We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 166: English reviews
Apple Valley, California
Reviewed 14 November 2016

this hotel may be for you. We asked for a quiet room, but were given a room on the front three floors above a street busy with heavy truck traffic. There was a strong wind blowing and the single pane windows were slamming back and forth in their frames even though the the windows were latched. We managed to secure...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George H
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear MrMikeAppleValley Thank you for your comments; I am really sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel. The hotel is situated in the busy hub of Johannesburg CBD so naturally our rooms that face the outer side of the hotel will be a little bit noisier than the ones facing the inside. Unfortunately none of our...

Hull
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We made several complaints yet things never improved ranging from late return of laundry, stains and holes in sheets, poorly cooked food messages not passed on only two or three members of staff showed any interest in customer service

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charles C
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Charles C Thank you for your comments, I am so sorry to hear that you did not receive the service you so rightly deserve. Please would you be so kind as to contact me on gm.mapungubwe@faircity.co.za to discuss your comments in detail. Kind Regards Charmaine

New York City, New York
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

The price for this hotel was pretty good ($65 for the Deluxe room) - the room itself was great, the shower was lousy (shower heads didn't work and shower frame was leaking) and the shower was small The lay out of the hotel itself is horrible, takes two elevators and a good 10-15 min walk to arrive to the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank springthrualens
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear springthrualens Thank you for your comments, we are in the process of doing some maintenance work and one of the things on our list is our shower heads/frames to ensure that our guests enjoy a great shower. Sorry that you feel that the layout of our hotel is not to your taste, the building use to be a bank...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We booked two rooms at the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel for our time in Johannesburg. I encountered problems with one of the rooms booking as I was charged ahead of time, though the booking clearly stated no charge until check-in, and after numerous calls a manager was never available to resolve the issue I canceled that booking and went with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A R M
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear A R M Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Apologies for the misunderstanding with regards to the payment arrangements. There was a glitch in the booking systems but this has since been rectified. We are very excited to announce that our new restaurant “The Marshall” will be open for our guests from next week. We...

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

This was our home away from home. I really liked my stay in this hotel. Nicely located, clean room, very friendly staff and above all its value for money. Special mention to the reception staff who are extremely helpful. Junior our driver was outstanding too. My recommendation however is to improve the breakfast variety. My rating 4.5/5. If you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kovilen
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear kovilen Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel. I will convey your comments to the whole team. We are excited to inform you that a new restaurant will be opening in November 2016 called The Marshall. With this, a new and innovating dining experience awaits us...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I have stayed here before in 2013 and 2014. I really liked the hotel then but not this time. I stayed in the hotel from August 20th until August 23rd 2016. I stayed in the Rhino room which is their penthouse. It,s certainly a big room but nothing great. Incredible that there were no plates, no cutlery, no utensils available...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen O
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel! We thank you for your constructive feedback! We are happy to confirm that we still stock all the kitchens however this is on request. I am not sure if you did not notice the kitchen stock sheet and instructions on how to stock your kitchen in the kitchen drawer. Sorry if...

Florida
Reviewed 27 August 2016

The room was good, and the staff friendly, but it seems as though this is not in the safest location. I checked in maybe around 8 o'clock or so, and was told that it was not safe to wander around the area, even to look for a restauraunt or go around the corner to the store. HAVING SAID THAT, this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Charles, Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapugubwe Hotel! Thank you for your kind and constructive feedback! We are delighted you enjoyed you stay. Management and I are excited to tell you about the new Restaurant opening in November 2016 called The Marshall. This new and innovative dinning experience has all of us so excited! We cant wait for you...

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

A very nice and luxurious hotel on a safe street. You could hear some of the cars and workers outside but it didn't disturb us. We lived in a smaller flat (!!) with bed, bathroom, kitchen and a "livingroom" (couch and a tv). The staff was friendly and the breakfast nice!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandraMalmborg
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Sandra, Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel! My team and I are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and loved the Hotel! It is a gem within the beautiful city of Johannesburg. Management and I are excited to tell you about the new Restaurant opening in November 2016 called The Marshall. This new and innovative dinning experience has...

Reviewed 14 August 2016

Rooms beautiful and spacious. Rooms clean and tidy. Serviced daily. Absolute friendly and helpful staff, from receptionist, to cleaning staff. In house restaurant Breakfast delicious Recommended for business trips.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan D
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Johan, Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel! We are delighted you loved the hotel! My team and I enjoyed your kind comments. Management and I are excited to tell you about the new Restaurant opening in November 2016 called The Marshall. This new and innovative dinning experience has all of us so excited! We cant wait for you...

Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments is a wonderful place to stay when you visit the city of Johannesburg. The hotel is strategically located in a very quiet and cossy area in Corner Marshall / Ferreira Street in Marshall town, johannesburg. The hotel boast of a very nice apartment with a good kitchen facilities. its a very nice place for a solo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simsid2014
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear simsid2014 Warmest greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel! A melting pot of culture and history. We would like to thank you for your kind review and feedback. We strive to encourage all our staff to always deliver service by design. Therefore, thank you for the feedback regarding our staff and the friendly and helpful service they gave you during...

478 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Pool (40)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Standard One Bedroom Apartment (59)
Viewed
Studio (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (46)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.4 km away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 70 in Johannesburg
344 reviews
9.2 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
295 reviews
1.1 km away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#34 of 70 in Johannesburg
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
2.9 km away
Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg
0.0 km away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#19 of 70 in Johannesburg
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 4-star property is set in the Johannesburg inner city in close proximity to the business district, FNB Stadium and Ellis / Coca Cola Park. The spacious studios and apartments at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments features and African design and includes on-site parking, fitness centre, flat screen TV and a large seating areas. A 24 hour reception desk is available. The hotel features 24 hour security and CCTV cameras.A free WiFi and internet connectivity and inner city shuttle service is offered to all guests.The Marshall at Mapungubwe (on site restaurant) serves a buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, while a variety of drinks are available at the bar.Johannesburg's OR Tambo International Airport is 24 km away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Address: Corner Marshall & Ferreira Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2107, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $67 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#16 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Denver, Colorado
7 months ago
Abuja, Nigeria
4 months ago
Victoria, Seychelles
5 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe choose close to Reception to save a long walk.”
 of 5 bubbles TKrieg, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 956Dimitrij, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are inside rooms facing the pool/deck area that were quieter than those facing the outside streets.”
 of 5 bubbles Iskuz, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't take a room above the busy street in front.”
 of 5 bubbles MrMikeAppleValley, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not visit it”
 of 5 bubbles Y9822CIcharlesc, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5