We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cottage on the Hill Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cottage on the Hill Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Start your review of Cottage on the Hill Guest House
 Click to rate
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rob and Ann offer warmth, exceptional hospitality, friendly and welcoming, outstanding breakfasts, privacy, always there if needed! One leaves knowing one will return! Wonderful experience - thank you!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marionp812
Anne E, Owner at Cottage on the Hill Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou....we really do hope to see you again. We welcome people from our hearts.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 March 2017

I contacted the owners of this establishment by email and received an immediate response. A few email inter-changes later and we were all set for our two night visit. The property, as the name suggests, overlooks the town of St Francis Bay and the bay itself. The views are beautiful. On arrival we received a personal and very friendly welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haydndavies2016
Anne E, Owner at Cottage on the Hill Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for this very detailed and observant review of our Guest Lodge. We really aporeciate your comments as they also assist fellow travellers who are considering staying at Cottage on the Hill. That is exactly what our aim is to achieve .....a personal experince of the very best . We thoroughly enjoy everything that we do and we...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

We had a great room - Francolin - with good views across the bay. Close enough to walk down to the beech. Fantastic, full breakfasts with freshly home - baked bread and scones. Welcoming and friendly hosts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beechman1
Anne E, Owner at Cottage on the Hill Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It was great to meet you all and we are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and facilities. We hope to see you again.

Bracknell UK
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The owners, Rob & Anne are simply wonderful and their quirky guest house ticks all the boxes for a relaxing break away. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the views are lovely. The best part though is the breakfast. Lovely fruit salads, yogurts and breads followed by a hot breakfast. This all complemented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lieb35
Anne E, Owner at Cottage on the Hill Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou for your lovely original comments and we would welcome you back very happily. We enjoy our guests and our hosting is made even more special with people like you.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Anne and Rob were excellent hosts. The quality of this B&B was above expectation we will have no hesitation in recommending this to our friends. Our room and all the facilities were very good and all that you could ask for.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardpO9880XF
Anne E, Owner at Cottage on the Hill Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for the lovely comment. We put our heart and soul into making your time at Cottage on the Hill a very special experience. We hope to see you again one day.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We enjoyed it a lot. Beautifull and cosy. Would go back there in the future any time. Friendly people ,breakfast excelent!.Hospitality was outstanding. Enjoyed the tv however missed kyknet!)when you enter the place you feel welcome and at home . If you like to stay in a upmarket place come and stay here

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betsie L
Anne E, Owner at Cottage on the Hill Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your comnents. We have the premier hotel package that is normal in most guesthouses but unfortunately it does not have Kyknet but we are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We really enjoyed our 3 week stay at Cottage on the Hill. The charming buildings are thatched which keeps the rooms cool and airy. The outlook over St. Francis Bay is stunning and this view is seen from the rooms and at the breakfast table. The accommodation is smart, stylish, very clean and comfortable but still retains an African ambience....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael P
Anne E, Owner at Cottage on the Hill Guest House, responded to this review

We loved having you stay at Cottage on the Hill and enjoyed your conpany a great deal. Thankyou so much for your great comments we love to hear that you were both so happy and relaxed.

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We had a brilliant and unforgettable holiday enjoying the wonderful and generous hospitality of the friendly owners. The meals were fantastic and we loved relaxing over a few drinks in the evening in their ‘Yellowwood Pub’. The view from our balcony was stunning. The room was very clean, comfortable and serviced daily. It is within easy reach of the beach,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Monica W
Anne E, Owner at Cottage on the Hill Guest House, responded to this review

We are so appreciative of your positive comments ans always go the extra mile for our guests. We love to give our personal attention and service at all times and we hope you visit us again soon.

Harringworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

The owners we so charming and helpful. The room was adequate with a separate sitting room with a bathroom en suite and a shower. So lovely to have bathrobes and plenty of lovely towels. Breakfast was generous and beautifully served. We would recommend ths Guest House to future travellers

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopherhX4882LZ
Anne E, Owner at Cottage on the Hill Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou so much. We would love to see you again.

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 24 November 2016

It was such a pleasant, cosy and wonderful stay at the cottage on the Hill!! Sure, we will come back for a longer Time. The breakfast was outstandig and Rob and Anne are very special hosts, where you feel the love what they are doing in every Little Detail.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank doroth_em361
Anne E, Owner at Cottage on the Hill Guest House, responded to this review

We love Cottage on the Hill and our work is our passion. Please visit us again....here on the Hill.

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Francis Bay hotels
1.3 km away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
98 reviews
0.3 km away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
168 reviews
0.3 km away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#5 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
146 reviews
2.7 km away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#4 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
160 reviews
2.3 km away
Brisan On The Canals
Brisan On The Canals
#9 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
5 star luxury Guest Lodge situated close to the village, restaurants and main swimming beach, within a short walking distance. 3 luxury suites with indigenous garden situated on 2000 sq meters with natural rock swimming pool and amazing bird life. Suites have king-size beds, air -conditioned unit, 40 inch flat screen TV and indoor/outdoor exclusive bath and shower facilities. All suites offer amazing sea views from private deck area. A full English breakfast can be enjoyed on the deck overlooking the bay or the exclusive dining room. All units have private entrances and secure parking and security on the premises. Wi-fi and full internet facilities in the office with a small library that is available. In house massages can be arranged in the open on your deck area. A 3 course evening meal is available on request. Special rates are offered for extended stays as the suites have self-catering facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cottage on the Hill Guest House

Address: 63 Assissi Drive, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: $162 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cottage on the Hill Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cottage on the Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cottage on the Hill Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor of the garden lodge”
33richard, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The Francolin room is the star room as long as you can manage stairs to get to it.”
C4474SSrobertg, 27 Apr 2014 | Read review
2 of 2