We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

    1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    USD 285*
    View Deal
    Traveller (256)
    Room & Suite (68)
    Dining (33)
    Overview
    • Excellent57%
    • Very good31%
    • Average8%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “melrose arch” (171 reviews)
    “library bar” (22 reviews)
    “m ms” (15 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Parking
    Breakfast Buffet
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Airport Transportation
    Room Service
    Suites
    Poolside Bar
    Concierge
    Wheelchair Access
    Business Centre
    Dry Cleaning
    Housekeeping
    Babysitting
    5.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
    Special Offer: Summer Advance Purchase
    Hotel packages
    Hotel deals
    Deals
    29 Oct.30 Oct.
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 285
      View Deal
    • View details
      USD 285
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 285
      View Deal
    View all 23 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (697)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 622 reviews

    Reviewed 6 days ago

    We stayed at the African Pride Hotel September 28-29 and other than the location found it to be incredibly disappointing. The room was not clean, sheets had hairs on them, and the shower floor was gritty. Amenities were lacking, the Kleenex provided was a small...More

    Thank Pat G
    Response from APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch HotelResponded 3 days ago

    Dear Pat G, I am in receipt of your comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. Pat G, as per our previous correspondence through the Marriott.com platform we cannot apologize enough for the hurt caused by the...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    This is by far one of the best urban hotels I've stayed at. The mood is very inviting, and the funky decor and ambiance make you feel at home. Although it was to cold to swim, the pool was well designed. The rooms were a...More

    Thank maxfeldman22
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    Stayed one nice because of layover in Johannesburg. One of the draws was this was located in shopping area. Well all the stores close at six so no shopping unless you arrive early. Lots of good restaurants nearby. The hotel itself was very nice. Loved...More

    Thank golffore2001
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    We were very skeptical when picking a hotel in Johannesburg. Many people warned us that the city isn't safe, you can't walk around after dark, you won't have a good stay, etc. Well, we had the exact opposite experience and this hotel had to do...More

    Thank Skigal08
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    I enjoyed staying in this hotel. The hotel sets in the middle of Melrose Arch, a high end shopping area in Joburg. There are a number of restaurants and cafes within steps of the hotel. The hotel has fun details, including soaker tubs and the...More

    Thank Melicia713
    Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
    989 reviews
    #12 of 66 hotels in Johannesburg
     
    The Peech Hotel
    574 reviews
    #3 of 66 hotels in Johannesburg
     
    DaVinci Hotel and Suites
    593 reviews
    #8 of 46 hotels in Sandton
     
    Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
    687 reviews
    #11 of 66 hotels in Johannesburg
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Room Service
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Room Service
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Laundry Service
    • Concierge
    • Conference Facilities
    • Airport Transportation
    • Banquet Room
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Babysitting
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Minibar
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Outdoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 130 - USD 279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
    • #6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
    • #6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
    • #8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Smoking rooms available ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 118
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Gauteng >
    • Greater Johannesburg >
    • Johannesburg
    • Also Known As
    • African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg ,
    • African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (256)
    Room & Suite (68)
    Dining (33)
    Pool & Beach (18)
    Hotel & Grounds (179)
    Bathroom (23)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (7)
    Nearby
    Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
    989 reviews
    .18 km away
     
    DaVinci Hotel and Suites
    593 reviews
    3.22 km away
     
    Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
    687 reviews
    3.09 km away
     
    The Peech Hotel
    574 reviews
    .91 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    moyo Melrose Arch
    1,178 reviews
    .09 km away
    Pigalle Melrose Arch
    225 reviews
    .25 km away
    JB's Corner
    323 reviews
    .10 km away
    Mezepoli Meze Wine and Bar
    235 reviews
    .26 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Bidvest Wanderers Stadium
    34 reviews
    .98 km away
    Goliath Comedy Club
    17 reviews
    .01 km away
    James and Ethel Grey Park
    15 reviews
    1.18 km away
    Wildside Tours and Safaris - Day Tours
    147 reviews
    1.49 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    DDO89
    26 March 2017|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from Caroline S | Reviewed this property |
    No Gym only outdoor pool. They do have a special deal with local gym but not sure on costs etc.
    2
    Votes
    SuperTBQ
    25 October 2016|
    AnswerShow all 7 answers
    Response from AndySmal | Reviewed this property |
    don't believe there is a free service, but an UBER from the hotel to the station would only cost around zar50 to zar70. If the hotel books you a taxi, would be much more expensive.
    1
    Vote
    hmanNewYorkCity
    16 August 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Stanley B | Reviewed this property |
    As platinum members, we received a nice room upgrade and a complimentarygift basket of wine and treats that were delivered to our room.
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "4th floor has balconies (if that's desired)"
    Read review
    "Great views from top floor rooms"
    Read review
    "Great location"
    Read review
    "Overlooking the pool is quieter"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing