We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

613 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 532: English reviews
Start your review of Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent location, safe and close to shop set but let down by room.it was small, stained carpet, no mirror and disappointing for the price paid. The Butchers Block was fantastic with really good food on both occasions we ate there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie Z
The_Rosebank_CP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Good day Melanie Z, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Muhammad Rawat...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

One of the worst meal I've had in Joburg. The Mussels aren't fresh and it's not properly cleaned. The taste is horrible. The fish is over cooked and too salty. My advice is, walk to Rosebank Mall, 5mins away, you'll get much better food anytime. It's a huge disappointment. The hotel kitchen really have to work on it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eva y
The_Rosebank_CP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Good day Eva Y Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the quality of our room service food that was not up to standard. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Muhammad Rawat...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has good security and underground parking, with convenient lift to reception. The reception staff were freindly and helpful along with being efficient. The location is very good with under a 5 minute walk to all the iminities, of central Risebank, which has many cafes, resteraunts etc. Including a couple of shopping mauls, the largest being the well know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevesedgwick
The_Rosebank_CP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Good day Steve Sedgwick Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Henri-Basil Hearne

Reviewed 1 week ago

As a Gold IHG member you do get spoiled with all the benefits and all. This Hotel goes further in giving you details of being such a member, some things I did not even know. You are then treated like royalty (no exaggeration). I really appreciated the patience and the length to which they explain things. I was of course...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eustace C
muhammad_rawat, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear Eustace C Thank you for your time in reviewing Crown plaza Johannesburg. We are delighted that your stay has been a memorable one and that the team has kept its promise with regards to the IHG rewards programme. We pride ourselves on service and we take that little extra moment to create great experiences. Your comments will be shared...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 1 night only but I would say this is a great hotel and the location is perfect in terms of safety and proximity to the City Centre and Gautrain station and Rosebank Mall. The Hotel has helpful staff, usual excellent IHG standard Room and perfect bedding the mark of IHG Group Hotels and a good overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmritB
The_Rosebank_CP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Good day Amrit B Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Henri-Basil Hearne Marketing & PR Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As businessman traveling regularly between Melbourne and Rosebank, it is always comforting to know that when I arrive at the Crowne Plaza, I will have an amazing experience. From the seamless booking-in to having my favorite room be available at my arrival, walking into a clean room, and the very friendly staff that literally bend over backwards to accommodate once's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 438gideonv
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear Mr van der Westhuizen. Thank you for your recent visit to the Crown Plaza Johannesburg. We are delighted that we continuously provide a seamless service to you, our loyal guest. On behalf of the team at Crown Plaza Johannesburg, We would like to thank you for your loyalty to our brand and look to welcome you once again in...

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am Gold member of IHG (the chain that Crowne plaza belongs to). On arrival they will give you a list of benefits which you are entitled to, but that's for the list only. You wont get any benefit, or you will have to ask them to get that. They frequently forget to keep water, coffee/tea/milk , iron box etc...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jiettu
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear Jiettu Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the poor levels of service. Your comments have been constructively communicated to the relevant departments in order to assist us in improving our service delivery. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown plaza Johannesburg. Kind Regards Muhammad Rawat

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Originally chosen for its proximity to my employers Head Office i continue to choose this hotel on each trip. Service is always excellent with a welcoming smile and a recognition of a returning client. Roomrates are excellent considering location, rooms are always clean, comfortably modern and well appointed. Only slight quibble would be the poor quality of food at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert J
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear Robert J Thank you for your recent visit to the Crown Plaza Johannesburg. We are delighted to hear that the hotels services and facilities have met and exceeded your expectations. Your comments with regards to the food quality has been passed onto our head chef who will be evaluating the above mentioned at our Butchers Block restaurant. We look...

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

I went to this hotel for business I can't stress enough how the staff of this hotel is by far the most friendly the most welcoming hotel I have ever been in. I dealt with Cynthia who manages the hotel. This lady is just the best. Making sure all is good and ready for you. Another person made my stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eb1971
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear Eb1971 Thank you so much for your recent visit to the Crown plaza Johannesburg and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us. We are delighted that our product and service delivery met and exceeded your expectations. Your comments have been shared with all members of the team. Cynthia and Prudence will be recognized for creating...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 January 2017

My friends and i booked this hotel for the 30 September 2016 - the hotel was apparently fully booked as they had a conference but managed to find two rooms to celebrate my friends birthday and bridal shower the next day. Upon check in, we were given such attitude by the host - he wouldn't give me the second key...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loobnapatel
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear loobnapatel. Thank you so much for your recent visit to the Crown plaza Johannesburg and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the poor levels of service. Your comments have been constructively communicated to the relevant departments in order to assist us in improving our service delivery. Please allow...

686 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (182)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
0:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (370)
Viewed
Amenities (61)
Viewed
Club Room (65)
Viewed
Executive Suite (72)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (134)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
0.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 70 in Johannesburg
614 reviews
3.1 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.5 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
349 reviews
0.5 km away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#32 of 70 in Johannesburg
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank is a modern and stylish Johannesburg Hotel that is ideally located for business and leisure travel. The establishment is only 30 minutes drive from O.R.Tambo International Airport and a short drive from the Johannesburg and Sandton Business Districts. The hotel is in walking distance of the Rosebank Mall and the African Craft Market that offers visiting guests a wide array of up-market shopping and dining options. The hotel’s central location makes it the ideal base to access famous Johannesburg tourist attractions such as the Apartheid Museum, Lion Park and Soweto. Coca Cola Park Stadium and Wanderers Cricket Ground , both major sports stadiums are within 10 minutes drive from the hotel.If you do not feel the need to venture out of the hotel, we offer the various dining options such as the Butcher Block, Fresh Restaurant and the Rosebank Cafe. For some of the most famous cocktails in Johannesburg, our very own funky and trendy Circle Bar is the place to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank

Address: CNR Tyrwhitt & Sturdee Avenues | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $138 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank Hotel Rosebank
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not have room 729!”
 of 5 bubbles 135melaniez, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Views of the Hillbrow Tower are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles AmritB, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ensure hotel service standard is maintained- it all begins and ends with good staff!”
 of 5 bubbles 438gideonv, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“maybe ask for a room in the new wing.”
 of 5 bubbles skyscraper6, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors of the North Tower are my preference - good views and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 444daved, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5