We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Outlook Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Outlook Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Outlook Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 249: English reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We stayed here on our way to Botswana and Zimbabwe for a safari. We had some hiccups and Francois was AMAZING to us....for example, he drove more than 30 minutes across town to buy us a camera battery when we found ours had died. Food is great, rooms are clean and lovely, beds are comfortable, food was good, and value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank agewirtz2016
Reviewed 24 July 2016

What a hospitality, a great staff and very nice place to stay overnight before you explore the country. We stayed here twice, once when we landed and once before we went back home. They have a shuttle that brings you to the airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marjolein B
Hermanus
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We have been using Outlook Lodge for years. Nothing changes - prompt airport pick-up and return, comfortable rooms, very nice dinners and a continental breakfast. Francois and the crew do a great job. The property has been slowly upgraded over the years. Wi-Fi and DSTV. 15 minutes from Johannesburg International Airport. You are always a name and not a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Our Sabi Sands safari company booked Outlook Lodge for us, so I was not sure what to expect at all. Myself and two family members were picked up from the OR Tambo airport and transported to Outlook Lodge, situated in a quiet and secure neighborhood. We were immediately greeted by one of the managers, Francois, and made to feel welcome....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pemeyer2016
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on the way through to Kruger. A lovely and secure lodge with an exceptional host. François was attentive and made us feel very welcome. The food was delicious and the room clean and spacious. Couldn't ask for anything more after a long overnight flight. Would recommend to anyone visiting Johannesburg.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Popping into Jo-Burg for a night before our visit to the Kruger National Park it was ideal for us to be close to the airport and in a location where Tydon Tours could collect us from. The accommodation was good and the team very friendly, we booked dinner and breakfast as part of the package which proved a good idea....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaryandLesleyTravel
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 1 July 2016

I enjoyed a great two night stay at the Outlook Lodge. The building is located in a nice secure area. Francois was very warm and welcoming and was super amazing with all of the guests. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The common area in the lodge was nice and cozy, especially with the fireplace going. It was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikstravels123
West New York, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We stayed here 2 nights and really liked this place. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, particularly the owner Francois. Also of note was Clarissa who was helping out. The rooms were great and the beds very comfy! Breakfast was included and was very good as well. They recommended places to eat, had car service at no extra charge and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gbobay
London
Reviewed 12 May 2016

A great place, it really feels like home. Francois and the team are so welcoming. The food was brilliant. I loved the room so spacious with everything you need. It's so close to the airport and not far from a shopping mall

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsty M
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Kirsty I am pleased to hear that you felt welcome and comfortable at Outlook Lodge, we want our guests to feel friends and the team at the Lodge are extremely good at doing that. I hope that you will stay with us again should future travels bring you our way again.

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Very efficient. Knowledgeable always there when needed. Inn keeper was great. breakfast was fresh and ample. Free Wifi in lobby The safari was wonderful. Very accommodating Gave us warm ponchos in the morning drives. Fabulous breakfast & dinner Only complaint was no hot water X2days & TV didn't work for 1day at the Johannesburg lodge

 Report
Helpful?
Thank devaultj
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there I am happy to know that your safari with Outlook was such a great experience. Our team in the Kruger National Park make us very proud. At Outlook we always try to do our bit for the planet and to avoid contributing to global warming. To this end we replaced all our hot water boilers with heat-pumps and...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benoni
9.1 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,859 reviews
10.1 km away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#3 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,254 reviews
4.6 km away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
14.9 km away
African Rock Hotel
African Rock Hotel
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
312 reviews
11.7 km away
Blue Mango Lodge
Blue Mango Lodge
#1 of 65 in Kempton Park
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Outlook Lodge offers great value for money with home from home comforts in a tranquil gated community. We cater for discerning travelers, professionals, avid safari enthusiasts and families alike.Originally established as an overnight stop for guests embarking on safari with us, it now boasts a 4 star grading and confidently claims to surpass international standards, maintaining the highest possible levels of professionalism, hygiene and comfort.The rooms are tastefully furnished to celebrate South Africa's wonderful diversity of wildlife and spectacular landscapes. Breakfast is a scrumptious affair, while lunch and dinner is served on request at minimal extra charge. Special dietary requirements are catered for.Being right next to a golf course and within 5 minutes' walk from a gym and the Korsman Bird Sanctuary offers our guests activity on our doorstep. Day excursions to explore all that Gauteng has to offer can be booked through the lodge.We have been operating safaris to the Kruger National Park since 1998 and specialize in this region of South Africa. All safaris are conducted by professional safari guides employed by ourselves. You will deal with us personally and safaris generally leave from the Outlook Lodge. Options vary from budget camping to luxury lodge safaris.We are situated about 15 minutes' drive from Johannesburg's OR Tambo airport and offer transfers to and from the airport by prior arrangement at a minimal charge.We look forward to meeting you!. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Outlook Lodge

Address: 1 Ambleside Avenue | Lakefield, Benoni 1501, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Price Range: $80 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outlook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Outlook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Lodge Greater Johannesburg/Benoni, Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Outlook Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Outlook Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs room had a view of the garden and a wonderful, spacious bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles 4Birders, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“First class host. Great for first time visitors to SA”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 is my room, please look after it!!”
 of 5 bubbles Plaste1, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in one across the courtyard and up some steps that was quiet and spacious..”
 of 5 bubbles alanr302, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The queen room is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles ragboat, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5