We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monateng Safari Lodge

Traveller (127)
Room & Suite (21)
Pool & Beach (6)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
Monateng is located in a tranquil environment on an exquisite bushveld property. It’s conveniently situated only 30 minutes from Pretoria – the perfect breakaway from the city lights. Book your Monateng getaway now - this RCI Gold Crown Resort is the ideal venue to relax and unwind.Our chalets vary from 4-sleeper units to very spacious 8-sleeper units – perfect for the whole family. All chalets have a television, granite counters, a fridge, a freezer, a microwave oven, a tabletop stove and built in oven, a toaster, an electric kettle, cutlery and crockery. For the more adventurous, we offer a top-class caravan park. Our grassed normal stands have electricity and share a communal ablution block. But the luxury stands are our pride and joy. Each has its own private bathroom, kitchen and built-in braai. The separate kitchen contains a double-door fridge, a microwave oven, a kettle, a toaster, a kitchen sink, kitchen cupboards and a dishwasher. This is definitely the best (and most comfortable) camping experience you will ever have!Monateng’s on-site facilities include a swimming pool, an outdoor chess set, bicycles, a putt-putt course, a volleyball court, a tennis court, a spacious playground for children, a games room, a library, a fantastic Super tube at the Caravan Park and guided game drives.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Multilingual Staff
Tennis Court
Room features
Family Rooms
Good to know


Full view
22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 61
  • 17
  • 4
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A truly relaxing, enjoyable, educational and restful experience. Accommodation is clean, neat, well-appointed and tastefully furnished. The game drive and crocodile experience was well-organised, informative and interesting.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
We had a great stay at Monateng, just the flies are a problem, fly screens on the doors and windows would be a huge help, we sat in doors most of the time with the aircondition on and the doors and windows closed because of the flies, such a pity !!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
The place is beautiful,peaceful and stuff well trained,however ,when we got there we where told that the breakage deposit of R1500 each for two house (total of R3000) was going to be reversed when we checked out...nothing was broken but now we told we have to wait 14 days to get
Read more
Response from Resort_Spokesperson, Social Media Marketing Officer at Monateng Safari Lodge
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Moregz2016. Thank you for the compliment about our Resort as well as our staff. We have sent your review on to the Resort Management who have since informed us that the refund was done on the 12th February 2019. Refunds are done immediately, once the keys have been handed back to the Resort and the breakage deposit slip has been received. Refunds take between 7 and 14 days depending on your bank and the day of the week. We apologies for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards – The Monateng Team.
Read more
Peaceful, relaxing, convenient and most of all staff that is friendly and always helpful. Resorts are equipped well with kitchen ware, extra towels, extra blankets, etc. You still enjoy the comfort of the equipment you have at home, causing you no inconvenience. The cleaning
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Resort_Spokesperson, Social Media Marketing Officer at Monateng Safari Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Road20023736120. Thank you for the 5/5 review and for the compliment about our chalets and cleaning services. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the activities our Resort provides and that you had such a relaxing stay. We hope you will return in the near future. Warm Regards – The Monateng Team.
Read more
The location is very good. A very special resort for my grandson. He loves riding his bicycle all over and he enjoy the games room. We visit Monateng Safari Lodge very often. Surely we will recommend it to friends and visit again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Resort_Spokesperson, Social Media Marketing Officer at Monateng Safari Lodge
Responded 14 Jan. 2019
Hi Trail67343892008. Thank you for the 4/5 rating and review. We are so pleased to hear that your grandson had such a lovely time at our Resort. We hope you will return soon again! Best Regards – The Monateng Team.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Gardens and put-put
Curious Kudu on the Patio
Gardens and put-put
Gardens and put-put
350 per night
0 votes
Show all answers
Spar is 8km away
1 vote
Spar is +_ 10KM
1 vote
Do they have heated pool?
No heated pool to my knowledge...we were there in summer so not much need for it...
1 vote
Bikes will be for hire, don't recall seeing any though and the game drives are definitely not free.
0 votes
"Any chalet will be good depending on what size you need."
"Nyala number 5"
"Kudu units are furthest from the main complex but lovely units."
"We stayed in the Kudu chalets Is in the bush very private but lots of flies!"
"the chalets by Zebra are close to the activities."
USD 36 - USD 131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
monateng safari hotel pretoria
South AfricaGautengPretoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing