We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Forum Homini Hotel

Hotels.comUSD 163*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Forum Homini Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 321: English reviews
Start your review of Forum Homini Hotel
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I love Forum Homini and Roots and are frequent visitors coming at least once a year and more often than not, twice a year.. We usually stay over but on this occasion we only came for dinner - it was our Anniversary (6 May). It is always a treat - the staff are so warm, friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markborrajeiro
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 April 2017

If you're looking for a wedding steeped in high touch, breathtaking surroundings, a team that will move heaven and earth to get things right and a truly memorable experience, please choose Forum Homini. Perfect for a wedding, romantic weekend, away, a celebration or just any reason to get away, relax and unwind.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lreddy2016
Toulouse, France
Reviewed 1 April 2017

I went back to this hotel and after two years nothing had changed it is a fantastic experience. The hotel does not have many rooms and they are hidden a way in the hillside. The entrance to the hotel is brilliantly done with African sculptures giving you the feel of being in a special place. The owners clearly had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonP3131
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 22 March 2017

A thoroughly enjoyable experience! Very friendly and helpful staff, 5-star appointed rooms and a lovely ambience. We felt very spoilt by all the little touches in the room. A great start or finish for anyone visiting South Africa via Johannesburg. We will gladly recommend this venue and return for future visits.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank betz26
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We stayed for our anniversary at Forum Homini and roots restaurant - what an experience of utmost comfort and luxury. Ever friendly and professional staff who are there to see to your every need. The standard luxury rooms are spacious and designed in such a manner that you can't help to relax and feel right at home. We dined at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mornem291
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Lovely setting and great food. Room is covered in flies - we were only told when we arrived that there is a fly problem and we were provided with a can of DOOM and citronela candles, which didn't help remove the 100+ flies from INSIDE our room alone - very unhappy for a fantastic facility such as this to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Kalk. Thank you for your review we will take it to heart and make it our own and make good work of it. May I kindly ask that you mail me directly at gm@forumhomini.com as all my mails to you at this stage seems not to reach you. Kind Regards

Haga Haga
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Lovely place, lovely staff, lovely surroundings - really felt spoilt !! Very spacious rooms with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Accommodation quiet, very private and blend in wonderfully with the surrounding bush. A bonus would have been to see some animals but the birds were a pleasure to watch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 705judyp
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 705judyp Thank you so very much for your memorable review. We enjoy nothing more than spoiling our guest and we are most glad when we can share with you the peace and tranquility of our lovely surrounds. Hope to see you soon. Regards

Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here a few times and even got engaged here, we have never been disappointed until now, we had been trying to get our whole group of friends here Raving about how amazing forum Homini is, when we finally get friends to join us it was a bit embarrassing! Firstly we had never before experienced...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank noelscoetzee17
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear noelscoetzee17 In our industry there are few things as disappointing as failing your regular guest and patrons. The very fact that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us is to us ,most regretful after you had plenty memorable experiences with us before.I assure you that we have taken your feedback to heart and have shared it among...

Krugersdorp, South Africa
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Went their for a conference and it was very nice, lunch was delicious but served in small portions otherwise it was a great experience and excellent service. The staff and service is absolutely fantastic. I can highly recommend this fine dining experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha F
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natasha F Always a bonus if we manage to impress our conference delegates with our staff and services as this task is more difficult as you are part of a bigger group. Thank you so very much for you "high recommendation" it is revered by our entire team. Kind Regards

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 February 2017

I have always wanted to stay at Forum Homini, but to be honest, I was disappointed. Let me firstly say that Roots (the restaurant) was excellent in every respect. Food, sommelier, service, view, wine pairing. High quality and very enjoyable for foodies like ourselves. The disappointment came in with the rooms. There were nice elements e.g. huge shower and bath,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane G We appreciate all reviews and it carries our undivided attention , and as such we have embraced your review in it`s entirety and made it our own. We have entered into a new partnership with a company to remedy the fly problem we have been experiencing of late and have since started legal proceedings against the perpetrators...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muldersdrift
7.7 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
455 reviews
23.2 km away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
5.7 km away
Avianto
Avianto
#3 of 5 in Muldersdrift
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
186 reviews
24.4 km away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
251 reviews
23.7 km away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Forum Homini offers luxury cave style accommodation and fine dining for connosieurs. Experience the gem in The Cradle of Humankind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Forum Homini Hotel

Address: Letamo Game Estate | Kromdraai, R540 (Off N14), Muldersdrift 1739, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Price Range: $208 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Forum Homini Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Forum Homini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Forum Homini Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Forum Homini Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are well appointed and beautifully decorated. The presidential suite is an absolute must do.”
lreddy2016, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the presidential suite it is the best hotel room I have ever stayed in.”
SimonP3131, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book well in advance as they are very popular and availability might be a problem.”
mornem291, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take a Fly Exterminator with you”
ryank62, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Looking little tired and could do with some maintenance. Was a great pity we really couldn't enjoy the outdoors either from restaurant surrounds or at room because of the HUGE amount of flies! Wish we had known about the pool!”
705judyp, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 163* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 168
Orbitz.comUSD 163
Expedia.comUSD 163
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates