancho Mirage and I've called to confirm my reservation to avoid any uncertainty. After driving for 4 hrs with my kids, I was expecting a smooth check in, as we arrived it was scorching hot in Palm Spring and I was told by Lydia that our room was not available yet and...

Thank Cadi2003
Management response:

Good Day Cadi Hope your holiday with your children turned out for the better. I have to highlight that you have left a review for the worng hotel. We are the Holiday Inn Express Sandton - Woodmead in South Africa. I would suggest that you re-send your review to the Rancho Mirage in Palm Springs. Hope you will visit South...

Upington, South Africa
Reviewed 25 July 2016

This hotel is located just minutes from the mall of africa which is very convenient. Ideal for overnight stay or for business. Breakfast was good and the restaurant. I felt safe at all times. I could hear the noise of the traffic not very quiet.

Thank mattresshyper
Management response:

Good Day Matt Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be your host again in the near future. Kind Regards Liezl Bekker General Manager

Terni, Italy
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

I was two nights in this hotel and everything was very good. Service excellent and personnel very qualified. I suggest this structure for business , good connected due to the position. They have also fitness point and pool at the top of the hotel and the panorama is fantastic.

Thank Alessio D
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Excellent room. Value for money. Closer to airport and Mall of Africa. The worst fear as a traveler we have is of safety and security. But we were really lucky as we got the contact of a taxi driber from the hotel itself. And we utilized his service for the est of our trip. His name is PRINCE MADISA +27784132775...

Thank Abha J
Management response:

Good Day Abha J Thank you for your review on the Holiday Inn Express Woodmead. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay thank you for the kind words. Looking forward hosting you again. Liezl Bekker General Manager

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

This is my hotel of choice when in JNB. It meets the standards I expect of HIE locations - and I have stayed in many HIE hotels across the world. The rooms are always clean whenever I have been here. Also the location is perfect for me and my needs- especially being within a business park complex that offers a...

Thank Dan R
Management response:

Good Day Mr. Dan Thank you so much for the excellent review of our Hotel. It gives us great pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay and that we have met all of your expectations. We value you support and loyalty to the brand and hope to be your host again in the near future. Kind Regards Liezl Bekker

Reviewed 13 June 2016

The location of the hotel is very bad as it is on a highway and there are no nearby shops and facilities . The worst point was that there was no room service and one had to go to the reception to get anything -- there were no facilities like travel desk or taxi services and no easy means to...

Review collected in partnership with Park Inn by Radisson Hotels
Thank Hrishika R
Management response:

Good Day R Hrishika Thank you for taking the time to do a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Woodmead. I most disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay as we take allot of pride in our service delivery to our guests. We are unfortunately located in a business district however the Woodmead Retail Park is...

Tehran, Iran
Reviewed 4 June 2016

I stayed in the hotel for a week.Breakfast is simple but pleasant. Location requires own transportation. my room didn't have refrigerator.Nothing at all to do around the hotel. Price was higher than Holiday inn Rosebank but the service was lower. hotel did let me check out around 3 PM without extra charges.

Thank ShahriarParvaz
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review

Dear ShahriarParvaz, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate our breakfast. However, I was concerned to see that you were not overly impressed with our property in general. Rest assured, your comments will be shared with our management team to properly address your...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Being close to business park, this is great location if you are in the town for business meetings. The staff is really friendly and helped me with everything I needed being first time in the country. They even helped me order food from takeaway nearby that can do hotel delivery and also help arrange shuttle for sight seeing. There is...

Thank Nitin S
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

The holiday Inn express hotels are the 3 to 4 star range. I will settle on 3.5 star hotel. Nicely decorated. Simple rooms but effective. Whoever books here should not be looking for elegance. It's express. Breakfast is simple and pleasant. Location requires own transportation. Parking is free. Nothing at all to do around the hotel. But short drive is...

Thank pt2pt3
Wroclaw, Poland
Reviewed 29 April 2016

As a hotel in business area you get everything that is required, it would be easy to compalin on location but actually there is everything, running place restaurant and nice/ good rooms for a price that is requested

Thank Miodas

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (48)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Dining (1)
Bathroom (5)
Room/Suite (9)
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (15)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Dining (3)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Room/Suite (5)
Bathroom (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
7.2 km away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 48 in Sandton
738 reviews
2.5 km away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#18 of 48 in Sandton
103 reviews
7.4 km away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
5.6 km away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#21 of 48 in Sandton
155 reviews
7.0 km away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 48 in Sandton
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Woodmead, Sandton. The hotel is located in the heart of a major business district in Sandton. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity to the newly built shopping mall. Holiday Inn Express Woodmead features 155 contemporary style bedrooms individually air conditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit box and televisions. Holiday Inn Express Woodmead is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for around the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead

Address: 54 Maxwell Drive, Sandton 2191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: $82 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead Hotel Sandton
Sandton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead Greater Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good second option and safe option.”
GrantH490, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“some rooms are two single beds and you have to specify to them that you want a double bed”
kopanom738, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Very dirty and poor management ”
Cadi2003, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Nothing in particlular”
mattresshyper, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Golf Course View”
577abhaj, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
USD 77* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUSD 79
HIExpress.comUSD 78
View all 6 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates