We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tintswalo at Waterfall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tintswalo at Waterfall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 76: English reviews
Start your review of Tintswalo at Waterfall
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Wow, wonderful ambiance, service and quality of food. All spoiled by the state of the washroom in the restaurant.. Guys you need invest effort, service and staff into all aspects of your offerings.. Otherwise would have achieved a 5 star..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davidgreen69
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

The place looks amazing. Absolutely amazing. The whole stable concept of the rooms is quite charming. Breakfast was on point and the views, wonderful. I would definitely go back. The check-in took a bit too long though. But overall, I'm happy with my stay at this place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mohlomi M
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Dear Mohlomi, Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience with us and that you like our hotel. We look forward to host you again in the near future.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

This is one of those unique places, very stylish & modern. Awesome for exclusive events or small/medium size weddings. The views, the open spaces, well decorated, classy & upmarket. The staff very friendly, the food is amazing! Free Wi-Fi for guests.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mosibudishibu
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for the kind words. We hope to see you soon. Regards

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

What a breathtakingly stunning property. Upon arrival do yourself a favour and really take in the views, the decor, sprawling lawn and horse riders in te arena. The conference room were were booked in had stunning views on the waterfall/Midrand area an the horse riding arena. Staff is effecient. The only disappointing thing about this venue is their uninspiring buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ayanda007
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you love our venue. You will also be happy to hear that our new exec chef Jandri has been hard at work on creating beautiful new menus for next year. They will kick off on 9 January. We look forward to have you visit...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed the experience overall. The really great bits are the location, the staff (all of whom were wonderful), the relaxed vibe, delicious food and wine choice. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip. There have been mentions in other reviews about staff attitude but I found everyone very welcoming, attentive...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChelseaBlue66
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you very much for your review and your feedback. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will look into the noise levels coming from the air-cons. We look forward to have you stay again with us in the near future. Regards

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 November 2016

A friend of mine had her farewell party here. She booked for about 16 people on my recommendation as i had been here before and i know they are flexible with large group bookings. We ordered from a set menu and as always the food did not disappoint and the dessert was scrumptious. The only issue with the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yuggibear
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good morning, I hope you are well. Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and had a good experience.

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

My stay at Tintswalo at Waterfall was good and comfortable. I stayed there for one night only on business at the same venue. The rooms are very spacious. My only "complaint" was that the wifi did not work during my entire stay. Although I mentioned this to the manager they still could not get it to work.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ratego
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good morning Ratego, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have since sorted our our Wifi and it works perfectly now. We look forward to have you stay with us again in the near future. Regards, Martin

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 October 2016

My experience at Tintswalo was unfortunately very disappointing. It started well enough and went downhill from there. Firstly, the positives: Room The room is very nice. Spacious and well appointed. We stayed on the polo field side and had a lovely view from the room over the polo fields. They provide sherry for sundowners. The bathroom was a good size...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carrolfam
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good morning, I am truly sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at Waterfall. This is definitely not how we intend our guests to experience the hotel. We will make work of the points you mentioned in your review. Feel free to send me further details of your stay on gm@waterfall.tintswalo.com. I hope that you will grant us...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Just love driving into this safe and secure hotel located very central for business and pleasure. To entertain clients is so convenient as you can stay right where you are or travel just down the road to great restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 871elnac
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good day, We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you return soon. Regards, Martin

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 28 September 2016

What a wonderful service we have received and the staff members are very friendly and efficient. World class culinary arts. The environment is quite and decor very classy. i would recommend the venue to any person.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matlale
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good morning Matlale, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to host you again in the near future. Regards, Martin

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
17.5 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
13.3 km away
Ten Bompas
Ten Bompas
#15 of 70 in Johannesburg
92 reviews
16.1 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.0 km away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#19 of 70 in Johannesburg
184 reviews
31.4 km away
Thaba Eco Hotel
Thaba Eco Hotel
#11 of 70 in Johannesburg
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A unique urban boutique hotel close to the Johannesburg CBD and within short distance from major international airports. Sixteen luxurious rooms on a 230 hectare secure estate. Guests also enjoy the culinary delights offered by The Feedroom Restaurant, situated on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tintswalo at Waterfall

Address: Cnr R55 & Maxwell Drive | Waterfall City, Johannesburg 1684, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $458 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo at Waterfall 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Tintswalo at Waterfall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tintswalo at Waterfall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See the review”
 of 5 bubbles ChelseaBlue66, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose the Polo Field side to stay - nice views”
 of 5 bubbles Carrolfam, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are equally beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles ArumLilea, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“lovely views of grass field where horses can be exercised.”
 of 5 bubbles yvettedejager, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“i have no complains with the room, but i would change the couches ”
 of 5 bubbles 78musag, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5