We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vineyard Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vineyard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,122: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 October 2015

I attended a conference here, and was given a brand new room that was clearly not ready for occupation. There were workers hammering away in the hallway, and outside the patio doors. I asked to be moved to another room, and was given room 114. This was in between other rooms that were being used for conference meetings. This treatment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bwgs888
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and honest comments. While this conference may be a repeat next year, we have also taken note of your sentiment and requested that they take rooms in one area of the hotel so as not to cause disruption to other guests. Once again, our sincere apologies for your poor experience, we trust that you will...

Mauritius
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

Just spent a week's family holiday at The Vineyard. The hotel arranged for 3 adjacent Courtyard facing rooms on same floor, which was most appreciated. Some renovation being done but did not bother us at all. Great breakfast, spoilt for choice. Most caring & helpful regarding our daughter's very special low protein diet. Pity we did not manage to have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Echo32
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad that you were able to spend time together with your family at the Vineyard and that your stay with us was such a great experience. We do hope that we will see you at the hotel again soon. Warm regards Roy Davies

Eastcote, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2015

This was our second visit this year and we were not disappointed. We found the staff exceptionally helpful - especially the reception staff. The view from our room was excellent (we had a 'mountain-view' room). We will definitely be back when we next visit Cape Town. The hotel runs a shuttle service to the Waterfront and is also close to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank colinsp2013
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colin Thank you for your positive comments. We are so glad that you had such a good experience with us and found our staff to be exceptionally helpful. We look forward to hosting you again when you are next in Cape Town. kind regards Roy Davies

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

Beautiful and breathtaking surroundings. Nice rooms and overall decor. Totally underserved by the inattentive and not interested staff. I wish it had been different but all my colleagues and I had to work hard to get any decent service. The hotel has tremendous value as a destination but the service needs a considerable upgrade.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PSatyapal
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. We are so sorry that you found the serve to be inattentive. We have taken your comments into consideration and shared them with our team. Despite this, we do hope that you will come and stay with us again soon and we can show you some of...

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

The hotel was recommended to me by three different people. I was not disappointed. The best garden I have seen, rooms are clean, breakfast in the garden bring the proper mood for the coming day. Unfortunately I had no chance to try spa, cause of high demand spa reservations should be done pretty in advance. Highly recommend to everyone to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4Katerina
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katerina Thank you for your comment. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and do hope that you will come and stay with us again soon, and hopefully get to enjoy a treatment at Angsana Spa too! Kind regards Roy Davies

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Have been staying here for over 8 years . Turns out last stay was my 24th stay. The staff are fantastic, many have been here for years. Both the hotel restaurant and Myoga are excellent . Myoga is expensive in Rand terms, but you get what you pay for. Yes, you will find critical reviews , just check how may...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mikel235
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. We have a large number of staff that have served guests at the Vineyard for over 10 years, and some now in their 35th year of service. The staff are the intellectual capital that ensures our guests are recognised and warmly welcomed visit after visit. Looking forward to seeing you back for...

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015

I've stayed in more palatial hotels, with larger rooms, but nowhere have I enjoyed my stay more than I did here. I adored everything about this place: the building is full of charm, the grounds are stunning, the food was wonderful, and the staff were the happiest, most helpful group of people imaginable. Having breakfast on the patio with Table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we are so glad that it was such a pleasant one. We are thrilled that you found the staff friendly and helpful and were able to take in some of the magnificent backdrop that we are so proud of. I will definitely share your...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 October 2015

This hotel came highly recommended and I guess that was part of the problem. It's a faded gem in an incredible location. They're starting to put some money into it but instead of closing off floors or sections to be renovated you have to walk through the bits being redone to get to your room. Quite incredibly, I was attending...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jamie L
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jamie Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We do apologise that our current period upgrade program was such an inconvenience and affected your conference. We are thankfully 75% completed and have returned 32 rooms to inventory. We do hope that you will return to visit us again when it is finished and...

England
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We had initially a terrible booking experience with the hotel reservation staff trying to exploit the booking by hiking up the price we had booked for the earlier 3 days through Booking.com. Only when Manager stepped in common sense prevailed and we had our rate agreed in writing by email directly BUT when settling the final bill all the good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cthecliffs
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experiences during your stay with us and your direct mail to myself. I have looked into what appears to have gone wrong with your extended booking and have addressed it both with the reservations team and the front desk. While we do admit that there was an initial error, this...

London
Reviewed 16 October 2015

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for a few days at the start of October, booking through Booking.com (linked from Trivago). Unfortunately, we were placed in a room right in the middle of the on-going refurbishments. Whilst the room was nice enough (apparently we were the first people to stay in this newly – refurbished room), we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tomaroon
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment and share your experiences. I must apologise that we did not handle your experience very well. We have endeavoured to be sensitive to the needs of our guests during the upgrade work, and over the past 7 months have been largely successful. I am advised that much of the visible work as...

898 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (665)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (213)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (56)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (217)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (201)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Garden View Junior Suite (37)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (5)
Viewed
Mountain View Room (32)
Viewed
Mountain View Suite (52)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,637 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,032 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,919 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 207 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue - all set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to airport, city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Price Range: $215 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel Newlands
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa
Vineyard Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vineyard Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Vineyard Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles JaneChichester, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would pick a Mountain View Room We are in a River Suite which is lovely and quiet but having tried both would go for the view next time”
 of 5 bubbles DebraG366, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request a room overlooking the gardens and mountains”
 of 5 bubbles janetsD4602EI, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all the rooms are fine”
 of 5 bubbles paula1756, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Mountain view rooms are nice”
 of 5 bubbles Darlington123, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5