We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

943 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 809: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 17 July 2015

The hotel is near the airport, there is free shuttle service running every 30 min, good size, quiet room, comfortable bed, free WiFi and it worked well, good choice of international tv channels, good size bathroom and shower; good breakfast (variety and quality of foods offered) though not included in the room rate. Helpful staff at the Front Desk and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank adm496
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel It gives me great pleasure to read your feedback. I will be sure to relay your compliments to our Chef and STAFF that had made your stay with us as lovely as what you describe. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

Rooms are well appointed and functional and the food selection adequate. The shuttle service was excellent. Service beyond the basics was poor; finding a replacement for a faulty remote took from 9 am to after 4 pm with several trips to reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am happy that you found our hotel’s facilities and offerings to be good. I would like to sincerely apologize however for the experience had with our staff not offering the service expected of them and I can assure you that this is not the standard that...

Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewed 13 July 2015

I stayed one night at Protea Hotel in between a safari and then flying to Durban to do some scuba diving. The hotel kept a piece of luggage for me while I was on safari until I checked in 11 days later. This was very helpful as the other hotels wouldn't do it and the airport charged $7 per day!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike F
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am very happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us as well as the additional services and facilities that we offer. We do pride ourselves on trying to assist our GUESTS as much as possible in terms of making their trips in and out...

Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Excellent hotel wonderfully located near the airport. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food good and rooms more than adequate. Quiet rooms despite nearness to airport. Free regular shuttle bus. Lovely pool area for use in warmer months.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. Reading your review has made me very proud of my TEAM and I will be sure to relay your compliments to them for their dedicated service and friendliness you had received. I am glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you...

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Stayed 2 nights at ZAR 950 per night. Extremely modern and spacious room on the 4th floor. Super comfortable bed. Brilliant WiFi - the best in 5 months thru Africa. Free 500mb although the guy on reception also provided vouchers for an extra 1gb on check in - not used but very much appreciated. Tea, coffee, water in the room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MJS1966
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. It gives me great pleasure to read your review and we are so happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us and all the facilities and services we offer. We do offer all our GUESTS a comfortable and peaceful nights rest with our windows...

Sydney
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

I wasn't expecting much from an airport hotel and I just needed an overnight to catch a connecting flight the next morning. The Protea exceeded expectation. The hotel offers a free shuttle every half an hour (from the bus terminal behind the Intercontinental) and the driver set the pace for the friendly and helpful staff service I received during my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LilyfromSydney
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. It makes me very proud to read such lovely feedback. I am so happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be returning in the future. I will be sure to relay all your compliments to our...

Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

The hotel is a nice location close to the airport. The stay though was not nice. Rooms was like you were staying in a jail with high windows , dirty bedding no privacy for the washroom, even the breakfast spread was not nice. Inside was noisy too. Do not recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Preetifabs
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I would like to apologize sincerely for the bad experience you had at our Hotel. We have raised your concerns pertaining to the bedding and breakfast with the necessary department heads to rectify these situations as this is not our normal standards that we like to uphold....

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 9 July 2015

The hotel itself is convenient to the airport (via shuttle), clean and comfortable. The menu and food were very good. With three separate overnight stays in our recent 2-1/2 week trip to South Africa, the front desk experience was very mixed. On the first occasion, check-in took us over 20 minutes to have a room assigned to us (with no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I would like to firstly apologize for the experience you had during check in and check out, this is not our usual standards that we are so proud of. We have definitely taken your concerns into consideration and have addressed them with the necessary Department Heads so...

Herndon, Virginia
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

In spite of being across the highway from Just Joburg's airport this is a quiet hotel. Reception staff could not easily locate my reservation as I had paid via 3rd parties including Trip Advisor. The hotel is new and clean, staff very helpful. Breakfast seeved by Karabelo was delicious, with ample variety of fruits and cold cuts but no so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LBenavente
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our STAFF to be very helpful. I will be relaying your compliments to our Chef and Food and Beverage TEAM for the lovely Breakfast you were served. I will take...

Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 July 2015

clean, comfy and modern well rooms with lovely walk in shower. coffee and tea service in room very appreciated if you arrive early in the morning; by the by, breakfast buffet also ok with cereal bar and many hot food choices. there is ample parking if you rent a car and accommodating staff helps with any of your needs... told...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AngelaAlaska
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. It makes us very happy to hear that you regard us as perfection and we will be sure to keep it up. I will be sure to relay all your compliments to our Chef on the Breakfast Buffet and the rest of the Hotel TEAM. We look...

397 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (257)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (140)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.4 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,808 reviews
1.0 km away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
1.1 km away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.2 km away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Price Range: $108 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#9 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
Houston, TX USA

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a room on the parking lot side, much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 54dl, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room facing the parking lot. The road on the other side is very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles BruceM53, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper room facing airport for better view.”
 of 5 bubbles REVJCF, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the airport if you want to watch the planes.”
 of 5 bubbles SlothBristol_UK, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the airport if you want to see planes coming and going”
 of 5 bubbles 142RuthS, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5