We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Vineyard Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vineyard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,043: English reviews
London
Reviewed 16 October 2015

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for a few days at the start of October, booking through Booking.com (linked from Trivago). Unfortunately, we were placed in a room right in the middle of the on-going refurbishments. Whilst the room was nice enough (apparently we were the first people to stay in this newly – refurbished room), we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tomaroon
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment and share your experiences. I must apologise that we did not handle your experience very well. We have endeavoured to be sensitive to the needs of our guests during the upgrade work, and over the past 7 months have been largely successful. I am advised that much of the visible work as...

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We had a corporate dinner in the conference centre but we were blown away by the quality of the food and wine. Amazing staff and settings. The management obviously train their staff well because they are all professional and attentive without being in your face. The food was served at the same time per table and still hot and fresh....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sang F
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed corporate dining experience and were impressed by the standard of service and food. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you and your colleagues again in the near future. Warm regards Roy Davies

Reviewed 15 October 2015

The Vineyard is a beautiful hotel with stunning gardens and panoramic views. The rooms are modern and clean. The hotel has great spa, pool and gym facilities. The food in the restaurant is excellent and is accompanied by superb service. I will definitely stay at the vineyard again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank si_falla
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of the Vineyard. We look forward to seeing you back here soon. Warm regards Roy Davies

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2015

As we used Cape Town as a base to explore the entire Cape, we returned here a couple of times during our vacation. Vineyard is out of Cape Town centre but nestled under Table Mountain on the other side of the ocean and close to Kirstenbosch Gardens and in the plush district of Newlands. The hotel staff are friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eat1Drink2Travel3
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at the Vineyard and were able to explore some of its beautiful surrounds. We hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again soon. Kind regards Roy Davies

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 10 October 2015

The four of us had lunch in the garden on a beautiful Saturday afternoon, the most amazing garden one can imagine, unfortunately, that was the only amazing feature. It was four of us, we had no wine and ordered four different items. Calamari strips in batter, tabouleh salad, Caesar salad with grilled free range chicken as a extra and a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SH389
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at The Vineyard. We do apologise that you did not have a positive experience and felt that the service was insufficient. I have addressed your comments to the chef and management team and who have taken measures to ensure that there is an improvement in the food and service...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 October 2015

The hotel is well situated, beautiful views of the mountain and renowned gardens. Elegant and modern, oozing charm. the rooms have been refurbished - the beds are enormous and extra comfy. Breakfast is superb with a great selection of fresh fruits too. A busy bar lounge and patio area for cocktails or tea - be prepared to wait a while....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlisonMac2015
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alison I really appreciate your wonderful comments. The Lounge and the Patio, just never seem to get quiet, there are always people, but they don't impact the peaceful nature of the space. The view of the mountain late afternoon, or the freshness of the air in the early morning is just awesome. See you back here soon. Warm regards...

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Quaint old days hotel of old money : but still modern with English layback style...with well tended gardens surroundings and large tortoises moving around and quiet serenety better experienced than explained. Superb service with attentive waitresses . And if too stressed you can take a 30 min or more massage.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellingben66
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and capturing some of the essence that is the Vineyard. The gardens, tortoises and the walk along the river, all equal serenity. Hope to see you back here soon for a relaxed afternoon on the banks of the Liesbeek. Kind regards Roy Davies

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

My wife and I came and stayed for a week and this place has to be one of the loveliest hotels I've ever stayed it. Apart from the rich history, the green and lush surroundings, and a stunning closeup view of table mountain, this is an excellent hotel. The hotel itself if run very well with the friendliest, most polite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thesmalltalker
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your warm feedback. We are thrilled that you had such a great stay with us and were particularly impressed with the service. We are always happy to hear our staff so enthusiastically praised. We particularly thank you for mentioning Thembeka and have ensured she hears of how impressed you were. We do hope that you...

Kimberley, South Africa
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

The Vineyard has been a go to place since I was a schoolboy in CT quite a few years ago and it seems to get better. Besides the view from the veranda and beautiful gardens the service and attention to detail perfect. I like the art and artefacts on display. Thoroughly enjoyed the two night stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris R
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad to have been a positive part of your life since your school days and do hope you will continue visiting us well into the future. You are in good and plentiful company. Warm regards Roy Davies

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2015

The staff of this hotel are so incredibly professional and caring. Two of our guests had lost some of their purchases and the team with absolute professionalism and dedication helped the guests find their purchases. How incredibly nice it is to work with such professionalism.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tourafrisouth
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your kind comments about our staff. They really do invest emotionally in our guests and it’s wonderful for this level of professionalism to be noticed and commented upon. We are relieved the purchases were found and do hope to see you and your guests at the hotel again soon. Warm regards Roy Davies

817 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (584)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (188)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (184)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (201)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Garden View Junior Suite (37)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (5)
Viewed
Mountain View Room (32)
Viewed
Mountain View Suite (52)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#8 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,331 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
590 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 207 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue - all set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to airport, city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Price Range: $240 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel Newlands
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa
Vineyard Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vineyard Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Vineyard Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a mountain view room -preferably on 3rd floor”
 of 5 bubbles colinsZ4566QT, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Worth paying extra for a view of Table Mountain, and, if possible, getting a room with your own patio!”
 of 5 bubbles Marubenjem, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the inner courtyard are subject to the noise of frogs throughout the night. Avoid a ground floor room in this area!”
 of 5 bubbles clival, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For good sleep quality, opt for high floors or garden rooms”
  • Junior Garden Suite
  • Junior Garden Suite
  • Junior Garden Suite
  • Gardens
  • Gardens
  • Gardens
 of 5 bubbles dayjj21, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“212 and 108”
 of 5 bubbles Astranova, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay