We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

By Bush Telegraph Lodge

TravelocityUSD 66*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 69*
USD 66*
Great Deal
USD 67*
USD 69*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
By Bush Telegraph Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 84: English reviews
Start your review of By Bush Telegraph Lodge
 Click to rate
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My company's JHB office is in Midrand and only a short drive from the guest house. when I stay over for meetings and training I always stay at By Bush Telegraph because it is quiet, comfortable and the gardens are well kept.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc_Beall
Polokwane, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are a group of friends that travel to a Outdoor Expo at Gallagher Estates every year and we stay at surrounding hotels and guesthouses. This will however change in future as we discovered BBT Lodge on our last visit to Midrand and BBT will be our preferred choice in future. It ticks all the boxes, safe environment within a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kallie3006
Cernusco sul Naviglio, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely room and very quiet place. Breakfast and dinner was very good. Dinner was available only if you book it in the morning. The owners were very friendly The only negative thing was that there wasn't airconditioner in the room ------- Camera molto bells e posto molto tranquillo. La colazione e la cena erano molto buoni. La cena era disponibile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franco P
BBTLodge, Manager at By Bush Telegraph Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback. Our team highly values your comments and suggestions. It is in our future plans to upgrade our rooms with air-conditioning as an additional heating and cooling solution to the existing ones we already have in place. We look forward to your next visit, and our aim is to have all upgrades done before your...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great guesthouse. Clean, comfotable and really helpful and friendly. Angela and Antal are always around to make sure everything runs 100%. They put in a lot of effort to make everything seem effortles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christa B
BBTLodge, Manager at By Bush Telegraph Lodge, responded to this review

It is always to our greatest pleasure to look after such a lovely couple like yourselves. We are excited to learn that you and your family had a pleasant stay. Your support is highly appreciated and we already look forward to your next stay at our guest house. We wish you good luck with your enterprise!

UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights at By Bush before an overland tour with Nomad Africa. Staff were so welcoming and friendly. Rooms were basic but had everything you needed. Dinner in the evening was delicious and plentiful. Compound was very secure and on a private estate. There is an extensive choice for breakfast and cooked to order.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank backpackthew0rld
BBTLodge, Manager at By Bush Telegraph Lodge, responded to this review

Our Team highly values your comments. We hope to see you back in the near future and look forward to exceed your expectations with our ever improving services and facilities.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Central Venue. Friendly welcoming staff. Secure and relaxed environment. Have already made my next reservation, i don't have to look for venues anymore! Found the one. The Equestrian estate adds a country home feel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delwyn M
BBTLodge, Manager at By Bush Telegraph Lodge, responded to this review

It was an absolute joy to read you feedback. We are really delighted to learn, that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our entire Team looks forward to look after you during your next visit in Midrand. We wish you more luck with your venture in the future and safe travels!

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 8 March 2017

It's a great place for me to stay over, when I'm visiting our head office. The location is great, as it's within a quiet and very secure gated community. Excellent security and easy access to restaurants etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 129dw
BBTLodge, Manager at By Bush Telegraph Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely feedback. It is, as always our greatest pleasure the be your hosts while you are staying in Midrand. We look forward to accommodate you again.

Ballito
Reviewed 5 March 2017

First of all it was very easy to reach the location from the hiway. The location was perfectly situated for all the places we were visiting, not on any of our outings did we have to travel more than 25 minutes, even into Centurion. Angela was friendly & precise in her explanations on our arrival. We had a super comfortable...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MandyAckhurst
BBTLodge, Manager at By Bush Telegraph Lodge, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your feedback and happy to hear that you have enjoyed our services. Both point mentioned in your comment has been put on our improvement agenda for this year, and we hope that we will have them completed for your next visit. We look forward to welcome you back. Safe travels!

Secunda, South Africa
Reviewed 1 March 2017

The environment Very peaceful and quiet.Unfortunately we only spent one night,Maybe the menu can have more variety,food served was good.We enjoyed the stay very much.This is not an environment we frequent often,but should we have more business in the area we will certainly check in again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 666henniek
BBTLodge, Manager at By Bush Telegraph Lodge, responded to this review

Your comment is valued highly. Thank you for your patronage and we hope that we’ll have the opportunity once again to go beyond your expectations during your next stay at our guest house in Midrand.

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent hospitality service. Superb clean room and excellent food. The hosts have an excellent eye for detail. Nothing is too much bother. Very nice two course evening meal. Laundry washed and dried same day. Have no complaints. Thank you very much for everything including plants. Hope jigsaw gets finished soon ☺

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie O
BBTLodge, Manager at By Bush Telegraph Lodge, responded to this review

We are all delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at By Bush Telegraph Lodge. We really enjoyed looking after you and we hope that you will honor us to be your hosts for your future stay in Midrand again. I am afraid that the jigsaw puzzle however will remain yours to complete. Till next time …

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midrand hotels
6.6 km away
Premier Hotel Midrand
Premier Hotel Midrand
#1 of 10 in Midrand
298 reviews
8.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand
4.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
BON Hotel Midrand
BON Hotel Midrand
#5 of 10 in Midrand
71 reviews
1.9 km away
Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge
Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge
#1 of 57 in Midrand
99 reviews
15.1 km away
Aloe Lane Guest Lodge
Aloe Lane Guest Lodge
#3 of 57 in Midrand
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We chosen the name - BY BUSH TELEGRAPH - to our guest house because it refers to communication. We hope that after you experienced our outstanding accommodation, quality comfort and memorable guest service and facilities, then you will spread the word on our behalf. Our beautiful quirky Sardinian styled guest house stands out like a white jewel in the green countryside of the Randjesfontein Equestrian Estate in the centre of Midrand. Our accommodation is a rural country haven that is conveniently located to where you need to be and yet gives an escape to unwind after a hard working day. Relax in our cozy railway-sleeper Pub. Enjoy your favorite nightcap upstairs on one of our decks with lovely views. Indulge yourself in our home-cooked dinners served in our restaurant, pub. Take a dip in our inviting swimming pool. Take a walk in our luscious gardens. "We look forward to exceeding your expectations and delivering a standard of service that separates us from the ordinary." ... more   less 

Additional Information about By Bush Telegraph Lodge

Address: 22 Riboville Road | Johannesburg, Midrand 1683, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Price Range: $73 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By Bush Telegraph Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your By Bush Telegraph Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from By Bush Telegraph Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The one near reception had a huge bath,but ones at the back have lovely verranda to sit out on😀”
janeontour, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Excellent stop over”
sylviaw49, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Go for the main bedrooms at the top, they all have tv's in the room.”
philamagidigidi, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“All looked good”
Travelnick, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Everywhere is quiet and the rooms were all lovely”
robynnes235, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
USD 66* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 67
PricelineUSD 69
Expedia.comUSD 68
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates