We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lebo\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 25 March 2016

If you want to experience the word’s most famous township, Lebo’s four-hour bike tour is certainly a excellent way to get a little bit closer to Soweto’s population, its culture and history. Compared to other attractions this one is in my opinion a bit pricey but on the other hand not too many opportunities exist for a not only superficial...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GyuriP
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2016

If you travel to Johannesburg - going to Soweto is a must. I had already heard a lot of good things about Lebo's Soweto Backpackers. That's why we stayed there for 3 nights.We booked a comfortable double room. The staff was friendly and I loved the outdoor area with fire place and the chilling areas. This is the perfect place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudia0983
Austria
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Friendly and helpful staff and the food was delicious, every meal was cooked with love. The area outside was nice and perfect for relaxing after our bike tour. The backpacker has charm and atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina S
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 11 March 2016

We fell in love with this place. You can get home cooked meals every morning and evening. The food was very local and nice. We also loved the outdoor bar/lounge area. There are a few animals and a fire was always going for us. The beer is priced nicely and the people there were either backpacking such as ourselves or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ptrpdrm
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Sadly, I am writing now because has Lebo's has become a very unpleasant place to be, largely because of the owners. I wrote a glowing review 2 years ago but the place has fallen apart since then. Maria and Lebo are blatantly and loudly abusive to their employees in front of guests. It is horrible to be eating or trying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet T
Manager_Malepa, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Janet, It is of great sadness we read all your comments and even though you have nothing but extremely bad words to give us we are very sad that you left our hostel feeling the way you describe. You are however not truthful in your review and you are making sweeping statements you know nothing about and we wish...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2016

We did an all day tour and thought it well worth the money. Soweto is far larger than we thought with far a greater spectrum of living standards than expected, so there is plenty to see. Our guide was likeable, knowledgeable and passionate about his country. Our lunch was included in the price of the tour but don't expect restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 February 2016

I've stayed at several hostels throughout South Africa, including those in Pretoria, Cape Town, Durban, and Johannesburg, and BY FAR, Lebo's is the best hostel I have ever been to. Not only is Lebo's physically attractive, with the scenic backyard, festive decorations, comfortable rooms and clean bathrooms, but the staff is incredibly friendly and welcoming. They all allowed me to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kaylacody0
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

I came here just for the Soweto bike tour - it was fantastic! The guides were extremely knowledgable and friendly. It was a great insight into Soweto and the daily lives of its people. When we returned, we were treated to a delicious authentic lunch and tried some local traditional beer. Would definitely recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank becy_m
Auckland
Reviewed 28 January 2016

When we told South African colleagues that we were visiting Soweto at the end of our African trip, they looked at us as if we were insane as they said it was unsafe and awful. However, we booked with Lebo's and had an absolutely fantastic time there. This is the real Africa folks. A nice, clean hostel with friendly staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank scottyheather
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 27 January 2016

I stayed at Soweto Backpackers during the first part of my trip in South Africa. The staff is very friendly, and Soweto is beautiful! My only complaint would be for them to get mosquito nets because they were literally tearing everyone up overnight. The culture of Soweto is wonderful, something I don't think I would have received if I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tamara W

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
12.7 km away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
16.3 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
678 reviews
13.5 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#2 of 96 in Johannesburg
191 reviews
10.5 km away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#9 of 96 in Johannesburg
81 reviews
11.5 km away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#7 of 96 in Johannesburg
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

Address: 10823A Pooe Street | Orlando West, Johannesburg 1804, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $17 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lebo's Soweto Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Lebo's Soweto Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lebo`s Soweto Backpackers Hotel Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lebo's Soweto Backpackers staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Lebo's Soweto Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The double room is lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles annaoY2016PD, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a fan to be put in your room in the hot summer months.”
 of 5 bubbles garethcraig, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Dorms are cramped and crowded. There are only 2 single options. The double room is the best room but is expensive if you are on a budget.”
 of 5 bubbles littletripper1968, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Have both shared and private rooms, according to your preference.”
 of 5 bubbles 277tamaraw, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The room located just behind the reception is a bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 529franka, 3 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5